We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Michele

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Michele to your Saves list
Hotel San Michele
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Guelfa 15, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Cortona
Blue Point, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in Cortona. Perfect for walking the narrow street to shop or sightsee this beautiful city. The is staff is friendly and very helpful. We made a last minute reservation and we treated great.

Room Tip: Stay in this hotel in The city of Cortona
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    73
    26
    6
    7
See reviews for
42
133
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merrick, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Having stayed at the Hotel San Michele six years ago we naturally chose it again for our recent trip which included Crtona. Our first trip was a couples trip and we were now returning with our college aged daugter. We requested a room for three and please that she id not have to sleep on a cot as we found in other hotels. The room was large and lovely. The staff was very helpful and the hotel still has the charm we found years ago. The location within the city center is ideal with parking at the bottom of the hill, although we were able to drop off our bags at the hotel and then park the car (a must because it is on VERY steep hill). Breakfast was more than adequate. I'm sure we will return to Cortona and to the Hotel San Michele as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony - the views are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesca p, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Michele, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guests, we are very pleased by your encouraging remarks and are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel San Michele. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Guana Cay
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We continue to be impressed by this hotel. In the very center of the city but very accessible by car. Parking available in the center of a hill town which is rare. Helpful attentive staff. Good breakfast which includes eggs. Our room this time was large, one of the nicer ones we have had there over 12 years. Nice large bathroom. Very clean as always. Wifi worked in the room which is often not the case due to the thick walls of the old buildings. If your trip includes Cortona, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesca p, Direttore at Hotel San Michele, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for your comment . It is always a pleasure for us to meet again with our guests, especially when they notice the improvements that we always try to do to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Thank you again. I hope to have you back here next time!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I have been traveling extensively in Italy for the last 25 years. For the last 15 years we've been using the same travel agent. So when we parked in the lot at the base of the hill and dragged our luggage up to the hotel, my husband was a little more than nonplussed when the receptionist insisted we had booked two twin beds. In all these years, that had never been the case. She blamed it on our travel agent. However, for an additional 20 euros per night, she was willing to upgrade us into a junior suite on the top floor. Coincidentally, their valet parking fee is 20 euros a night, which we no longer required. In the good old USA we call this a bait and switch. The room was good, but with old fashion amenities and a heavily sloped ceiling where my husband banged his head several times. The walls are thin and we could hear our neighbors conversations clearly. Never again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesca p, Direttore at Hotel San Michele, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guests,
we are sincerely sorry for your comment , but let me explain a few things :
1 ) you can easy get in front of the hotel with your own car as it's written in the signage at the entrance to the hotel. Then we have a space dedicated to the loading and unloading of baggage handled by our staff.
2 ) the garage then, as in all the hotel is a service with fee, not compulsory, because there is a free public park only 150 meters from the hotel .
3 )at your arrival we show you that your agency made a reservation with special request for a room with twin beds, so we have proposed to you a Junior Suite with a double bed immediately available to accommodate you in advance of the time of check-in.
We are sorry also if you do not appreciate the distinctive trait of the ceiling of an historical building from the 1500s .
The hotel San Michele is loved for its own characteristics and peculiarities.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan - Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Loved this hotel and it's helpful staff. Good sized room and bath. Free wifi that actually works. Very good breakfast in a beautiful dining room. The staff was great. Delivering ice to our room (rare in Europe), programming our GPS, and only to happy to share he history of the hotel. This is close to everything and a great value. You'll like it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you are visiting Cortona, this location is simply the best. We parked our car at bottom of steep hill as I wasn't brave enough to drive up the narrow one way street but I could see others were much braver. This meant dragging suitcases up the hill but the lack of traffic is one of the charms of this hill side medieval town.

Matteo and the other receptionists were very friendly and helpful but our room was slight disappointment. The wifi was very weak but main problem was noise from other rooms. There is a loud echo and we were kept awake by crying children and conversations of other guests. We mentioned this to reception who seemed genuinely concerned but other them sound proof rooms, I'm not sure what they could have done to immediately rectify this.
Breakfast was lack lustre compared to amazing produce on offer in the area.

All in all, it's a sweet hotel but could be made to be incredible with some investment.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesca p, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Michele, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guests, thank you for your review. Cortona is a very characteristic historical town with controlled traffic access to allow visitors and residents alike to enjoy its beauty. Our Hotel offers both the options to park the car at the bottom or to drive up to our hotel to load and unload luggage as well valet parking in one of our garages, as an additional service. We thank you for your constructive criticism and we're happy that our staff provided any assistance possible. We'll take care for the next season to make some upgrades to the room in terms of soundproofing, compatible to what can be done in an historical building like ours.
Our breakfast offers a variety of homemade, freshly baked cakes and pastries, three different varieties of cereals, hard boiled eggs, fruit, selection of marmalades, fresh homemade yogurts, plus extras on request
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B.c. Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hotel San Michele is a perfect location for exploring Cortona, close to the heart of the town. This is where much of Under the Tuscan Sun was filmed and the town is as charming as one might expect. The streets either go straight up or straight down but the main square is relatively flat. The hotel is in an old palazzo and easy to find. The room was huge and beautifully decorated. The front desk staff were knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesca p, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Michele, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guests, thank you very much for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay in Cortona and in Hotel San Michele, an historical palace in the very heart of Cortona. We hope to welcome you again here in the future, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Michele

Address: Via Guelfa 15, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cortona
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Michele is located in the historical heart of Cortona. Born out of a restoration of a renaissance palace, it is listed as national monument and host a 15th century fresco (Masaccio school). Restored with taste, the hotel offers classic, superior, junior suite as well as suites , all equipped with moden comforts. Air conditioning, private bathroom, elevator and covered garage. Massages, cooking classes and tours are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Michele Hotel
San Michele Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Michele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.