We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cooking lesson + dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda del Molino

Save Saved
You added Locanda del Molino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda del Molino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Montanare di Cortona 10, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Cortona
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cooking lesson + dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Fabulous experience and would do it again in a heartbeat. Richard guided us through some amazing recipes, all of which i have repeated since returning to Canada. The dinner that followed was wonderful as were all the selections of wine that they chose to accompany the meal.
I miss the all smells, tastes ... and hospitality. Was a fun night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    25
    4
    7
    0
See reviews for
12
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livorno, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The B&B is country-style, but extremely well furnished. The ambiance is all you can ask to a luxury farmhouse. Rooms are clean and the swimming pool is very nice.
A special mention for the restaurant, where we had a great dinner and the quality of food is excellent. Consider that we live in Tuscany and we're quite hard to please with food!
Staff extremely friendly and helpful. The inn is slightly penalized by its position, right on the road, even if the road is not busy at all. But all other positive features fully balance this fact.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I live part time in the U.S. but have a vacation home in Northern Italy. For weekends I like to to explore Tuscany and it's vast wine resources. This hotel/borgo is a wonderful setting. It is close to all major wine estates, a short beautiful drive to every town you would want to visit. The staff are quite helpful and will assist with planning day trips. It is an ideal place to relax by the pool overlooking the hills of Tuscany and just sipping a glass of wine at the end of the day. Warning, try to arrive during the day, the estate, though huge, is not easy to find at night as the signage is minimal. Unlike many hotel restaurants, do not miss this one, it is wonderful. You do not need to leave the property for a wonderful dinner.

less

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My Mother and I recently visited Cortona on a tour with Ambassadair. We did not stay at the hotel, but I will be back to do so. Our group of 15 had a cooking lesson with Chef Richard Titi and his assistant Sarafina at the IL Falcontere restaurant located in the hotel. I will say the experience was the highlight of our trip. We drank wine and made from scratch, mushroom and onion puff pastry, Pici with traditional duck sauce, veal medallions stuffed with black olives, home made pasta, and the most delicious Tiramisu that I have ever eaten. If you are ever in the Cortona area, you owe it to yourself to stay at the beautiful inn and learn to make a delicious Tuscan meal, all while enjoying the company of your friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

My husband and I with family members did not stay at Locanda del Molino, but we did eat at their restaurant and it was delicious. Started with zuchhini flowers stuffed with ricotta and basil, deelish, gnudi with pesto and osso bucco. My whole dinner was delicious and the rest of my family also gave rave reviews. Entree's included a pork and sausage spedini with a grape sauce, rabbit stew, papparadelle with wild boar sauce; all were divine. Would definately go back and much cheaper than la Buccacia in Cortona and just as good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Locanda del Molino for 5 nights in August after a recommendation from a friend. We are so glad we did as we had the best time! All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and it felt like staying with family. We were caught in a 45 degree heat wave and very much enjoyed the use of the pool. The hotel is in a great location to explore all the towns of Tuscany and Umbria. Make sure to eat at the restaurant as the food was incredible! We also spent the day at their sister hotel, Il Falconiere, using their beautiful pool and getting massages at the spa. It was heaven! Thank you to Stefano and all the amazing staff for making our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

My husband and I went to Italy for our honeymoon, and we had a few days in Tuscany. We stayed in the Locanda del Molino for 2 nights, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. It was by far our favorite place of the 4 places we stayed at during our trip. The food was also excellent and was some of the best food we had in all of Italy. The room we had was the end room (I think room 9), and it was absolutely beautiful, comfy, and romantic with a great bathroom and big tub. It was the best room we had in all of Italy. The only small complaint I would have is you could clearly hear cars as they drove by at night, but there were not that many, and it doesn't change how I feel about this place. They also had a great pool, but we did not have time to swim there. The location is also perfect if you are looking to go to Cortona because it was only about 10 minutes away. The location is also not far away from Rome (which is where we drove from). Unfortunately I didn't get the name of the really nice man who checked us in and served us our dinner, but he was extremely nice, helpful, and very attentive. If we ever go back to Tuscany, we would DEFINITELY go back to this place, and we would stay longer.

Room Tip: Room 9 was really romantic and had a great bathtub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda del Molino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Molino

Address: Montanare di Cortona 10, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda del Molino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once upon a time there was a very old mill...Today it is a charming Locanda with a special typical Tuscan Restaurant, completely renovated by Riccardo and Silvia Baracchi, owners too of “Relais & Châteaux Il Falconiere”. A heaven of tranquillity and elegance, in the middle of the Cortona countryside, a land famous for its culture, cuisine, and great wines.Locanda del Molino with its romantic rooms, is located in Montanare, on the upper Esse valley, and just few kilometres away from the Etruscan town of Cortona. The environment that surrounds Locanda del Molino is very interesting both for culture and for landscapes.There are eight guestrooms overlooking the creek, where every guest will experience the relax of sleeping while lulled by the sound of the waterfalls.Each room has been individually decorated and fully furnished by Silvia: it will feature either four poster beds or upholstered frames, antique or country style furniture, yet each room shows its authenticity of the almost lost flavours so characteristic of the Cortona countryside.“The style of cuisine that I would like to find in a restaurant like at locanda is for me simple and genuine, but never ordinary. Our Locanda offers mainly traditional Cortona’s cuisine and a shot from the past with almost forgotten dishes in the “Daily menu”. Guests can share with us the pleasure of rediscovering our local cuisine matched with great wines.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Locanda del Molino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Molino Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda del Molino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.