We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis away from the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa di Piazzano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa di Piazzano to your Saves list
Villa di Piazzano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Cortona
Vienna, VA USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“An oasis away from the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

This wonderful inn is a bit out of the way but not difficult to get to and within striking distance of many other Tuscan destinations if you have a car. Mr. Wimpole, the owner, is Australian, his wife Italian, and their daughter also works there. He was available throughout our visit for conversation or help, as the occasion demanded.

We took our own luggage up in the small elevator to our suite, actually two separate rooms connected by a small hallway, with a third door to the main hall. The rooms were large, though with small windows owing to the age of the renovated historical building. The owner explained that it was illegal to add windows, although he had put skylights in the roof to bring in more light, and was hoping that it wouldn't be noticed by the authorities. The ceiling was open to the timber beams, and the floor was terra cotta tiles. The room had a television which we never turned on.

Free WiFi is available in the lobby area. Breakfast was included in our rate of $266 per room per night, and was served on the terrace. The view was beautiful and the food was fresh, although we were harrassed by the occasional wasp.

The renovations included the addition of a pool, a welcome respite after a day in the August heat, and a lifesaver for families with children.

The water is well water, and tasted fresh and clean. However, one evening at bedtime I turned on the faucet to get only spurts of air. I put some clothes back on and strolled to the front desk to find Mr. Wimpole relaxing, and mentioned the water. "It happens sometimes." The water was back on by the time I reached the room.

The Villa has a full-time chef, Gabriela, who prepares dinner several nights a week if you reserve by early the same morning. We had two dinners there, which were both marvelous and among the best food we had during our entire trip. The dinner was a fixed menu for 35 euros per person, but they charged us much less for our children (10 and 13) and fixed them a special dinner of spaghetti with tomato sauce. In true Italian fashion the receipes were not overly complex but made with care and high-quality ingredients. Dishes included tagliatelli with red peppers au gratin, and a delightful take on tiramisu which used limoncello instead of coffee.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    43
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
81
245
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

What can I say except Villa di Piazzano just keeps getting bettter.
The property is lovely and the owner is personally involved in
ever part of this wonderful villa. The staff is so friendly and competent
and the food is excellent. Our family took the cooking class and I
highly recommend it - we came home and duplicated the menu
for our family. Villa di Piazzano was our introduction to Italy ,
our experience there was magical and everything we imagined
the Umbrian countryside to be. I only wish this wonderful villa
could stay our special secret . Close family friends were here the
week before our stay and they too had a wonderful time - we will be
back again and again. Thank you Alessandra and all the staff at
fantastic Villa di Piazzano.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

My girlfriend and I just returned from a romantic trip to Italy. We had the pleasure of staying at the Villa de Piazzano for 4 wonderful nights. I found out about the Villa through Trip Advisor. I must say that all of the good reviews are completely warranted.
The staff could not have been friendlier. The room was lovely. And the setting is incredible. If you can, stay for dinner. the food is also amazing.
The villa is about a 10 to 15 minute drive from the hill town of Cortona. We had a little bit of trouble finding it. When we called the hotel, we were quickly put back on the right track. We checked in easily and were shown to our room. We stayed in room Tramanto Toscano. The photo below is from our bedroom window. Breathtaking! The room was of generous size and the bathroom was nice and clean. My only criticism is that the pillows on the bed could have been a little bit softer.
We had spent the day driving up from Amalfi and were too tired to drive in to Cortona for dinner. We stayed at the hotel and were very happy we did. The food was delicious. All of the meals are served on the terrace overlooking the pool and gardens. It's a wonderful setting to be sure.
Breakfasts are also served on the terrace. You know it's going to be a good day when you can sit out and look at the Tuscan countryside, sipping on a Cappuccino and enjoying their ample buffet.
We spent a lot of time enjoying the pool and relaxing. When we were looking for something to do, the staff were ready with suggestions and helped us make dinner reservations in Cortona. They also arranged for a tour of the Avignonesi vineyard; only 20 minutes or so away.
I can't say enough nice things about the hotel. We're so happy to have found it. I hope if you are reading this that you will enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights before heading to Rome. Myself & Mike (he had been here before) along with a family couple from Ohio were traveling together. It is just lovely!!! The staff and family are so kind and friendly!! It is a wonderful location to be if you want to venture out and see the Tuscany countryside. The outside dining area is lovely in the morning!! If you have the opportunity to be there on a Thursday evening DO NOT pass up the barbeque - it is absolutely fabulous!!!! The pool is a great place to relax in the afternoon before heading out for dinner!! We are looking forward to a return visit in the very near future!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

We stayed here for the week before our wedding in Cortona and thought it was absolutely lovely. It took us a long time to decide where to stay because we wanted somewhere extra special and that's what this place is. The villa and surroundings were stunning and the staff were so friendly and helpful. It is such a beautiful place that you have no option but to completely relax. It is just a short drive into Cortona which was the perfect place to get married, very romantic. We could not fault this place and we will definately be returning to this villa, hopefully for our anniversary!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Villa Di Piazzano was a great find, and we really enjoyed our relaxing stay. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, the room was extremely nice, and I would highly recommend it for a relaxing stay. It is a bit of a drive to any towns/restaurants, so be prepared for that. The hotel was a bit difficult to find- we missed the turn several times before we got it right, but we were thrilled once we did find it. Comfy beds, and very nice accommodations. The small restaurant in the evenings was good, and our waitress was lovely, but prices are in line with the hotel rooms, so it is a bit on the expensive side. The pool area was beautiful, but we were there in October, so the pool was closed.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

This villa was beyond wonderful. The photos on the website do not do it justice! In fact, this was the best place we stayed in all of Italy. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The room was large, clean and had an amazing view. They even upgraded us because it was our honeymoon and had champagne waiting for us in our room. We loved our stay here and really enjoyed meeting the family that owns it. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa di Piazzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Piazzano

Address: Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Piazzano 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical manor house offering old wold charm and modern world comforts including: a fine restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, private parking, beautiful gardens, great walking and biking trails and a cooking school with its own monastic vegetable garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa di Piazzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Piazzano Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa di Piazzano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.