We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bramasole

Bramasole
Cortona, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 17 Attractions in Cortona
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 200-year old farmhouse lovingly restored by travel author Frances Mayes.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

On the cypress lane one walks/drives to Bramasole, home of Frances Mayes (Under the Tuscan Sun). Not the villa in the movie, but even more beautiful. If you are lucky you might meet Frances and Ed as they walk out their gate..we did! This gorgeous old villa and gardens have been lovingly restored and if you have read her books, or seen the movie, you would so enjoy seeing the home that has been the 'star' in her books.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Loved seeing Bramasole.. still I did feel a little "stalkerish."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My friend Laura and I weren't the only Pilgrims who made the trek out of town to see Bramasole. There was the couple who had brought their lunch in case they could picnic in the yard, and the woman and her husband from Australia, book in hand, hoping some how to run into Ms. Mayes. No, we weren't the only ones. It was our 2nd visit to see Francis Maye's beloved Bramasole. That wasn't for lack of trying, as we couldn't find it the first time we were in Cortona. Actually, it's easy to find. It's right there in plain sight about a mile out of town through the park and past the tennis courts. It's a beautiful home, and rightly so, the inspiration for so manyTuscan dreams. Thank you Ms. Mayes for opening up our eyes and hearts to your vision of Tuscany and for sharing the beautiful property that is known by so many as Bramasole... If you are a fan...don't miss it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, FL
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Under the Tuscan Sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We walked from town out to the villa to see the actual place Frances Mayes wrote about in Under the Tuscan Sun. It's quiet and beautiful and you can understand why she fell in love with the house and the people of Cortona. Read the book - it tells the real story in a winsome fashion. The movie really didn't do it justice. But scenery in the movie was true to the real thing.

Beautiful house, quiet peaceful area, beautiful walk to get there.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just like the Movie............”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Our driver took us to where they filmed the movie and then to the actually home. there was a small yellow car parked there and i wondered if Frances Mayes was home! She put Cortona on the map! amazing place and i would not have known about it if it wasnt for "under the tuscan sun!!!"

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Pilgrimage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Took my girl to Cortona for the purpose of seeing Bramasole. She was pleased, so it was worth it. We walked to Bramasole, and after all of the pasta and drinking, it really was a nice, scenic walk. Enjoy!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bramasole also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Bramasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bramasole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.