We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa di Piazzano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa di Piazzano to your Saves list
Villa di Piazzano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Cortona
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Perfect, peaceful place to stay to enjoy wonderful Tuscany, especially after 2 days of the hustle & bustle of Rome!
Not the cheapest accommodation but worth every penny and you get what you pay for.
Beautiful hotel, full of character, though it seemed more like staying with a family than a hotel as so personal & friendly.
Everyone from the owner to the reception staff, to the waitresses, to the room maids made us feel welcome.
Rooms were delightful, beautifully furnished & decorated and very clean & well maintained.
We had a minor problem with our air conditioning leaking which was resolved the next day. Even though it caused us no problem and was resolved quickly, when we came to checkout, the cost of our first nights meal had been deducted which was a lovely gesture and by no means expected .
The food was wonderful and we enjoyed both breakfast and evening meal on the terrace overlooking the Tuscan hills. Truly wonderful experience.
If we visit the area again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    43
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
81
245
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Villa di Piazzano is the perfect place to relax amidst understated elegance in Tuscany.
Every detail and aspect of the hotel is a model for excellence - the rooms, the toiletries, the sheets and pillows. The staff is extremely helpful in assisting with requests and had outstanding references for local tour guides who know authentic, hidden gems in the region. The restaurant service staff is superb. The chef de cuisine, Gabriella, is an incredible talent and her menu offers innovative preparations, well-balanced flavors and beautiful presentations. The pool and grounds are a wonderful pleasure for adults and children alike. If we could have bought the hotel or signed a lifetime lease, we would have. A visit to this historic residence is an amazing and authentic Italian experience that will last in our memory forever. Villa di Piazzano lives up to its fine reputation and promise for gracious hospitality in one of the most beautiful places on earth.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kohler, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Next time we're in Tuscany we'll be staying here again. The property is as beautiful as many of the pictures on their website. Our room was large and comfortable. The entire facility was always clean and well maintained. Food and drinks excellent. The staff was welcoming and helpful. My wife said it was her favorite stay of all the places we've visited around the world--right out of the movies.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A place to be - to relax - to eat - to enjoy “la italianità“ and to get the energy for the next interesting journey through Tuscany

We spent two nights in this wonderful hotel and were impressed by the décor of the house, the garden embedded in a Tuscany landscape, the friendly service and the fantastic cooking. Eating in the garden a tasty dish while watching the sunset, what else can one wish… At night time the silence is calming and if you are lucky you can listen to a nightingale. The hotel is located close to Siena, an UNESCO world heritage site and many other interesting places such as Arezzo in Tuscany as well as Perugia in Umbria. Ideal to start the day with the rich breakfast in the peaceful garden and after all day visiting beautiful places, turning back to the hotel to recover from the journey with a swim in the pool and a walk in the garden, the ideal combination for the bon vivant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful oasis in Tuscany. Fabulous old buildings in a lovely garden with a pool. Great restaurant and good service with the staff always eager to assist.
We spend two nights here after being in the road for a number of days around Tuscany and it was a welcome break.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Villa is really first rate. The setting is beautiful, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the meals were delicious. Although the dinner menu is limited and did not vary during our stay, we were very happy to eat there each night. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The Villa is very close to Cortona and the drives to other Tuscany towns were easy.

Room Tip: We stayed in a two bedroom apartment that had two living rooms. These are great if you are travelin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Really liked this hotel. We were in the annex - I think the rooms and bathrooms are more up to date here - really lovely. Great pool and garden, amazing location and wonderful unobtrusive service. Fairly expensive, but good value for money. Delicious food too - the local steak I had there was the best I ate on our 3 week trip around Tuscany and Umbria.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa di Piazzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Piazzano

Address: Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Piazzano 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical manor house offering old wold charm and modern world comforts including: a fine restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, private parking, beautiful gardens, great walking and biking trails and a cooking school with its own monastic vegetable garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa di Piazzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Piazzano Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa di Piazzano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.