We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Hotel - Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Michele

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Michele to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Michele
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Guelfa 15, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Cortona
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A Memorable Hotel - Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hotel San Michele was one of the most pleasant surprises of our trip to Tuscany. I booked the room because I felt it was a good value and had some relatively good reviews. Every expectation I had was greatly exceeded. Our room was wonderful and very spacious. It was an oasis in which we enjoyed daily afternoon naps and reveled in the antique furniture, wall decorations and rugs. The entire room was spotless. Breakfast was very good. We did not upgrade to the English breakfast and were very satisfied with the options presented. Good yogurt to which we added muesli, wonderful rustic breads, assorted pastries and fresh fruits. Although they had a large pot of Café Americano, I opted for fantastic handmade espresso. Every staff member I met was friendly and helpful. The location could not have been better…just a quick 1 minute walk to Piazza Republica. All in all, Hotel San Michele will be remembered as one of the most enchanting hotels at which we have ever stayed. I can only hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    64
    25
    5
    7
See reviews for
38
121
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The hotel told us they had free parking but neglected to tell us that is was several blocks away and that there was an incredibly steep incline to get to their hotel. When we arrived in our room, the water stopped working so we couldn't take a shower or wash up. We were also promised free Wi-Fi in our rooms but it turned out that there was only Wi-Fi available in the lobby. Our air conditioner turned on but never cooled the room. Our "flexible" reservation cost extra but turned out to be inflexible. When we checked out after one day (due to all of the problems), we were told that we'd still be billed for an extra day in spite of paying extra for a cancellable reservation. The hotel appeared to have been last remodeled in 1950. Finally, when we checked in, we were told that the "included" complete breakfast was actually just croissants and coffee. If we really wanted the "complete" breakfast, it would cost $8 Euros additional. I was very disappointed with the Hotel San Michele.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guelfa15, Front Office Manager at Hotel San Michele, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Mr. Jeremy W.,
we are extremely sorry for what are writing on Tripadvisor as far as Hotel San Michele in Cortona is concerned.
We are now going to answer, trying to explain all your complaints, as we never promise what is not possible, considering above all the fact that the hotel is located in a building dating back from the fifteenth century.
First all, Cortona is an Etruscan town on hill, so it is normal to have a steep incline to get to the hotel. It as always possible to arrive in front of the hotel to unload the luggage, and after that you can decide to take the car outside the walls (for fee parking), or put in one of our three Garage. We remind you that we don't have all our garages directly by the hotel, due to the natural structure of the town.
Second, the wi-fi is accessible only on the lobby, near the reception area, due to the width of the walls of the ancient building, which don't left the signal arrive at all the rooms. The wi-fi area is a living room that, agreeing with the monumentality of the palace, has the same style of the rest of the building.
Third, all the rooms have air conditioning: however, if we had been informed about the problem you had in your room, we could have tried to solve it, otherwise we could have changed the rooms. The same for the problems concerning the water in the bathroom.
Fourth, it is always necessary to check the confirmation on the booking, as the special offer or any other kind of offers by our hotel are not refundable, even in case of early departure, as you can read on our website.
Fifth, we are very sorry that ancient objects or authentic Persian carpets are mistake for simple old things or carpets.
Lastly, all the rooms, with the exception of Superior ones or Suites, have the continental breakfast included in the price: different types of bread, butter, marmalades, cereals, honey, yoghurt and croissants, juices, different hot drinks.
On the other hand, the English breakfast has eggs, bacon, cold cuts, cheese, fruit and differnt cakes more.
To conclude, we are sorry for what you wrote, and we hope to have explained all the topics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We paid a higher rate for a "flexible" reservation which we made from an albergo where we were staying in Tuscany. To avoid confusion we had a bilingual Italian help us with the reservation. We were told there was a "full buffet" breakfast included, free wi-fi in the rooms, and free parking 200M from the hotel. When we arrived there were no parking spaces. We wanted to take a shower but there was no water at all. Also no wi-fi. And their idea of a "full buffet" was a croissant and coffee. This would have been fine if they were rated a one or two star hotel but they are allegedly a 4 star hotel.

