We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional, one-of-a-kind experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alessandra Federici's Cucina Cooking School

Alessandra Federici's Cucina Cooking School
Via Casali 2-4, Cortona, Italy
+39 392 589 4734
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 activities in Cortona
Type: Classes/Workshops
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Cooking and experiencing an Italian home, chatting and making lifetime friends ofìver a plate of pasta. Laughing and discussing the worlds problems while indulging on a freshly made dessert, Italian life, Italian kitchen, hands on, heart on.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Exceptional, one-of-a-kind experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Alessandra's cooking class was absolutely wonderful. She's a great teacher, a joy to be around, and we ate delicious food. A cannot miss. She also gave us a cookbook of the foods we made during the class, which was a nice plus. Worth every cent!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    0
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cucina Con Il Cuore (Cuisine With Heart)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Honestly, a true highlight of our week in Tuscany! Alessandra met us at a cafe in Cortona and immediately embraced us into her family and her cuisine, expressed through authentic Tuscan recipes, using fresh food from the land. The recipes and techniques come straight from her mother's cooking heritage, adapted through her own brilliance. This is cuisine based on wasting nothing and turning simple, pure farm ingredients into tantalizing dishes. Alessandra took us through several food stores surrounding the piazza, buying up our ingredients for the day. Then it was a short ride to her home and her wonderful kitchen/family room in a tiny hamlet not far from Cortona. We then proceeded through a long, relaxed and entertaining day while Alessandra taught us the secrets of how to really prepare good, wholesome dishes from first-rate ingredients. The aromas of cooking food soon enveloped us! She also drew us into her family life as if we were long-lost relatives and everyone was thoroughly engaged in the food preparation. Her kindly neighbour, pictured in our photos, contributed first-rate wine made by his own hand. Rocco may need supplementary cooking lessons, however, as Alessandra confided that every class has "one of those" types! A complete, unforgettable experience. Bring a camera and an appetite! And our best regards to Barry and Rosalind, who joined us and became instant friends!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
1 review
“Fear & Loathing in Cortona (just joshing)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I/we had always wanted to take a Tuscan cooking class.Our dear friends just happen to own a B&B within sight of Cortona, il Ceriolo, owned by Bob & Harriet. Harriet knows Alessandra, and recommended her.This was one of my most memorable experiences of my 3 week Italian trip.We had coffee and discussed the menu, we went shopping at the town square and local farmer's market for all of the ingredients we would be using for our meal. Alessandra welcomes you into her home like you were family and she keeps you entertained to say the least, she is very funny. We loved her and the whole cooking experience was awesome! I will return!
XOXO

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Honeymoon - An unforgettable day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Alessandra is a hoot! The day spent with her is not just about cooking (which is amazing), but also about sitting back, relaxing, and learning about Italy from the perspective of a true Italian. For the best experience, be sure to come with an open mind and empty stomach. Alessandra will have you laughing, crying, and cooking up a storm in her lovely home. My wife and I will never forget this day!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You're not just getting cooking lessons - you're getting an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Spending the day with Alessandra was definitely the highlight of our trip! The day started out with Alessandra meeting us in the town square for cappucino and discussing the menu. Then we walked a short distance to get all of the fresh ingredients at the butcher, produce co-op (where we learned about olive oil processing as well), and bakery/deli. Then we were taken by a taxi van to Alessandra's charming home. She was so welcoming and we immediately felt like we were guests in the home of a very good friend. In a very casual, relaxed manner, we all participated in making the five-course meal. In excellent English, Alessandra not only taught us alot about Italian cooking, but alot about Italian culture as well. She is very genuine and has a big heart and a great sense of humor. This was proven when we were temporarily stranded at her place as our husbands got terribly lost on their way to join us later in the day to eat the meal that we had prepared. Alessandra graciously continued to entertain us and "stall" the meal until they finally arrived two hours late! She was the first to tease them about getting lost and kept everyone chuckling as we enjoyed the most delicious meal we had ever eaten!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alessandra Federici's Cucina Cooking School also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Alessandra Federici's Cucina Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alessandra Federici's Cucina Cooking School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alessandra Federici's Cucina Cooking School to your Saves list