We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooking Class in Cortona - Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscan Culinary One-Day Cooking Class

Tuscan Culinary One-Day Cooking Class
Cortona, Italy (Formerly Workshops in Tuscany)
+39 8056822386
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Activities in Cortona
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our One-Day Cooking Class is informal, fun and hands-on. The class taught in English and designed around a typical Tuscan meal with fresh local in season ingredients. You will start the full day course by meeting the instructor, Shirley Ofria at a café in the historic center of Cortona. Over a typical Tuscan breakfast of cappuccino and pastry, you will choose from our recipe booklet what you want to prepare. After breakfast and menu planning, you will go to the various markets to collect all the necessary ingredients.When you finish with the shopping, it’s off to our home in San Egidio, just ten minutes above the wall surrounding historic Cortona. When you arrive at the house, the aprons go on and the work begins. You will start by making appetizers that will later serve as a light lunch break. After lunch, it’s back to work to start on the first course, second course, side dishes and of course desert. When everything is ready you will sit down to enjoy and critique your creations. The meal can be served inside or out, weather permitting.The course includes; menu planning, shopping, breakfast, lunch, dinner (all food and wine) and the recipe booklet. Dietary restrictions are welcome and if there is something specific you want to do, please contact us several day in advance of your class day.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cooking Class in Cortona - Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

What a great one-day experience. From the meeting Shirley at the cafe in the morning and going shopping for fresh food in the Cortona Markets - through cooking and enjoying a 10 hour day... this was an amazing experience. My wife and I could not have asked for a better time on our honeymoon! Thank you both for everything you did!

Best!

Steve

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Fun Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We organised a private class on short notice and we had a great time with Shirley.
It was a full on day, commencing at 9.00am in Cortona and ending about 6.30pm.
After discussing the menu over coffee, we proceeded with buying the ingredients at the local shops.
We prepared so much food, that we couldn't eat it all. So we took most of it back to our families.
It was great value. It included lunch and dinner with wine.
Some of the recipes we made included focaccia, biscotti, various vegetables, bolognese sauce, 4 types of pasta, including gnocchi and sausage and mushroom ravioli, porchetta, and more.
I would recommend this to anyone.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cooking class will keep you fed for three days!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My aunt, mother and I started planning our Italian trip close to three years ago. We were rather undecided when it came to all the different sights we wanted to see, but on one thing we were in complete agreement, and that was that we had to attend an Italian cooking class. Obviously, the different options were plentiful. But for some reason all three of us decided to go with Shirley Ofria's class.

We arrived in Cortona the day before the class and was pleased to find out that our hostess (Jeanette from Casa Chilenne) knew both Shirley and her husband quite well. She even went to the trouble of contacting Shirley in the evening to confirm that her "students" had arrived safely and were eagerly anticipating their class. She also explained where we had to meet Shirley the next morning, La Saletta Bar. Upon meeting Shirley at the café, she immediately tended to our appetites (not only in getting us some delicious hot drinks from the guy behind the bar, but also in sharing her recipe book with us and asking us to choose the dishes we were going to cook).

After the most difficult part of the day was over (having to choose from all the lovely recipes in Shirley's book), we moved on to the fun part – shopping for fresh produce from all the little shops in and around Cortona! The day was delightful, we made everything Italian, from Lemon Cake and Tiramisu, to Focaccia, lovely dishes with fennel bulbs and pork chops. In between cooking sessions, we laid the table and had sit-down breakfast, lunch and dinner, savouring our masterpieces and washing the food down with exquisite vino from around Cortona. We had so much fun in Shirley's kitchen, as I am sure our fellow students (two ladies from the U.S.) would agree. Shirley's house is lovely and the scenery breath-taking. She does her utmost best to make you feel at home. We also took some of the left-overs back to our B&B and had a lovely picnic the next day – with more left-overs for our train trip the day after!

At first I was slightly taken aback that Shirley was not Italian, but knowing that there would be no language barrier made a big difference – it is great that she has all the knowledge of Italian cooking and can easily share the information in English and even suggest well-known substitutes for Italian ingredients that are not available in your own country. I would, however, have enjoyed the experience even more if her husband had made more of an effort to be part of the day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cook with a pro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you are interested in cooking italian food with a pro, this is the spot in cortina, Italy to learn with a great cook Shirley Ofria. My husband and I spent a entire day in Shirley's well equipped kitchen where we made complicated dishes with ease. She provides a free take home cookbook that is easy to follow. 17 items were prepared deliciously.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Day!,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I wanted to take a cooking class while in Tuscany and Shirley's class was the one I saw and which had rave reviews so we booked it. Totally enjoyed the experience. Loved the shopping for ingredients and the actual cooking. The foods we made were delicious and fresh and we came home with a recipe book so we could try the recipes at home. Also loved the atmosphere from the town of Cortona to Shirley's lovely Tuscan home. Enjoy this experience!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscan Culinary One-Day Cooking Class also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Tuscan Culinary One-Day Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscan Culinary One-Day Cooking Class, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.