We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mucchia Casa Vacanza

Save Saved
You added La Mucchia Casa Vacanza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mucchia Casa Vacanza
Loc. Mucchia 26, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hawaii
1 review
“Gracious Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

The residence was lovely and well stocked with everything you could ask for on a vacation. The hosts even left a bottle of wine for us.
The location was perfect, out of town, quiet with a nice pool and a garden that we were encouraged to help ourselves to. I am a runner and was comfortable running on the roads around the house.
Our hosts gave us tips about restaurants, shopping and historical sights.
This was the best part of our Italian stay and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
65
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

La Mucchia was everything we had ever dreamed Tuscany could be - and more! It is a beautiful location, a perfectly restored building with all of the warmth that we dreamed Tuscany would offer. The accomodations were wonderful, immaculately clean - and the owners couldn't have been more accomodating. Imagine being given a lovely bottle of Italian wine - and being served fresh figs from the trees on the ground - doesn't get any better!! If you have the opportunity to visit Tuscany, don't miss staying at La Mucchia!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertzlia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Our first time in such surroundings. Always stayed at hotels at city centers. This time friends we are traveling with recommended "something different". We decided to give it a try and we are so happy about this decision. The rooms are spacious and tasteful decorated and we appreciated the quietness of the place. Lots of interesting places at a radius of 50-60 kms, we traveled everyday to a diferent place and the owners - Uri & Ze'ev - provided very useful tips. We ate breakfast in our rooms or outside, we were very lucky to have a wonderful weather at this time of the year, there is a adequate supermarket very near, so we ate also some of the meals in place when we were tired. Other evenings, the owners recommended very nice restaurants in the nearby surroundings, we ate the best pizza at Pizzeria il Vallone, and also a wonderful meal in Cortona. All said - we had a wonderful holiday, and we'll definitely recommended La Mucchia to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We stayed at La Mucchia Casa Vacanze for only 4 days but if we were able to stay longer, this would be the place to stay. We found that the owners were very forthcoming with any type of information that we required. La Mucchia was a perfect place to make day trips through the Tuscan countryside. We normally don't re-visit places we have already been to, but a exception would be made La Mucchia's case.. Try it!! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We spent a glorious week at La Mucchia and wanted to stay another week. We would love to return again! The apartments are lovely with such an attention to detail, it's remarkable. I recommend it any one wanting to stay in the Cortona area - it's the best.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed roughly 2 weeks at La Mucchia and had a fabulous time each and every day.
Only positive things to say about our stay and the friendly owners. The service was great, the location very well suited for sight seeing, and the site itself was well managed and maintained high quality through out.

How we already miss waking up to the backdrop of Cortona up on the hill, Paolo's Ravioli al funghi and the calm and serenity from the fantastically colored Tuscan sunsets in the evenings.

Thank you, La Mucchia, for a great vacation.
We'll be back - so see you soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

We arrived to La Mucchia suites for a week following a friend's reccomendation. THE PLACE WAS AMAZING. In addition to the spacious and comfortable suite, the stunning views, the relaxing pool and the beauty of Tuscany, We found that the charming owners who, although there pressent was hardly noticed, were always willing to assist in any matter under request. The house itself is an amazing resotred house with all the modern facilites, and gives a true sense of Tuscany.

To conclude, one of the best vacations we experienced!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Mucchia Casa Vacanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mucchia Casa Vacanza

Address: Loc. Mucchia 26, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 Specialty lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa La Mucchia is positioned near Cortona in the heart of Tuscany, the town that became famous after the book and the movie “Under the Tuscan sun” by Frances Mayes. The Tuscany authentic style vacation house, originally built in 1760 is placed at the foot of the town of Cortona, which is an excellent spot for short day trips, because of the short distance to most of the cities around, such as: Montepulciano, Assisi, Florence, Siena, Perugia, the Lake of Trasimeno and Castiglione del lago, Pienza (Unesco heritage town) and many others. Within less then hour drive you can reach most of them. The holidays farmhouse, which was converted to suites hotel, is currently divided into nine luxurious individual apartments, in authentic Tuscan style, bounded by lawns, gardens, olive grove and other seasonal crops. The property includes parking, a children's play ground, splendid swimming pool surrounded by nature and views, sun terraces with views of Cortona city of Art. Our Art gallery with back office is open each days for our guests, to support with tips, itineraries, maps, information, reservations, office needs ,The whole farmhouse is covered by fast satellite Wi.Fi, Sat. TV flat screen with hundreds of movies, DVD, air-conditions, all included in our prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your La Mucchia Casa Vacanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mucchia Casa Vacanza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.