We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Year after Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar 500

Bar 500
44/46 Via Nazionale, Cortona, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 85 Restaurants in Cortona
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Year after Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our first visit to Cortona was in 2005, the year the Rob and Emma opened Bar 500 on the wonderful Ruga Piana in Cortona. We immediately found Bar 500 to be a place to stop for lunches, mid-afternoon snacks, and even dinners. We have returned every year since to our holiday spot in Cortona, including our most recent trip in October 2013, and have been pleased to find Bar 500 waiting for us. Whether for a bowl of tasty Tuscan bread soup or one of Rob's marvelous panini's, we've always found something delightful to eat plus a great selection of Cortona wines to choose from. Emma and Rob and the friendly staff continue to add to the enjoyment of our Cortona stays. All the best to them, until next year!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    58
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding bar and food experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Emma and Rob were outstanding hosts and treated the five of us like close friends. Their food, atmosphere and value received was excellent. Highly recommended for lunch or inexpensive dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Over priced - charging far too much for far too little””
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We visited this Bar&restaurant having read some of the rave reviews here -- but were very disappointed! The food was overpriced for the quality, taste and presentation..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A lucky find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We arrived in Cortona on a warm sunny day and almost imediately spotted Bar 500. The pizzas and bruschettas on view all looked very appetizing so we decided to have lunch there. We were served by friendly English speaking member of staff, who immediately told us about our serving options, indicating that we could "chop and change" just about any order. My wife ordered a tuna salad and I went for a mixed bruschettone. Our food arrived quickly and looked amazing. It didn't just look amazing, it tasted just as good. If we return to Cortona, we will definitely eat there again. I would recommend it, unreservedly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great snacks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A great lunch. Nice sandwiches and the pizzas and pastas looked nice enough too. Friendly staff and good location for people watching. Noticed some of the bad reviews mention that this isn't typical Tuscan cuisine. What do people want for 6 quid. We liked it!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar 500 also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Bar 500? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar 500, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.