They wanted an additional 8 euros per person per day for the true buffet breakfast. The downstairs where one had to go to use internet smelled like an open sewer and the lounge where one got wi-fi was often filled with smoke from the adjacent courtyard. They finally got the water going and then our toilet and shower both leaked all over the bathroom floor.

If you think a hotel that hasn't been remodeled since 1940 with old filthy rugs and bedspreads is "charming" then go for it. We opted to check out and go to a better place, which was also 35 euros/night cheaper. By the way the "flexible" reservation wasn't that at all- it was just a higher rate. Even though we only stayed one night, Hotel San Michele said we were obligated to pay for 4 nights...

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

When we arrived by car to this hotel, the hill was very intimidating. Luckily, we could pay for space in a parking garage for 20 Euros/night & the garage wasn't far from the hotel. Worth every penny in my opinion. The staff was very attentive and nice. I did feel like I was getting the "add up" treatment when we arrived. First, they asked us if we wanted a larger room, of course, for more money. We looked at the room and agreed it wasn't worth the extra space or money, we're hardly in our room. We were very happy with the room we got - spacious enough and clean. We also had a nice view - we were on the 2nd floor. Then, they asked if we wanted to pay 8 Euros extra for a more diverse breakfast that included bacon and eggs and other pastries. Of course, I did pay extra for the better breakfast, I need my eggs. It still was one of my cheapest hotels, even with the extra cost of the breakfast. I try not to count my pennies too much on vacation - that's why I save up all year for it. It's time to indulge a little.

The lady working the breakfast room was very efficient and sweet. She didn't speak too much English but you got your point across and she understood. I speak some Italian so it gave me a chance to practice.

The location of the hotel is fabulous, just steps up is the Piazza della Repubbica. The restaurants are fabulous as well. We ate at Osteria del Teatro, La Bucaccia and Locanda al Pozzo Antico. All excellent places to eat and near the hotel.

Cortona has this very romantic, quaint feel to it. I loved it. I will definitely go back one day. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Just left the hotel, awfull Hotel, the breakfast included is too simple and they charge you another 9 euros for an upgrade, but is also as poor as the included one, staff is weak, parking is 20€, rooms are noise, no power outlets. Bathrooms smells bad, bed were hard and blankets were dirty. We suppose to stay 5 nights but we left 1 day earlier due to all problems and they charged us a 56€ penlty (absurd!!!!)......strongly not recommended......

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I booked two single rooms in September 2011 for our stay in mid-May. When we arrived they did not have 2 single rooms so they had to upgrade us to a Superior Room and a Room but at the single room price. The rooms were nice enough. The Superior room was on the street where all the workers drove around 6 am and late night diners walked. It was quite noisy but that was manageable.
The problem was the staff. For the first two days whenever we encountered a staff member they had to remind us that we were staying in upgraded rooms that we were not paying for, like some poor relative who they were giving a treat.

The staff was often unfriendly and uninformed. One perspn at the desk told us we had to pay for use of the inherent (which you could only access from one small area in the hotel) while another staff member told us there was no charge.

I would never stay there again mostly because of the surly staff.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Attractive position close to main square with fine views over the countryside. Parking is a problem in the town and 20 euros is the charge for the hotel garage! The alternative is to park just outside the city wall and climb back up the hill to the hotel . In our experience this is a perfectly safe place to leave the car and the walk is a pleasant bit of exercise before the first drink of the day.
The staff are efficient and pleasant appearing at the door as soon as the car stopped to help with luggage.
An ample supply of restaurants are within easy walking distance and the town is a most interesting overnight stop.
Bedrooms are ancient as shown by the painted wooden ceilings but the beds are wonderfully comfortable and the bathrooms immaculate.

Room Tip: lift to all rooms and i imagine views on all sides but one to the south would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Michele

Address: Via Guelfa 15, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Michele 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Michele is located in the historical heart of Cortona. Born out of a restoration of a renaissance palace, it is listed as national monument and host a 15th century fresco (Masaccio school). Restored with taste, the hotel offers classic, superior, junior suite as well as suites , all equipped with moden comforts. Air conditioning, private bathroom, elevator and covered garage. Massages, cooking classes and tours are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Michele Hotel
San Michele Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Michele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.