We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meat and cheese platter and fantastic wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Pane e Vino

Taverna Pane e Vino
Piazza Signorelli 27, 52044 Cortona, Italy
+39 0575 631010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 85 Restaurants in Cortona
Price range: $22 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Winery, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
453 reviews 453 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
338 helpful votes 338 helpful votes
“Great meat and cheese platter and fantastic wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We ate here for lunch when visiting Cortona for the day. We had read about the Taverna in our guide books and had liked the sound from the off. We were delighted with it when we got there for real. The ambience was lovely: really traditional and atmospheric. Our meat and cheese platter was excellent, with a good choice of tasty meats. We had a really nice wine by the half bottle to drink. Our total bill including bread and service came to €16 so it was quite reasonable indeed. We found the setting to be very romantic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    167
    49
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Okay, but not worth going back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We did not have a reservation, even though they had several tables open they couldn't get us in for an hour and they would not let us have a drink at the Lion's Well and wait out our hour??? weird. So we just went around the corner and had a drink to wait for our hour to be up because we had heard that this was a great place. Needless to say, after we ordered we did NOT get good service and the food was okay not great. But service was NOT good at all and the owner was there too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Quick Lunch With Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Arnaldo welcomed us in and made us feel extremely welcome. This place seems very popular with the locals and has a great atmosphere with the vaulted roofs.

Only a quick / light lunch we enjoyed meats and pasta with turnip leaves in oil. Great depths of flavour and ever inch authentic and traditional food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wine selection & good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We only ate a light lunch here, but we enjoyed sharing several glasses of different Tuscan wines from the impressive selection.
We particularly liked the rustic decor and the overall atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food and huge wine selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We ate here last night and were lucky enough to be there on the day Arnaldo & Debora had picked some wild asparagus which they made into a very special pasta.
Arnaldo's wine selection and experience is exceptional.
The beef fillet with truffle oil that was finely sliced and cooked to perfection finished off the night.
We had stayed in their B&B Locanda Pane e Vino as well, check out this place as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Pane e Vino also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Taverna Pane e Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Pane e Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.