We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Beyond the Norm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Molesini

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Molesini
P.zza della Repubblica, 3, 52044 Cortona, Italy
0575 62544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 85 Restaurants in Cortona
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Service Beyond the Norm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

While in Cortona for a week, our host recommended a tasting at Molesini. We were not very sophisticated about wines in general and reds specifically. Marco was quite informative without being condescending and shared his love of wine with humor. When finished we wanted to purchase some wine and asked if there was a grocery nearby to purchase pasta and other necessities for a dinner that evening. As the hour was past 13:30 the stores were closed for several hours but, with a gleam in his eye, he said he had a key to "Mama's" store across the square. He opened the store and picked out what we needed for the ten of us which turned out to be the best meal we had in our two weeks in Italy! Marco is a remarkable man who managed to help make our trip memorable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb and incredible knowledge.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have been a customer of Marco for a few years now. He has shipped wines to my home in Holland without a glitch. Fantastic service and impressed by his deep understanding of Italian wines. I have followed all of his recommendations blindly, without regret. Recently Marco organised and joined us on a wine tasting trip to Barolo. Not only impressed by who he knows and what doors opened for us, he is also a fantastic person to have around. Thank you!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The place to go for wine purchases”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Marco and his brother Paolo are the experts on Tuscan wines in Cortona. They have an amazing selection which you can ship back to where ever you live all over the world.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wine tasting and dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The wine tasting was well done and there were plenty of varieties from which to choose. The dinner however was terrible (45 euros each). I am not sure if the chef was experimenting with new recipes but each course got worse. It started with standing in line for fried cheese balls. After that we were herded into the restaurant for the meal. The pate was mushy and tasteless; the soup was served in basically a shot glass - we weren't sure of the ingredients - it was mealy and salty. We ended up leaving when the main course of unidentifiable stuffed ravioli was served. The presentation was nice but the ravioli was stuffed with something gross and foul tasting. After telling our wait staff of our disappointment the 7 of us left and got gelato nearby. The service was great. I wish I could say the same for the meal which was horribly overpriced.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Enoteca Molesini - order your wines and cheeses here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The quintessional place to go in Cortona. Mentioned in Frances Mayes books, when she speaks of Marco, it is Marco Molesini.
across the street he has a shop and a deli, grab a sandwich for lunch here, then ship your wines home. friendly. knowledgable.
taste the aged pecorino cheese (stagionato) Marco is a doll!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molesini also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Molesini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molesini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.