We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Bar In Cortona!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar 500

Bar 500
44/46 Via Nazionale, Cortona, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 85 Restaurants in Cortona
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best Bar In Cortona!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have been visiting Cortona for the last few years and our favourite Bar is def Bar 500.
The food is great and always fresh and beautifully presented. Emma and Rob are excellent hosts and extend a warm welcome to all. It is a delight to dine at Bar 500. Nothing is too much trouble and Emma and Rob will alway take time to chat with their customers, which I think is really lovely. Cortona would not be the same without this Bar! You just need to read the reviews to see how well this business is run. Owners who really care about quality and service. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    58
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly staff & great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We found this little gem by pure chance. What a find. Interesting menu, not solely Italian but with an international flavour. We ate here several times for lunch and dinner during our Cortona stay and were treated like friends and made so very welcome. Our experience was one of relaxation with no hurrying glances by the lovely staff. Would highly recommend on a visit to beautiful Cortona.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great little sidewalk cafe in Cortona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I spent 10 days in Cortona, we ended up eating 3 meals at Bar 500. The food was great, the service excellent and the owners are present. We had delicious Brushetta.
Each piece of toast was piled high with the tomatoe basil mixture. We also shared a panini which was fresh, hot and tasty. Today we enjoyed a vegitarian pizza. We are not vegitarians, however it sounded so good we had to try. Fabulous , covered in sauteed peppers, egplant and squash with motzerella and tomatoe sauce. Whether you are looking for a light snack, lunch or dinner I highly recommend this restaraunt right in the heart of Cortona.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bar 500 Cortona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have travelled through most of Tuscany's wonderful hilltop towns over the years and eaten fantastic food. But we were all blown away by how marvellous Bar 500 Cortona is. Generous portions, very friendly helpful staff, great atmosphere. Our first stop in Cortona next time we visit. In a word, FANTASTICO!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best lunch experience in Cortona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have visited Cortona every year for the last three years for extended vacation weeks....and we found the food at BAR 500 to be fresh and tasty and clearly the best for casual dining in Cortona. An extra bonus was to meet the owners and experience their warmth and hospitality!
Truly a place we will visit often on our many trips to this area...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar 500 also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Bar 500? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar 500, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.