We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellissimo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais La Corte dei Papi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Relais La Corte dei Papi to your Saves list
Relais La Corte dei Papi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via La Dogana 12, 52040 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Cortona
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bellissimo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I spent three beautiful days at La Corte dei Papi. Everything written by other travelers about this hotel is true. The grounds are beautiful and meticulously maintained, the rooms are spacious, clean and inviting, and the owner, David, is the most charming and gracious host. He really will go out of his way to make sure you feel at home. On very short notice, David was able to arrange a private tour of local wineries for us. Marianna, a very astute and friendly guide, gave us a wonderful tour. It was one of the highlights of our trip in Italy. I will also mention that this hotel home to one of the best restaurants in Tuscany. We had three meals and each one was a gastronomic feast. La Corte dei Papi also has cooking classes, which I as unaware of, but intend to take advantage of the next time I am in Cortona. If you are browsing and trying to find a hotel in Tuscany, look no further. La Corte dei Papi is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    29
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
74
281
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Our host, David, provided the most sincere and gracious welcome to Tuscany and to his family-owned and operated hotel. The three nights that my wife and I spent at La Corte dei Papi to begin a 9-day vacation in Italy, could not have been better. The property was located conveniently for all of our Tuscany excursions including Cortona, Montepulciano, Siena, Avignonesi winery, and San Gimigiano. At the end of each day, no matter how late we returned, David was there to welcome us back and wish us a buonanotte. The grounds were beautiful and well-maintained especially the gardens. The dining spaces were flexible to accommodate indoor and outdoor eating and there was always the feeling of privacy with a romantic ambience. We highly recommend a stay with David for at least 2 nights during any planned Tuscany holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Traveling through Italy, Cortona was our second stop. We were meeting friends here and seven months earlier, with the help of Trip Advisor, we had chosen Relais La Corte dei Papi as our villa. Upon arrival, we were eloquently greeted by David Papi, the charming owner of the hotel, who made us feel right at home. Our room turned out to be a lovely little cottage that had once been a stable. It was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. The grounds, the garden, and the lovely pool were all meticulously maintained. Elegance abound...from the beautiful breakfast buffet to the exquisite and delicious gourmet Tuscan dinner. David Papi and his staff really know how to make a holiday vacation into a little slice of Heaven! Thank you, David. We hope to visit Tuscany again someday... and when we do, we will definitely spend it with you.

Room Tip: Loved our elegant cottage room which had once been the stable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife, mother in law and I stayed at David's hotel for 3 days this year. We stayed upstairs in a great room, which was absolutely spotless. My mother in law stayed in the little garden cottage, also very nice. It was by far and away the best place we visited in Italy for 3 reasons:

1) The hotel is lovely - it's in excellent condition, great gardens even a nice 'Pool.
2) The food is Excellent!
3) David and his team really do work hard to look after you.

I have noticed a few mixed reviews about Cor dei Papi, and, honestly, I am disappointed at the whining!

It's not a cheap venue, no, but, you get what you pay for, in my opinion.

This is the best place we went to in Italy - I have travelled all over the world, and on this trip alone, we also visited Rome, Florence and Tuscany. 10/10 from me.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We only stayed here for one night in late September but wished we had longer ! The hotel is a converted Tuscan farmhouse set in very attractive grounds in a village outside Cortona. Our room was spacious and comfortable (although the decor was a bit chintzy for our taste and we could have done with an information pack). There is a large pool set in the gardens with nice views of the countryside and the house. The restaurant was a real highlight and serves excellent gourmet Tuscan food and great service. The owner, David papi seems to really know his stuff about wines and provided first class service throughout our stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

When I think of Italy, I think of warmth, hospitality, charm, Family, celebration, beauty, romance,
artistry, magic, history and splendor. Within one minute of my arrival with friends, to this authentic Italian Villa,on the most exquisite garden grounds, I felt all that and much, much more.Greeted by the very elegant, endearing and charming, owner David, and his darling Italian Mama, Gabriella, I knew this was going to be an unforgettable stay in Tuscany.From the beautiful and spotless artistic rooms, to the delicious and beautifully prepared gourmet meals, I lacked for nothing in this world of enchantment. David cannot do enough to make your stay feel like you are a Special Person in an Italian Paradise.His Love and Passion for Excellence is genuine. We bit a teary farewell to my new Famiglia and hope to one day return to this, the magnificent La Corte dei Papi, the HIGHLIGHT of my Tuscan trip. Jody F.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

From the moment we got to the Relais La Corte dei Papi Hotel, David & his staff made us feel at home. We just got back from our trip to Italy where we stayed at this hotel for 7 days. David & his entire staff are outstanding!! We were a group of friends traveling together celebrating some milestone birthdays. I don't know where to begin describing how fantastic and magical this place is. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are beautifully decorated and clean. The meals are outstanding!! We had cooking lessons with the Chefs for three days in the morning and in the afternoons we would go exploring the small towns around Tuscany. When we got back to the hotel, we got to eat what we had learned how to prepare in our cooking lesson that day.The meals were truly delicious!! Thank You David and staff for making our stay at your home so amazing!! Ciao, the GIRLS from Chicago !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais La Corte dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Corte dei Papi

Address: Via La Dogana 12, 52040 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#1 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais La Corte dei Papi 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the Tuscan countryside, just few minutes from Cortona, La Corte dei Papi is an oasis of peace and quiet, ideal for those who like to enjoy traditional local atmosphere. All rooms are each unique in decor with handmade antique furnishings and fine crafted linens. Our restaurant offers guests traditional Tuscan dishes alongside with more modern and elaborate culinary combinations. To add to atmosphere, during summer, guests can dine outside, around the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais La Corte dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Corte Dei Papi Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais La Corte dei Papi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.