We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa di Piazzano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa di Piazzano to your Saves list
Villa di Piazzano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Cortona
new york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tuscan Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

My wife and I traveled here for our honeymoon. We welcomed with a quick tour of the property and a bottle of Champagne in our room. Everyone at the hotel was accomodating and always pleasant. The room itself was large and spacious, the stay was so relaxing (We spent the previous four days in Rome). We found the hotel to be in a centralized location. We took day trips to MOntelcino and montepulciano, then another trip to the Chianti region. It was magnificent!!! Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    43
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
81
245
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

Our initial stay at this hotel in late Oct. 2007 was so fabulous that we booked to come back the following weekend. I might add that we sent many emails of inquiry to properties in Tuscany. The prompt and welcoming email reply from Villa di Piazzano set the tone for our two stays there. A member of the family who owns Villa di Piazzano emailed offering us upgraded rooms at good rates partly because it was near the end of the season. My husband is a value kind of guy so this was the first positive. Our family of five were very impressed with all aspects of our stay and that is a tall order as some of us work in the hospitality industry. We truly felt as if we were staying at a cardinal's hunting lodge which of course we were, only 600 hundred years later. Gorgeous grounds(even in late fall), the ambiance of the common rooms plus the rooms/suites were other positives. The word "rooms" does not do the large size, comfort level of the furnishings, or olive oil amenities justice. Our dinning experience was another positive. Not only the buffet breakfast but also the prix fixe, gourmet, four course, Italian dinners, were just the way we imagined dinning, Italian style, should be. One word of caution to those guests who stay for a week or more ---be preapred to gain weight because the food is very good!! The owners were charming hosts showing pride of ownership by checking personally on our rooms, chatting with us in the dinning room and offering assistance in booking other accomodation and sightseeing guidance. The most memorable moment for the five of us came at breakfast on the first morning. The owner, Adrianna along with her staff, carried a meringue cake with one lighted candle to our granddaughter who was celebrating her first birthday that day. We had not mentioned her first birthday to anyone but the staff had taken note of the date on our grandaughter's passport. How many one year olds get to celebrate their first birthday with a decadent meringue custard cake for breakfast at Villa di Piazzano? Thank you to the Wimpoles and staff for such a memorable stay.

  • Liked — everything!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

Location: the villa is situated near Tuscany / Umbria boundary, about 250km from Rome, most of which are highway. The directions from Expedia are actually pretty good if you follow them to the dot, even though the villa is in the middle of nowhere. During our stay, we explored nearby Cortona (5-10min drive) - a picturesque castle-like town with a lot of eateries and small shops. We also took a day trip in our rented car to Montelpulciano, Pienza and Montalcino, famous respectively with Tuscany wines, cheese and Tuscany wines. The towns were very charming, also castle-like (except for Pienza) - I truly recommend taking the time to visit, however do so during the day, as it is more lively; during the evenings (when the handful tourists have gone away) it gets pretty deserted and almost too quiet. Local wines are available for degustation, some places charge a fee, others let you try their cheaper sorts. Very good cheeses and meat cuts available for sampling as well, especially at Montelpulciano. The best Tuscan scenery can be shot with your camera on the road between Pienza and Montalcino. Beautiful!!!

Rooms - We paid a slightly higher rate for something like a superior room, however we were given a good sized bedroom, with a handkerchief size window on the roof! Honestly - this was a little too primitive for almost $400 a night. I couldnt help but feel that we didnt get what we paid for (either by mistake or because we were given the last available room). The furniture in the room had this "old feel", however it was not unpleasantly dated, this was simply the style of the room, which was fine by me. Much to my likings, the bathroom was excellent, marble, if my memory is not lying to me, sparkling clean, in other words, the old charm of the villa was not an excuse for an old and smelly bathroom. Thumbs up!

Service - Since this is not your full-service hotel, the number of staff was not huge - there was general politeness everywhere, yet not to an excessive extent. That is probably fine, just noting here for other fellow travellers. However, front desk is NOT 24 hours, which almost left us standing outside the locked villa, when we arrived at 11:30pm to check-in and the front staff lady was just locking the doors. Had we not entered, this review would have been a 1-star review. Not having 24 hr front desk is UNacceptable for a hotel charging upward of $300 a night!

Amenities/Hotel Grounds - Hotel grounds are simply beautiful and picture-perfect. Food at breakfast is plentiful and tasty, it was a pleasure all over every morning for both me and my husband to spend our hour enjoying the view. There was always room and loungers around the pool, although the pool was not heated and somewhat cold in May.
***

One thing I wanted to note - we were taking pictures of ourselves in the villa yard, using our camera on tripod (which perhaps appeared "too professional"). Some lady (the owner?) approached me after staring at me for a while to inquire what we were doing and she appeared satisfied to hear that we were guests of the hotel, not some random photographers. This was pretty annoying for me, considering I was pregnant and showing at the time, and definitely didnt look like a travelling photographer.

