We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Michele

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Michele to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Michele
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Guelfa 15, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Cortona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A special hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

All I can say is yes, if coming to Cortona, you must stay here. This quiet boutique hotel is simoly
outstanding. The decor is gorgeous from the moment you enter the door. The staff is wonderful and
most helpful in every area. The rooms are huge and decorated beyond belief. Each room has its very
own decor, with every detail imagined. The location was superb, right off the main square. I am looking
forward to returning to San Michele soon, it will be the first reservation i make . They had our driver
ready at the train station when we arrrived, and he whisked us away for two days in lovely Cortona.
Not to be missed....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    64
    25
    5
    7
See reviews for
38
121
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you ever find yourself planning a trip to Italy and expect to be anywhere near Cortona, you should consider the Hotel San Michele for your stay.

This lovely 16th Century period hotel is only about twenty steps off Cortona’s main square and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. From Francesca, the lovely front desk manager, to Mateo and Sajid, who helped us with every other need . . . we could not have asked more in the way of service.

Our room was beautiful and the terrace provided us with an absolutely beautiful view of the Tuscan valley and Lake Trasimeno. Every evening, we were treated to a spectalular sunset from a small window in our bedroom.

At the time we book our room online, we already knew about the San Michele from previous stays in Cortona. We had used their internet cafe services in the past. We had stayed further up the hill in a Villa. However, because the climb to and from the villa was some distance and fairly steep, we opted this trip to stay someplace more convenient and leg friendly. When we originally booked our room, we took advantage of a special internet offer. However, this was a special trip for my wife, Amy, and myself. So, when we arrived at the hotel I explained to Francesca, who was working the desk, that I would really like something more special. I asked, “Which room would you want if you were staying here and wanted something special?” She smiled and said, “Okay.” Well, my wife was absolutely thrilled with Francesca’s choice. And . . . we got the room for a very reasonable upgrade charge.

Between Francesca and Mateo, we had wonderful meals all over Cortona. While we had some old favorites of our own, they suggested other options and made all of our reservations. Because the reservations had been made through the San Michele, there was never a delay. As soon as we arrived at each resaurant, we were warmly welcomed and immediately seated at a very nice table. Sajid was our ‘Go to” man. If we needed our car, a wine glass, or anything else, all we had to do was mention our need to him and moments later it would appear. The staff at the San Michele is a fantastic team and they all made us feel right at home. It fact, my wife and I have decided that the San Michele is now our home whenever we are in Cortona.

We wish you the same experience we enjoyed at this wonderful hotel . . . under the Tuscan sun.

Room Tip: When you book your room, let them know your priorities. Value, comfort, view, floor . . . whatever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

In a gorgeous old building with helpful staff, large rooms, air-conditioning, elaborate breakfast and seconds from the main buzz. We only stayed one night but it was a great spot to stay for popping in and out of the main piazza and Via Roma to eat, drink, shop and watch passers-by. We even joined in a sing-along on the piazza steps !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel was a delight. It was appallingly hot during our stay, and the air conditioning was excellent - it meant that one woke refreshed.
It is a very attractive 16th century building right in the centre of the pretty town, appealingly furnished in period style. Our room was not one of the largest, but extremely comfortable and well appointed.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful with advice and information. Breakfasts were generous with plenty of choice.
We thoroughly enjoyed staying in this delightful hotel - and it was good value, too!

Room Tip: I can't think of anything, except some rooms are a good deal larger then others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koprivnica, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We traveled around Tuscany without making any hotel reservations and this hotel was recommended to us by a stranger who also made a call to the hotel to check if anything was available. We stayed in the apartment at the top floor with a beautiful view. The whole hotel had a medieval charm to it so we had the feeling of experiencing "true" Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hotel San Michele was one of the most pleasant surprises of our trip to Tuscany. I booked the room because I felt it was a good value and had some relatively good reviews. Every expectation I had was greatly exceeded. Our room was wonderful and very spacious. It was an oasis in which we enjoyed daily afternoon naps and reveled in the antique furniture, wall decorations and rugs. The entire room was spotless. Breakfast was very good. We did not upgrade to the English breakfast and were very satisfied with the options presented. Good yogurt to which we added muesli, wonderful rustic breads, assorted pastries and fresh fruits. Although they had a large pot of Café Americano, I opted for fantastic handmade espresso. Every staff member I met was friendly and helpful. The location could not have been better…just a quick 1 minute walk to Piazza Republica. All in all, Hotel San Michele will be remembered as one of the most enchanting hotels at which we have ever stayed. I can only hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The hotel told us they had free parking but neglected to tell us that is was several blocks away and that there was an incredibly steep incline to get to their hotel. When we arrived in our room, the water stopped working so we couldn't take a shower or wash up. We were also promised free Wi-Fi in our rooms but it turned out that there was only Wi-Fi available in the lobby. Our air conditioner turned on but never cooled the room. Our "flexible" reservation cost extra but turned out to be inflexible. When we checked out after one day (due to all of the problems), we were told that we'd still be billed for an extra day in spite of paying extra for a cancellable reservation. The hotel appeared to have been last remodeled in 1950. Finally, when we checked in, we were told that the "included" complete breakfast was actually just croissants and coffee. If we really wanted the "complete" breakfast, it would cost $8 Euros additional. I was very disappointed with the Hotel San Michele.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guelfa15, Front Office Manager at Hotel San Michele, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Mr. Jeremy W.,
we are extremely sorry for what are writing on Tripadvisor as far as Hotel San Michele in Cortona is concerned.
We are now going to answer, trying to explain all your complaints, as we never promise what is not possible, considering above all the fact that the hotel is located in a building dating back from the fifteenth century.
First all, Cortona is an Etruscan town on hill, so it is normal to have a steep incline to get to the hotel. It as always possible to arrive in front of the hotel to unload the luggage, and after that you can decide to take the car outside the walls (for fee parking), or put in one of our three Garage. We remind you that we don't have all our garages directly by the hotel, due to the natural structure of the town.
Second, the wi-fi is accessible only on the lobby, near the reception area, due to the width of the walls of the ancient building, which don't left the signal arrive at all the rooms. The wi-fi area is a living room that, agreeing with the monumentality of the palace, has the same style of the rest of the building.
Third, all the rooms have air conditioning: however, if we had been informed about the problem you had in your room, we could have tried to solve it, otherwise we could have changed the rooms. The same for the problems concerning the water in the bathroom.
Fourth, it is always necessary to check the confirmation on the booking, as the special offer or any other kind of offers by our hotel are not refundable, even in case of early departure, as you can read on our website.
Fifth, we are very sorry that ancient objects or authentic Persian carpets are mistake for simple old things or carpets.
Lastly, all the rooms, with the exception of Superior ones or Suites, have the continental breakfast included in the price: different types of bread, butter, marmalades, cereals, honey, yoghurt and croissants, juices, different hot drinks.
On the other hand, the English breakfast has eggs, bacon, cold cuts, cheese, fruit and differnt cakes more.
To conclude, we are sorry for what you wrote, and we hope to have explained all the topics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Michele

Address: Via Guelfa 15, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Michele 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Michele is located in the historical heart of Cortona. Born out of a restoration of a renaissance palace, it is listed as national monument and host a 15th century fresco (Masaccio school). Restored with taste, the hotel offers classic, superior, junior suite as well as suites , all equipped with moden comforts. Air conditioning, private bathroom, elevator and covered garage. Massages, cooking classes and tours are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Michele Hotel
San Michele Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Michele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.