We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what they promised” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Michele

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Michele to your Saves list
Hotel San Michele
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Guelfa 15, 52044, Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Sedona, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what they promised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We paid a higher rate for a "flexible" reservation which we made from an albergo where we were staying in Tuscany. To avoid confusion we had a bilingual Italian help us with the reservation. We were told there was a "full buffet" breakfast included, free wi-fi in the rooms, and free parking 200M from the hotel. When we arrived there were no parking spaces. We wanted to take a shower but there was no water at all. Also no wi-fi. And their idea of a "full buffet" was a croissant and coffee. This would have been fine if they were rated a one or two star hotel but they are allegedly a 4 star hotel.

They wanted an additional 8 euros per person per day for the true buffet breakfast. The downstairs where one had to go to use internet smelled like an open sewer and the lounge where one got wi-fi was often filled with smoke from the adjacent courtyard. They finally got the water going and then our toilet and shower both leaked all over the bathroom floor.

If you think a hotel that hasn't been remodeled since 1940 with old filthy rugs and bedspreads is "charming" then go for it. We opted to check out and go to a better place, which was also 35 euros/night cheaper. By the way the "flexible" reservation wasn't that at all- it was just a higher rate. Even though we only stayed one night, Hotel San Michele said we were obligated to pay for 4 nights...

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

When we arrived by car to this hotel, the hill was very intimidating. Luckily, we could pay for space in a parking garage for 20 Euros/night & the garage wasn't far from the hotel. Worth every penny in my opinion. The staff was very attentive and nice. I did feel like I was getting the "add up" treatment when we arrived. First, they asked us if we wanted a larger room, of course, for more money. We looked at the room and agreed it wasn't worth the extra space or money, we're hardly in our room. We were very happy with the room we got - spacious enough and clean. We also had a nice view - we were on the 2nd floor. Then, they asked if we wanted to pay 8 Euros extra for a more diverse breakfast that included bacon and eggs and other pastries. Of course, I did pay extra for the better breakfast, I need my eggs. It still was one of my cheapest hotels, even with the extra cost of the breakfast. I try not to count my pennies too much on vacation - that's why I save up all year for it. It's time to indulge a little.

The lady working the breakfast room was very efficient and sweet. She didn't speak too much English but you got your point across and she understood. I speak some Italian so it gave me a chance to practice.

The location of the hotel is fabulous, just steps up is the Piazza della Repubbica. The restaurants are fabulous as well. We ate at Osteria del Teatro, La Bucaccia and Locanda al Pozzo Antico. All excellent places to eat and near the hotel.

Cortona has this very romantic, quaint feel to it. I loved it. I will definitely go back one day. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nydtobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Just left the hotel, awfull Hotel, the breakfast included is too simple and they charge you another 9 euros for an upgrade, but is also as poor as the included one, staff is weak, parking is 20€, rooms are noise, no power outlets. Bathrooms smells bad, bed were hard and blankets were dirty. We suppose to stay 5 nights but we left 1 day earlier due to all problems and they charged us a 56€ penlty (absurd!!!!)......strongly not recommended......

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Renato A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I booked two single rooms in September 2011 for our stay in mid-May. When we arrived they did not have 2 single rooms so they had to upgrade us to a Superior Room and a Room but at the single room price. The rooms were nice enough. The Superior room was on the street where all the workers drove around 6 am and late night diners walked. It was quite noisy but that was manageable.
The problem was the staff. For the first two days whenever we encountered a staff member they had to remind us that we were staying in upgraded rooms that we were not paying for, like some poor relative who they were giving a treat.

The staff was often unfriendly and uninformed. One perspn at the desk told us we had to pay for use of the inherent (which you could only access from one small area in the hotel) while another staff member told us there was no charge.

I would never stay there again mostly because of the surly staff.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Attractive position close to main square with fine views over the countryside. Parking is a problem in the town and 20 euros is the charge for the hotel garage! The alternative is to park just outside the city wall and climb back up the hill to the hotel . In our experience this is a perfectly safe place to leave the car and the walk is a pleasant bit of exercise before the first drink of the day.
The staff are efficient and pleasant appearing at the door as soon as the car stopped to help with luggage.
An ample supply of restaurants are within easy walking distance and the town is a most interesting overnight stop.
Bedrooms are ancient as shown by the painted wooden ceilings but the beds are wonderfully comfortable and the bathrooms immaculate.

Room Tip: lift to all rooms and i imagine views on all sides but one to the south would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TitusT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I have just returned from my annual stay in Cortona. I have stayed 5 times in the San Michele and have never been disappointed. Francesca and her team are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble in making your stay enjoyable. The hotel is exactly in the right place. It is just off the main square which houses great bars and restaurants. The rooms are completely in character and it is possible to have fantastic views from private balconies over the beautiful Tuscan countryside.
A must stay if you are in Cortona.

Room Tip: Ask to be looking out to Lake Trasimeno
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Reasonable pricing and decent breakfast. Not luxury, but a nice hotel.

Staff is very welcoming and if you get lucky you can enjoy a fantastic view on Lago Trasimene (such an historic place!) from your room... even your bed.

Recommended for family or couples, if you manage to go up there by car.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili Hotel
Villa Marsili Hotel
#1 of 22 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#12 of 22 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 22 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 22 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#9 of 22 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Michele

Address: Via Guelfa 15, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Michele is located in the historical heart of Cortona. Born out of a restoration of a renaissance palace, it is listed as national monument and host a 15th century fresco (Masaccio school). Restored with taste, the hotel offers classic, superior, junior suite as well as suites , all equipped with moden comforts. Air conditioning, private bathroom, elevator and covered garage. Massages, cooking classes and tours are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Michele Hotel
San Michele Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing