We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel with charm and class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda del Molino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Locanda del Molino to your Saves list
Locanda del Molino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Montanare di Cortona 10, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Cortona
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel with charm and class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and walked directly into our cooking class (offered at an additional price-make reservations!). In minutes the Chef, the Owner (Silvia) and her mother were teaching us the fine points of making a great Tuscan meal. The del Molino Hotel was quiet, clean, and genuine Italian country with a gently babbling brook outside our window (it was once a mill).
Breakfast was the usual, but tasty cold meal-with a bit of flair and great coffee. We met people from all over the planet that were as happy with Molino as we were.

Room Tip: There is a large suite available if you have a larger family
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    25
    4
    7
    0
See reviews for
12
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were fortunate enough to have the opportunity to have a cooking class, which was the most fun I have ever had, and a two night stay at Locanda del Molino. Cortona was the first stop on our ten day trip to Italy and it was everything I had hoped for and more. Beautiful, peaceful room with fresh Tuscan air blowing through the open bedroom window. Comfortable bed with crisp cool cotton sheets and a spacious bathroom. The food was fantastic, the people were wonderful, and the area was like a dream. I would highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We are just finishing a five night stay at this hotel and although slightly on the outskirts of Maranellonthis place is a little gem.

The staff seem to be all part of the same family and although English is a little broken it has given more reason for me to learn Italian.

Breakfast is served in a small room with a choice of two cereals, yoghurts, breads and cold meats and cheeses. If you don't want to eat inside you can go downstairs and eat outside.

The rooms (suites) are well appointed with comfortable beds.

Internet although free can be difficult to get in line if using an iPhone or iPad.

Overall we enjoyed our stay. Mucos gracis!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A traditional location with very friendly service, a good restaurant, good swimming pool, clean spacious tuscan style room. No complaints, home-made cakes for breakfast, own wines (not at same time) and location within 10 minutes drive of centre of Cortona or 40 minutes to Perugia. Price- quality a good match. Would recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Absolutely amazing. A cozy restaurant with an interesting menu. We had a full meal in this restaurant: starters, main ....wine...cheese .....everything was fantastic. And served with a smile.

Someone from the area recommended us this place. .... so .... another good sign I guess.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Fabulous experience and would do it again in a heartbeat. Richard guided us through some amazing recipes, all of which i have repeated since returning to Canada. The dinner that followed was wonderful as were all the selections of wine that they chose to accompany the meal.
I miss the all smells, tastes ... and hospitality. Was a fun night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livorno, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The B&B is country-style, but extremely well furnished. The ambiance is all you can ask to a luxury farmhouse. Rooms are clean and the swimming pool is very nice.
A special mention for the restaurant, where we had a great dinner and the quality of food is excellent. Consider that we live in Tuscany and we're quite hard to please with food!
Staff extremely friendly and helpful. The inn is slightly penalized by its position, right on the road, even if the road is not busy at all. But all other positive features fully balance this fact.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda del Molino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Molino

Address: Montanare di Cortona 10, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda del Molino 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once upon a time there was a very old mill...Today it is a charming Locanda with a special typical Tuscan Restaurant, completely renovated by Riccardo and Silvia Baracchi, owners too of “Relais & Châteaux Il Falconiere”. A heaven of tranquillity and elegance, in the middle of the Cortona countryside, a land famous for its culture, cuisine, and great wines.Locanda del Molino with its romantic rooms, is located in Montanare, on the upper Esse valley, and just few kilometres away from the Etruscan town of Cortona. The environment that surrounds Locanda del Molino is very interesting both for culture and for landscapes.There are eight guestrooms overlooking the creek, where every guest will experience the relax of sleeping while lulled by the sound of the waterfalls.Each room has been individually decorated and fully furnished by Silvia: it will feature either four poster beds or upholstered frames, antique or country style furniture, yet each room shows its authenticity of the almost lost flavours so characteristic of the Cortona countryside.“The style of cuisine that I would like to find in a restaurant like at locanda is for me simple and genuine, but never ordinary. Our Locanda offers mainly traditional Cortona’s cuisine and a shot from the past with almost forgotten dishes in the “Daily menu”. Guests can share with us the pleasure of rediscovering our local cuisine matched with great wines.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Locanda del Molino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Molino Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda del Molino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.