We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheers...in Italy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe La Saletta

Caffe La Saletta
via Nazionale, 26, Cortona, Italy
0575603366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 84 restaurants in Cortona
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cheers...in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Such a friendly and inviting spot to stop for a snack, coffee or just a drink. You can sit outside and people watch while you enjoy a nibble from their delicious kitchen. Chocolate cake and a variety of homemade cookies are my favorite desserts. You can't go wrong when you stop in La Saletta morning, noon or night!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

51% Recommend
    17
    15
    13
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A Bit of a Rush”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

On the positive side, the look of this restaurant is great inside. Modern, well decorated and looking smart, with clean toilets.

Sadly, the interior of the restaurant smelt like a smokers house, although no one was smoking during our visit.

When I was served my pasta main, my wife was expecting a large salad, but got a pasta dish too which she hadn't ordered. In the normal course of events we would have pointed this out but time was short for us so we just decided to suck it in and she ate her pasta, which by the way, was nice.

While we were both part way through our pasta dishes her next course came which was a large salad. Not a side salad but a full sized salad, which is what she ordered.

Then a full sized dish of roasted vegies arrived, when she had only ordered a side of vegies (to go with her salad).

And still while were we eating our pasta my next dish came which was a full sized salad.

So we ended up with 5 large plates at our table, making us feel a little rushed.

This was not a language issue. We conversed with the waitress successfully when we first ordered.

Nor were we there late in the afternoon. This was at 1 pm and there were plenty of locals before we arrived and after we left.

I don't want to sound like an unhappy tourist, nor do I post many negative reviews, but we wouldn't recommend this place nor would we return.

Our order mix ups were symptomatic of an attitude towards us I found a little unpleasant, but I have difficulty putting my finger on what it was. I don't expect us to be fawned over, but it was a cold wet, winters day and it wasn't like anyone was rushed off their feet. I would hope that we and our money would be welcome on days like this, but I didn't feel we were.

To finish as we started, on the positive side, the dishes were nice.




Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfect for a relaxed coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We wanted a coffee and croissant for breakfast on a cold, wet Monday morning and chose La Saletta simply because it was the closest cafe to the apartment we were staying in. What a good decision. The coffee was fine, the croissant was fine. What was really great was the relaxed atmosphere, the lovely classical music playing in the background and the feeling that they would happily let you sit there all day, drinking coffee and reading the free newspapers they provide.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Meet the locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were looking for a place for a light lunch and after viewing a few on offer chose Caffe La Saletta we were not disappointed. Service was relaxed you were not hassled into giving an order or to leave you table once finished. An overall enjoyable experience. Food was of good quality and moderately priced. Good atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Loved the wifi that this cafe offers with their great food, wine and coffee. I would definately recommend this cafe when your in Cortona.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe La Saletta also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Caffe La Saletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe La Saletta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.