We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Tuscan Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais La Corte dei Papi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Relais La Corte dei Papi to your Saves list
Relais La Corte dei Papi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via La Dogana 12, 52040 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Cortona
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tuscan Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

As others have mentioned, the experience of staying in this beautiful place is very much down to owner, and wonderful host David. He could not have been more friendly and attentive, and really nothing was too much trouble throughout our 3 day stay. He really is quite a perfectionist!
The emphasis is on relaxing and indulging. The food is pricey (especially if, like we, you get carried away with the extensive wine list) however, it is like eating in a top London retaurant - but not as stuffy - so you get what you pay for.
Unfortunately the weather was not on our side during our trip but I can imagine how beautiful dining outside by the pool would be.
We would absolutely love to go back - and maybe stay in one of the new spa suites, which are quite something!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    29
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
74
280
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We loved our six night stay at La Corte dei Papi. We were there with our four month old daughter. The hotel is lovely with a great location close to Cortona, and the rooms are fabulous but what really makes the experience wonderful is David, the host and owner of the hotel. He went out of his way to accommodate our baby and helped us with reservations for dinner at restaurants throughout the Tuscan hill towns for each night of our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at Corte dei Papi.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

our last two nights of a backroads cycling trip were spent here. Outstanding service, immaculate and over the top room, utterly incredible dinner. An absolute must if you area exploring Tuscany! The host Davide greeted us as warmly as if we were family, and treated us exceptionally well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Corte dei Papi for two nights in May 2013 and it was absolutely amazing. We were greeted by David Papi, whose family has owned this estate for centuries, and the grounds were gorgeous, and the rooms spacious and clean. We wished that we could've stayed longer. David was a wonderful host, very friendly and helpful. He worked tirelessly to make our experience special. We ate one night in the restaurant on the property and the food was delicious and the wine list was long and diverse. For sure order the pasta, and the chocolate dessert was to die for. The second night, we wanted casual so David suggested the local pizza restaurant which was a short taxi away. It was fabulous and full of local families enjoying a night out. Breakfast at Corte dei Papi consisted of fresh baked breads, yogurts, granola, cheeses, salamis, and fruit and of course lots and lots of cappuccino. The town of Cortona was a 5 minute car ride away and we loved walking the narrow cobble stone streets and ducking in and out of wine shops and cafes. Our bike ride from Corte dei Papi to Tuoro and back was challenging but gorgeous...I would do it again in a heartbeat. I can't wait to go back and visit David and stay in one of the new rooms...grazie mille David and staff for a wonderful beginning to our amazing biking and hiking trip through Tuscany!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

After 3 days in Lucca, we headed here by car for 5 nights in May using Cortona as a base to explore the Tuscan Hill towns (recommend Montepulciano, Pienza and Val D'Orcia especially!). This is a truly special Hotel with a fabulous gourmet restaurant. We strongly recommend it. The landscaping and pool area are lovely too (I just wish the weather had been a bit better so we could have enjoyed it more). It is expensive but well worth it. After a day of traveling around the countryside this was the perfect place to return, relax, enjoy a Prosecco by the pool, and a lovely dinner (the food is fabulous!).

The host David Papi is wonderful. He is truly passionate about his work and this property (which was in his family for generations). He talks about having grown up here with his grandfather and you can tell this is not just a job but a dream come true for him to have turned this property into an amazingly beautiful and elegant hotel and restaurant. David is invested in every detail in insuring his guests are well cared for. The rest of his staff is great as well; even his mother is there quietly helping out!

Lots to like.. definitely consider this Relais if heading to Tuscany. Note: it was an easy drive back to Florence from here. We dropped our car at the Florence airport and took a taxi into Florence (don't want a car there).. just another idea if you are heading this way!

Notes on rooms: We chose one of the two small rooms (Room 25 on the 2nd floor) and if you are on a budget, this is a very good deal for a couple of nights, though if we return (which I hope we do), I would splash out for a larger room with a seating area. Note: David showed us Room 22 in the Main House which is especially nice with its own enormous private balcony; definitely something for a special occasion! Again, if our budget can handle it, next time I would love to get one of the slightly larger rooms.

Room Tip: Notes on rooms: We chose one of the two small rooms (Room 25 on the 2nd floor) and if you are on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend our 10th wedding anniversary and the Corte Dei Papi - and we could not have been more well taken care of. The Relais owner, David Papi, is one of the warmest hosts I have come across in my travels. He is working to insure his guests and hotel are well taken care of from Dawn to Dusk (David - do you sleep?). He has converted his family home into the Relais, and takes the pride of ownership and achievement to another level.

We stayed in a newly renovated Deluxe Spa Suite. This was one of the most unique rooms I have come across in my travels. First, the room has a Turkish Bath. This is really a steam room and shower all in one. It is huge (the size of my first NYC apartment) - with soothing music and lights inside. I spent all my free time in it. My wife choose the bathtub - which I think could fit 10 people. The bed is superbly comfortable - the furniture beautiful. The room was truly as immaculate as the service.

My only complaint was that David could not make the weather better for us (rain and 50 degrees, come on!). Thank you to David and his family for making our 10 year anniversary so special. We cannot wait to see you again....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in May 2013. This hotel is great and David really makes every guest feel like a privileged customer. Our room was opulently decorated and perfectly clean, being made up twice a day.

The restaurant is amazing, we loved everything we tried and the wine list was varied which is great as the hotel is (Sorry David) a little far from town but with food this good, why go anywhere else?

The pool was clean and the gardens well maintained.

Upon check out, David was kind enough to give us a tour of the new rooms which are nearly ready for their first guests. I hope we can come back soon and stay in one of these as they were amazing.

Thanks for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais La Corte dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Corte dei Papi

Address: Via La Dogana 12, 52040 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cortona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais La Corte dei Papi 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the Tuscan countryside, just few minutes from Cortona, La Corte dei Papi is an oasis of peace and quiet, ideal for those who like to enjoy traditional local atmosphere. All rooms are each unique in decor with handmade antique furnishings and fine crafted linens. Our restaurant offers guests traditional Tuscan dishes alongside with more modern and elaborate culinary combinations. To add to atmosphere, during summer, guests can dine outside, around the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais La Corte dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Corte Dei Papi Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais La Corte dei Papi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.