We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Tuscan Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais La Corte dei Papi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Relais La Corte dei Papi to your Saves list
Relais La Corte dei Papi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via La Dogana 12, 52040 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Cortona
Bensville NSW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming Tuscan Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We had only 2 days stay at this beautiful hotel just a short drive from the Cortona township. Our room decorated in traditional style was delightful.Apart from the delicious breakfast, we did not dine at the hotel as we were not terribly hungry. The host and owner David is very hospitable and takes obvious pride in his establishment. When we asked for a recommendation of a winery to visit for a day, he was straight on the phone seeing if we could fit on a winery tour and degustation lunch at Aviognesi. Fortunately they could accommodate us. It was an easy 20 minute drive away and I have to say this is a MUST experience. The cost of 65 Euros per head was well worth it and if in Australia would have cost much more. The tour of the winery was most interesting and the lunch overlooking the vineyards was to die for. Normally degustation meals have one glass of matching wines per course, but here they were topped up and included some very expensive wines. A big thanks to David for organising this day for us. If we are lucky enough to return to Italy, we will definitely return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    29
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
74
280
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
springfield, pa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were staying at nearby Casa Bacanella and drove past this beautifully manicured stone facade and decided to turn in to see what was there and we came upon the magical Relais La Corte dei Papi. The beautiful rustic buildings and the well manicured grounds gave a hint
to the pride and care put into this unique retreat in the rolling valley just outside the town of Cortona.
We went in to take a peak and were greeted by owner David Papi who could not have been more friendly and warm. So excited to see a beautiful dining room with the look and feel that you imagine only exists in movies, we made reservations for dinner that evening.
Everything about the meal was just perfect. The service was attentive without being intrusive,
the food was fresh with the simple Tuscan style that makes it so authentically delicious.
But what made this experience even more memorable was the very charm that David Papi exudes---a charm of genuine care about his guests and a pride he has in the beautiful retreat he has created.
If you're looking for a perfect blend of beauty, peace, convenience and a friendly and engaging host, give yourself a treat and book Relais La Corte dei Papi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My daughter and I spent 6 days at La Corte dei Papi and attended four cooking classes via International Kitchens. David and the staff were all so friendly and delightful. Our suite in the original villa was lovely with a terrific shower. The grounds were gorgeous. Each meal prepared by Giuseppe and Carla was delicious and beautifully presented, their cooking classes were fun and informative - with the help of Gemma translating. I will honestly prepare many of the dishes we made. I loved having our afternoon excursions all planned, simply had to step outside to meet the driver each day. We were taken to Cortona, Montepuliciano, Pienza and Assisi. Each town unique. Loved exploring Rocco Maggiore in Assisi. If you are looking for a Tuscan experience I highly recommend this one!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A great change of pace after an active few days in Roma. The rooms in the main building are charming and couldn't feel more authentic. The grounds are beautiful and feel spacious after time in the cities. Davide is the ever-present owner and has obvious pride in the business as well as the restaurant. The target market certainly seems to be wealthier travellers wanting to pay more for a premium experience. The main building has a number of good rooms at different price points. There is a beautiful new building with huge rooms that are finished very well.

The hotel is on a plot of land between a farmer's field and a road a few minutes drive' east of the Cortona townsite on the hill. There is a super market and a bar three minutes' walk east of the hotel. After trying the hotel's restaurant you should venture into Cortona itself. I'd suggest parking at one of the lots just outside the wall and then walk up to the piazza. Fufluns pizzeria just off the piazza is a great choice if you want to have a simple meal at a great price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

As others have mentioned, the experience of staying in this beautiful place is very much down to owner, and wonderful host David. He could not have been more friendly and attentive, and really nothing was too much trouble throughout our 3 day stay. He really is quite a perfectionist!
The emphasis is on relaxing and indulging. The food is pricey (especially if, like we, you get carried away with the extensive wine list) however, it is like eating in a top London retaurant - but not as stuffy - so you get what you pay for.
Unfortunately the weather was not on our side during our trip but I can imagine how beautiful dining outside by the pool would be.
We would absolutely love to go back - and maybe stay in one of the new spa suites, which are quite something!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We loved our six night stay at La Corte dei Papi. We were there with our four month old daughter. The hotel is lovely with a great location close to Cortona, and the rooms are fabulous but what really makes the experience wonderful is David, the host and owner of the hotel. He went out of his way to accommodate our baby and helped us with reservations for dinner at restaurants throughout the Tuscan hill towns for each night of our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at Corte dei Papi.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

our last two nights of a backroads cycling trip were spent here. Outstanding service, immaculate and over the top room, utterly incredible dinner. An absolute must if you area exploring Tuscany! The host Davide greeted us as warmly as if we were family, and treated us exceptionally well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais La Corte dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Corte dei Papi

Address: Via La Dogana 12, 52040 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cortona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais La Corte dei Papi 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the Tuscan countryside, just few minutes from Cortona, La Corte dei Papi is an oasis of peace and quiet, ideal for those who like to enjoy traditional local atmosphere. All rooms are each unique in decor with handmade antique furnishings and fine crafted linens. Our restaurant offers guests traditional Tuscan dishes alongside with more modern and elaborate culinary combinations. To add to atmosphere, during summer, guests can dine outside, around the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais La Corte dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Corte Dei Papi Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais La Corte dei Papi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.