We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful respite amidst the tranquility of the Tuscan landscape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa di Piazzano

Save Saved
You added Villa di Piazzano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa di Piazzano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Cortona
Rockford, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful respite amidst the tranquility of the Tuscan landscape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We arrived at the Villa di Piazzano after a hectic two days in traffic filled Rome. The drive up was so beautiful with gorgeous views and typical tuscan scenes. The long driveway was planked on either side by tall cypress trees. We entered a beautiful villa surrounded by gardens and went up to our room. Our room had spectacular views of the surrounding countryside and my husband immediately pulled out our camera and began taking pictures out the windows. A spacious bedroom, comfortable beds, a small table with chairs and a period wardrobe to put our clothes into. The bathroom was very nice, something I am particular about. Everything was tastefully decorated with a period villa feel. Even the room keys were enormous with tassels on them.

Breakfast, surprisingly, included scrambled eggs, cheese and meats along with the usual European pastries and croissants. Coffee and Juices were offered as well. For me, the best part of the experience here was the private cooking lesson with Gabriela where we learned all about Tuscan food, made pasta, appetizer, chicken and tiramisu. We then sat down to eat a wonderful feast we had helped prepare. Gabriela was so personable and friendly.

Staying at the Villa in Cortona was very convenient to visit the surrounding towns. One such trip we took was to Assisi where we were given a tour by Fra. Michael. The people at the Villa were so helpful and full of knowledge. A big shout out to my friend Franchesca at the front desk who recommended some stores in Cortona where I shopped for linen, leather bags and pottery. Beautiful stuff! Franchesca never got tired of all the questions we asked her. Thank you Franchesca! - we have wonderful memories our time there. We especially loved getting to know everyone who worked there, Franchesca, Gabriela, Marco etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    41
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
78
232
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falcon, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is my 4th visit to the villa and I am never disappointed. It fact, it get's better each time. The Villa is clean, comfortable, elagant, with a great resturant. We had a traditional Italian Easter dinner there that was wonderful. The location is fantastic. Easy drivivng to anywhere in Tuscany or Umbria you want to go.
The staff is outstanding, they arranged a winery tour and an olive oil tour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_di_Piazzano, Owner at Villa di Piazzano, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
It’s always a pleasure to host returning guests and see once again familiar faces. We hope to have you back with us very soon.

With Kind regards,

Alessandra Wimpole
Owner-Manager
Villa di Piazzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights as part of our Honeymoon to Italy in April 2013. In summary the hotel was absolutely fantastic and as a frequent traveller I would say this was the best hotel that I have ever stayed in. The staff and service at the hotel was first rate, extremely pleasant and very helpful. The room that we had was beautiful and spacious with tremendous views of the Tuscan countryside and also of the gardens and pool. We ate in the restaurant on two evenings and the food from the resident chef was top class. The breakfasts were lovely. The pool area and gardens were beautifully kept. We also hired a couple of bikes from the hotel to explore some of the local areas. The hotel is very well located in Tuscancy and we visited, Florence, Siena, Cortona, Orvieto and Montepulciano - all well worth recommending. As the hotel is in a rural location you would be best to have a car at your disposal if you want to get around. Otherwise you just want to chill at the hotel and maybe hire a bike

John & Becky.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_di_Piazzano, Owner at Villa di Piazzano, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are very flattered by your wonderful review which touched on every aspect of the hotel with very nice comments. We are glad we were able to contribute positively to your honeymoon and look forward to hosting you again as our guests.

Many best wishes from all the Team at Villa di Piazzano.

Kind regards,

Alessandra Wimpole
Owner-Manager
Villa di Piazzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I've been traveling all over Italy for the last few months and can I say this hotel ranks up there with the best of them. The staff were faboulous assisted us with all our your needs. My room wow beautiful so tastefully decorated and my mattress was so beautiful to sleep on I will recommend this hotel to anyone clean fresh and such magic scenery

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here with my wife in May 2012. Before arriving, the staff via email helped me set up several wine tours in Montepulciano and in Montalcino. The staff was unbelievably helpful. When we arrived, the grounds and the hotel were so beautifully kept.

Our room was perfect. We had a terrace leading outside to stone stairs that led us unto the grounds. It was filled with a lot of light and very comfortable. The breakfast was one of our best in Italy...fresh fruits, cheeses, meats, juices.

We drove into Montalcino from this location which was very scenic. I also did one night in Cortona. I highly recommend this place if you want a genuine tuscan experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Villa di Piazzano in September. This hotel is one of the best kept secrets in Italy. The staff and family are welcoming and very accomodating. Service is excellent. The rooms are very spacious and the decor is outstanding. The breakfasts and dinners were 5*. The chef is amazing. The views from the hotel are spectacular. This hotel is a must stay in Tuscany!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_di_Piazzano, Proprietario at Villa di Piazzano, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your flattering comments on all aspects of the hotel. I am sure the entire team will feel very proud as a result of your review. This is indeed a great incentive for all of us to keep up the hard work and maintain the high standards which we strive to achieve. So all I can say is thank you and hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Alessandra Wimpole
Owner-Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I spent two weeks in Italy, traveling with my brother-in-law and his partner. During that trip, we spent four nights at the Villa di Piazzano. We found this property to be the perfect blend between a "high end" hotel and a casual/friendly B&B. The setting is gorgeous, the Villa itself beautiful, the proprietors and staff incredibly friendly. We highly recommend this property to those looking for an out-of-the way place to stay in the Cortona region. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We reserved the large suite in the front, left of the entrance. We loved the beautiful views out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_di_Piazzano, Owner at Villa di Piazzano, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a nice start to the 2013 season. Thank you for your most flattering review, but in particularl for having understood the spirit of our establishment: an elegant hotel with a casual atmosphere!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Alessandra Wimpole
Owner/Manager
Villa di Piazzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa di Piazzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Piazzano

Address: Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Piazzano 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical manor house offering old wold charm and modern world comforts including: a fine restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, private parking, beautiful gardens, great walking and biking trails and a cooking school with its own monastic vegetable garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, T4B, Tingo, Odigeo, Escapio, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Villa di Piazzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Piazzano Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa di Piazzano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.