We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wine tasting and dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Molesini

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Molesini
P.zza della Repubblica, 3, 52044 Cortona, Italy
0575 62544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 84 restaurants in Cortona
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Cape Cod
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wine tasting and dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The wine tasting was well done and there were plenty of varieties from which to choose. The dinner however was terrible (45 euros each). I am not sure if the chef was experimenting with new recipes but each course got worse. It started with standing in line for fried cheese balls. After that we were herded into the restaurant for the meal. The pate was mushy and tasteless; the soup was served in basically a shot glass - we weren't sure of the ingredients - it was mealy and salty. We ended up leaving when the main course of unidentifiable stuffed ravioli was served. The presentation was nice but the ravioli was stuffed with something gross and foul tasting. After telling our wait staff of our disappointment the 7 of us left and got gelato nearby. The service was great. I wish I could say the same for the meal which was horribly overpriced.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    12
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Enoteca Molesini - order your wines and cheeses here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The quintessional place to go in Cortona. Mentioned in Frances Mayes books, when she speaks of Marco, it is Marco Molesini.
across the street he has a shop and a deli, grab a sandwich for lunch here, then ship your wines home. friendly. knowledgable.
taste the aged pecorino cheese (stagionato) Marco is a doll!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“great wine shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

we always buy our wine here while in cortona. friendly staff with great knowledge of local wines. highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Large selection of wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

They have a large selections of wines from the region with reasonable pricing. They will also ship anywhere in the world. Try and catch the daily tastings.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Wineshop in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

That sounds like hyperbole, I know. But it is absolutely true, especially if you love Italian wines as we do. Marco and Paolo run the shop, speak excellent English, and know Italian wines better than anyone alive. For a small fee, usually waived if you make a purchase, you can taste many of the wines featured that day. If they have a tasting sponsored by a local winery, do not miss it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molesini also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Molesini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molesini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.