We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa di Piazzano

Save Saved
You added Villa di Piazzano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Villa di Piazzano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 hotels in Cortona
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights as part of our Honeymoon to Italy in April 2013. In summary the hotel was absolutely fantastic and as a frequent traveller I would say this was the best hotel that I have ever stayed in. The staff and service at the hotel was first rate, extremely pleasant and very helpful. The room that we had was beautiful and spacious with tremendous views of the Tuscan countryside and also of the gardens and pool. We ate in the restaurant on two evenings and the food from the resident chef was top class. The breakfasts were lovely. The pool area and gardens were beautifully kept. We also hired a couple of bikes from the hotel to explore some of the local areas. The hotel is very well located in Tuscancy and we visited, Florence, Siena, Cortona, Orvieto and Montepulciano - all well worth recommending. As the hotel is in a rural location you would be best to have a car at your disposal if you want to get around. Otherwise you just want to chill at the hotel and maybe hire a bike

John & Becky.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_di_Piazzano, Owner at Villa di Piazzano, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are very flattered by your wonderful review which touched on every aspect of the hotel with very nice comments. We are glad we were able to contribute positively to your honeymoon and look forward to hosting you again as our guests.

Many best wishes from all the Team at Villa di Piazzano.

Kind regards,

Alessandra Wimpole
Owner-Manager
Villa di Piazzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    34
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
65
192
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I've been traveling all over Italy for the last few months and can I say this hotel ranks up there with the best of them. The staff were faboulous assisted us with all our your needs. My room wow beautiful so tastefully decorated and my mattress was so beautiful to sleep on I will recommend this hotel to anyone clean fresh and such magic scenery

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here with my wife in May 2012. Before arriving, the staff via email helped me set up several wine tours in Montepulciano and in Montalcino. The staff was unbelievably helpful. When we arrived, the grounds and the hotel were so beautifully kept.

Our room was perfect. We had a terrace leading outside to stone stairs that led us unto the grounds. It was filled with a lot of light and very comfortable. The breakfast was one of our best in Italy...fresh fruits, cheeses, meats, juices.

We drove into Montalcino from this location which was very scenic. I also did one night in Cortona. I highly recommend this place if you want a genuine tuscan experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Villa di Piazzano in September. This hotel is one of the best kept secrets in Italy. The staff and family are welcoming and very accomodating. Service is excellent. The rooms are very spacious and the decor is outstanding. The breakfasts and dinners were 5*. The chef is amazing. The views from the hotel are spectacular. This hotel is a must stay in Tuscany!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_di_Piazzano, Proprietario at Villa di Piazzano, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your flattering comments on all aspects of the hotel. I am sure the entire team will feel very proud as a result of your review. This is indeed a great incentive for all of us to keep up the hard work and maintain the high standards which we strive to achieve. So all I can say is thank you and hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Alessandra Wimpole
Owner-Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I spent two weeks in Italy, traveling with my brother-in-law and his partner. During that trip, we spent four nights at the Villa di Piazzano. We found this property to be the perfect blend between a "high end" hotel and a casual/friendly B&B. The setting is gorgeous, the Villa itself beautiful, the proprietors and staff incredibly friendly. We highly recommend this property to those looking for an out-of-the way place to stay in the Cortona region. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We reserved the large suite in the front, left of the entrance. We loved the beautiful views out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_di_Piazzano, Owner at Villa di Piazzano, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a nice start to the 2013 season. Thank you for your most flattering review, but in particularl for having understood the spirit of our establishment: an elegant hotel with a casual atmosphere!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Alessandra Wimpole
Owner/Manager
Villa di Piazzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

As frequent travelers to Italy my husband and I are always looking for hotels that express the unique beauty and feel of each region. We have found the perfect spot to experience Tuscany: Villa di Piazzano. We fell in love with the place on our first visit and have returned many times since.

This is a centuries-old villa set in a breathtaking valley that has been renovated with exceptional taste. We have stayed in several different rooms and they are all elegant and comfortable, we have never been disappointed. It's centrally located within Tuscany so places like Perugia, Siena, Montalcino, etc. are all easy day trips and the ancient town of Cortona is just right up the hill. However, the villa is so lovely you don't need to go anywhere! The pool is nice and large (not like the "ponds" so many Italian hotels call pools) and we have often found ourselves postponing our planned excursions as our "quick swim" turns into hours lounging at the pool. The food at the villa is delicious and we've spent several days eating all our meals there starting with their generous breakfast, then lunch on the patio, an aperitif with a good book or a game of cards under the trees (usually after a nap of course), and dinner al fresco. The villa offers total relaxation Italian-style.

It's a great place for families, our kids love it! The large grassy gardens give them plenty of space to play and they have always felt very comfortable and welcomed. I also highly recommend Villa di Piazzano for couples. On our most recent trip my husband and I stayed without the kids and really enjoyed its romantic atmosphere. Each visit has been so special. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagambie, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were caught without accomodation while in the Cortona area and were advised to try Villa Di Piazzano and were surprised and truly impressed by the complete package. The rooms were spacious and luxurious, while the meals and breakfasts were excellent. The service and attention was as expected and we ended up staying longer than planned- will call again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_di_Piazzano, Owner at Villa di Piazzano, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

I recall your unexpected arrival at the hotel. We were in an awkward situation trying to jump-start a guest's car and you arrived just in time to prevent us from inverting the cables. So your arrival at the hotel was mutually fortuitous.

It is always a pleasure to host fellow Australians and makes us feel proud and privileged to receive such nice comments from our guests. We also hope to be able to host you again on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Alessandra Wimpole
Owner-Manager
Villa di Piazzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa di Piazzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Piazzano

Also Known As:
Villa Di Piazzano Hotel
Villa Di Piazzano Hotel Cortona
Address: Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#2 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Piazzano 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical manor house offering old wold charm and modern world comforts including: a fine restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, private parking, beautiful gardens, great walking and biking trails and a cooking school with its own monastic vegetable garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Villa di Piazzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa di Piazzano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.