We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst experience in Tuscany” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Canta Napoli

Canta Napoli
Loc. Le Piagge, 33/A, 52044 Cortona, Italy
057562996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 84 restaurants in Cortona
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The worst experience in Tuscany”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I ordered the pasta with scoglio and can only recommend you never order this. It was very bland and I noticed some other tables smothering it with salt and parmesan just to make it edible. I left there 40 euros later pretty much not touching my meal, which was very dissapointing, although my wife, who is italian, enjoyed her pizza. The waiter was rude and it was nasty to see him so very bad sweating. Were in a hurry to send us away.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    136
    38
    16
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very popular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you enjoy fish, you will love this restaurant. Very fresh food and very well prepared. Many families frequent this restaurant so come early!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bellmore, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best in Cortona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Went to several restaurants during our 1 week stay. Came here twice. My teenage daughters loved the pasta with clams and shrimp in light tomato sauce. Priced fair and made to feel welcome. Reservations needed but usually easy to get into before 8PM.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsmonden
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Restaurant was highly recommended. We arrived early and were the first guests. Very unfriendly waiter. Poor service overall. As the evening progressed it became clear that "regulars" were greeted as friends. We were there first time and more or less ignored.
Food was average to poor. We did not complain because we just wanted to leave.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“canta napoli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is one of the best restaurants near Cortona. Mario has made the eating experience a great one. The fresh seafood is truly the freshest. His Mussels from the south are to die for and the quantity and quality is superb.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canta Napoli also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Canta Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canta Napoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.