  • Liked — location and hotel grounds
  • Disliked — lack of 24hr check-in
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
discerning_travel, Owner/Manager at Villa di Piazzano, responded to this review, November 19, 2007
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Villa di Piazzano. The reason for my response is to further clarify one part of your comment which may be misunderstood by prospective future guests. It is true that our reception is not open 24 hours a day (remaining unsupervised from 11.30 pm to 7.00 am), as is the case with most small country hotels in Italy. Nevertheless, at the main door there is an intercom for after hours assistance from a member of the staff living on the premises. Once guests have checked in, we provide them with special key cards to access the main door irrespective of when they return. Should they lose their cards, again it is possible to buzz the intercom at the main door. From the rooms we have an after hours telephone service so that any emergency can be attended to at any hour of the night. Lastly, we have a sophisticated video surveillance system which monitors the property and advises us of any attempted intrusion by persons of ill intent. So you see, you would not have been left stranded had you arrived after 11.30 pm. We do, nevertheless, strongly advise all guests to arrive in daytime simply because it is easier to find your way and will make your journey more relaxed and pleasant.

With kind regards,

Alessandra Wimpole
Owner/Manager
Villa di Piazzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

I read about the Villa in the book, Great Sleeps Italy, and was impressed by its history. The villa itself is gorgeous. We did not have a car so we asked, and they arranged, for a taxi to meet us at the train station. Everyone was extremely professional, and warm. We had a 3-course dinner there every night except Tues. (they're closed), and some very good wines. We had a jr. suite which was elegantly furnished, and very comfortable. My husband, son and I took a cooking class with the owner, Adriana, which was a lot of fun (and delicious). We made fresh pasta with mushrooms, pork loin with prunes, and panna cotta. They arranged for a driver to take us through the countryside, stopping to tour a vineyard (with wine tasting), the San Antimo Abbey, and various other sites. They have a cozy, intimate bar where you can have a drink and conversation with other guests before dinner. Villa di Piazzano is luxurious, elegant, comfortable. We would most definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The luxuriousness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

Ancient hunting manor of the 1500s restored carefully and with taste, located in a beautiful landscape. Very kind staff. Excellent service. Good restaurant and excellent breakfast. This is a place for a wonderful and relaxing holiday.

  • Liked — The beauty and genuineness of the villla and the pretty surroundings
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

Our decision to try this hotel was based on Karen Brown's guide book for Italy, but we booked directly with the property.

We spent a week at the Villa di Piazzano (VdP) to explore southern Tuscany and northern Umbria. The hotel was ideally situated for this plan. The setting, in the countryside southeast of Cortona, was a lovely respite after a day of sightseeing. Our room was a separate stone cottage in the garden near the large swimming pool and below the main house.

Breakfasts and dinners (optional) in the VdP's dining room were always delicious and beautifully served. The maitre d', Massimo, made excellent wine recommendations.

The friendly staff at the front desk were knowledgeable about sightseeing and local shopping, and most helpful. For instance, upon our arrival, they recognized immediately that my wife's injured ankle needed medical attention and arranged for a doctor to call the next morning. One of the owners was always available to assist and visit with guests, giving the impression of welcoming us into their home.

Our only regret was not taking more time to relax and enjoy the tranquil setting of the VdP ... perhaps next time.

  • Liked — Setting, service, and food.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

We have just got back from a week at Villa Di Piazzano, which was part of our honeymoon. We had an absolutely wonderful time and it was a near-perfect start to our married life together!

Myself and my wife have been very privaledged to stay at some wonderful hotels all over the world. However we were both immensely impressed with Villa Di Piazzano and would unreservedly recomend it to anyone.

I cannot really think of any substantial negatives to the hotel- yes as previous reviews have said complimentary water would have been nice and the TV channels were variable, but the long list of positives more than outweigh these very, very minor critisisms. The positives were:

- The villa itself in absoltely fantastic and has obviously been very lovingly restored. The attention to detail of the furniture and interior decoration is astounding and we found ourselves wandering around a lot of the time, admiring the quality of the renovation and the excellent interior decoration
- The location is great, literally on the border between Umbria and Tuscany. Cortona is the nearest town which is 7 minutes drive, which is very pretty and has some great bars and restuarants
- The staff were unfalteriningly polite and effcient which is a very rare thing in hotels these days
- The resturant was very good with a good menu, a wide choice of wines and was reasonably priced
- The breakfast was probably the best we have come across with a huge selction of food
- Our room was fantastic- very large and airy, beautifally decorated and with a huge bed. We had a junior suite for which we paid Eur330 per night, which I consider very good value.

The hotel organised a couple of activities for us which I can more than recommend. Firsly we had a cookery lesson with one of the owners in the hotel kitchens which was an wonderful experience- it was fantastic being with a native Italian in a professional kitchen, using the freshest ingredients to make our own lunch. Pasta making was a real highlight!

The hotel also arranged a local gudie for us to take us wine tasting in a local town. He was an excellent guide, the town he took us to as probably our favourite place of the whole trip and I can wholeheartedly recommend him.

One last piece of advice. Don't try and go to Siena on Wednesday as it is market day and you will struggle to find somewhere to park.

  • Liked — The builidng and interior decoration
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa di Piazzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Piazzano

Address: Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Piazzano 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical manor house offering old wold charm and modern world comforts including: a fine restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, private parking, beautiful gardens, great walking and biking trails and a cooking school with its own monastic vegetable garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa di Piazzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Piazzano Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa di Piazzano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.