We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Valenza B&B - great place to stay in Cortona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Valenza

Save Saved
You added Villa Valenza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Valenza
Viale Passerini, 170 | Loc. Parterre, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 39 Cortona B&B and Inns
Lincoln
1 review
“Villa Valenza B&B - great place to stay in Cortona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Villa Valenza is a great place to stay in Cortona – a little bit away from the town in a quiet beautiful location. We stayed for 8 nights in the apartment and enjoyed the hospitality of Alessandro. The apartment is spacious and clean, the breakfast is good, and the common areas inside outside are perfect for relaxing. The B&B has its own small pool but also offers free access to the town pool just a couple of minutes walk away. We would definitely recommend Villa Valenza to anyone visiting Cortona.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My sister and I stayed at Villa Valenza in Cortona with our 4 children - ages 4 - 13. We stayed in their 2 bedroom apartment complete with mini kitchen, stove/oven, microwave, cutlery, dishes, etc. Breakfast offered is wonderful. Fresh fruit with apricots picked from the backyard; pastries, yogurt, toast/jam, juices, cereal, tea & coffee. There is free Internet access in the breakfast room, which overlooks the breathtaking views of Cortona, which is also accessible from the comfortable sitting area. Our daughters enjoyed watching some of their great DVD's on television. The rooms are air conditioned, spacious and clean. The center of town is about a 20 minute walk down a shady parterre. On the way you pass a beautiful park with swings, etc. for kids. If you walk in the opposite direction away from the center you can see Bramasole, the famous restoration house from "Under the Tuscan Sun". It's only a 5-10 minute walk from Villa Valenza. There are bikes to ride on the premises and a swimming pool. One evening for dinner we made spaghetti and ate it outside where there are several picnic tables and chairs. Alessandro, our host, was very accomodating. He always greeted us every morning for breakfast and couldn't do enough. for us. I would definitely recommend Villa Valenza to anyone who is considering visiting Cortona. We also ate at Il Cacciatore, a restaurant owned by Villa Valenza. The food was delicious and freshly made at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: During the day and evening it it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I had the BEST time at the B&B of Villa Valenza in Cortona! It was my home away from home for 2 weeks in January, as I was travelling solo writing a book, and Alessandro was an amazing host. He was so incredibly kind, helpful and friendly, even though there was a slight language barrier, he was always smiling. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and cozy, and I loved the heating rack in the bathroom, which means warm towels after your shower, in case the water gets cold. :) The fireplace in the living room was such a wonderful treat, and I spent many nights curled up there using the Free Wifi. :) I felt so safe and comfortable in this peaceful oasis! Alessandro was so kind to drive me to and from the train station, and always helpful with anything I needed, including making sure there was fire in the fireplace, or offering me a cappuccino even at night. I LOVED his homemade croissants in the morning! YUM! It's a beautiful 15-20 minute walk into the town center, through the park. His family owns the restaurant in town, Il Cacciatore where you will have homemade, delicious Toscana cuisine. The pizzas and pastas are delicious, and everyone is very friendly and welcoming! I HIGHLY Recommend this Villa. You will not find nicer people anywhere. Alessandro is a true Italian gentleman! I miss Cortona already and my home away from home, Villa Valenza. As Alessandro says: "My home is your home." I hope to return again soon!! Tutto Grazie Mille Alessandro!

Room Tip: I loved my room which was room #5 in the Bed & Breakfast!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

After a week in Rome we travelled to Cortona for a friends wedding and had decided that we would try a self-catering Villa so we could cook up some of the local produce. Villa Valenza offers B&B rooms or a Self Catering option and so we paid extra for the self catering 'apartment'.

The room was very clean and air-conditioned but we found it old fashioned in terms of decor and furnishing. The kitchen lacked some of the basic facilities we'd expected - the small kitchen area had just a fridge, microwave and a small hot-plate, no oven or kettle and only a few plates and utensils. For this reason we ended up eating out for the 4 nights we stayed, and just used the kitchen to make our breakfast and some sandwiches. The Bathroom area was adequate but again we felt it needed modernisation. We felt, for what we had paid the accommodation provided was very over-priced.

The location of Villa Valenza was good for us, about a 15-20min walk into the centre of Cortona town with some breathtaking scenery along the way. Residents also benefit from free wi-fi and have free use of the Swimming Pool at the adjacent sports centre which made for a very nice relaxing day of sunbathing and swimming.

In Summary, I would recommend going for the B&B option if you decide to stay at Villa Valenza as the B&B rooms seemed nicer; however, with an update of the self-catering rooms in terms of decor and facilities this could be turned into a really lovely place to stay.

I also have to say that the host looked after us very well and despite the language barrier he was extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

I picked this Villa as the website looked good and it was close to Cortona

Location
If you do not have a car, you can walk into the centre of Cortona in 20 minutes. Driving is about the same time as you have to drive around the mountain. It was very quiet and so was very peaceful at night.

Apartment
We stayed in an Apartment and I wish we had not paid the extra money. The kitchen was a hot plate and microwave and so you couldn't really cook anything. The furniture was very old and the bed and breakfast rooms were much nicer. If I were you, save some money and go for the bed and breakfast rooms. Saying all that, the rooms were very clean when we arrived which is the most important thing.

Facilities
While the Villa does not have its own swimming pool, you have access to the local facilities which are 50m away. There is a lovely pool and a very reasonable snack bar.

Staff
The staff were very helpful but sign language came in very useful as they did not speak that much English.

Breakfast
As we were self catering we did not have this but it looked lovely.

We did have a lovely stay but I was just a bit peeved that I paid the extra money for self catering when I would have benefited more from bed and breakfast. Go for the bed and breakfast rooms as they looked lovely.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Valenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Valenza

Address: Viale Passerini, 170 | Loc. Parterre, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in charming green surroundings only a stone’s throw from the centre of Cortona Villa Valenza offers bed & breakfast service and tourist apartments with swimming-pool and restaurant. The villa is located in a quieter and less known part of Cortona, the "Parterre," a promenade leading from the historical centre to the hilltop, the fortress of Girifalco and the sanctuary of Santa Margherita. From the historical centre you will be able to get to Villa Valenza with a five minute stroll down the promenade of Parterre (closed off to traffic). The villa can also be reached by car driving to the top of the hill and taking a turn down to the sporting facilities in Torreone. You will get to the villa after driving down a winding cypress-lined road going around the western side of the hill. The villa was originally built in the mid 1900s and was recently converted to house a bed & breakfast (rooms with private bathroom) as well as holiday apartments for 2 to 4 guests. The building is spread over two floors and has private parking. The swimming-pool located next-door is open to the general public from May through to September and is part of a large sporting complex including also tennis courts (open both in the summer and in the winter) and a five-a-side court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Valenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Valenza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.