We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absorb Tuscany from the stylish 18th century estate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Terre dei Cavalieri

Save Saved
You added Le Terre dei Cavalieri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Terre dei Cavalieri
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Santa Caterina 46, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Northbrook, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Absorb Tuscany from the stylish 18th century estate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This Agriturismo is the epitome of peacefulness and understated luxury. Our well appointed (AC, TV) room was adjacent to a central living area shared by three other rooms. The central living area was a living room, family room, and kitchen area all in one room. The decorating throughout the estate is very tastefully done. A beautiful breakfast was served either indoors or outdoors. Dinner, prepared by the owners, is served two or three times a week. The swimming pool was nice, but seemed to be solar heated-not real warm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
82
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

If like me you are searching for the Italian countryside villa experience, don't search anymore, just stay here! It is the most amazing place. The rooms are beautiful, spotlessly clean, very spacious with a wonderful shower! The common areas are so well decorated that I almost spent more time taking pictures of the villa than I did of Italy! You must eat in the restaurant during your stay. The family prepare the food and it is just wonderful! We ate outside and the atmosphere was exactly as I had imagined that a stay at and Italian villa might be. There is an enormous breakfast spread each morning, everything you could imagine and more! The pool is wonderful and although the villa was fully booked when we were there, it never felt crowded, actually for the most part, we felt like we had the place to ourselves. I cannot say enough about the family that runs Le Terre dei Cavallieri. They were wonderful, so helpful, so friendly and warm. On our last day we had to leave at 7am, the night before we left there was a bag with breakfast dropped to our room. And lastly, the location was perfect. We were less than 10 minutes from Cortona, there are so many little towns within a 30 minute drive and if you want to go a little further, the town of Assisi is only an hour away and well worth the trip! We we definitely return to Le Terre dei Cavallieri!!

Room Tip: From what I could see all the rooms were fantastic!!! Air con and shutters, made for a cool dark roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was a beautiful place to stay, surrounded by sunflower fields and vineyards, with a view of Cortona in the distance. The rooms were spacious and clean (with a great shower!), and the pool was terrific (it was August!). The owners were pleasant and friendly. Wonderful place, would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szolnok
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Le Terre dei Cavalieri is the best place we have ever been. The owners and staff are all very nice and friendly. We could not ask for anything that they could not deliver. They do everything that the guest feel completely comfortable.
Perhaps there is not a guest who does not return at least once! Needless to say that we definitely will!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are comfortable. The staff do everything to share the rooms on the best way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Amands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

This is the kind of resort that we would recommend without hesitation to even the most demanding traveller. The old and authentic country style building has been nicely renovated and is beautifully located in the middle of sun flower fields, overlooking the surrounding hills and the nearby city of Cortona. This is a great place if you're looking for a quiet and relaxing vacation.

The resort has spatious and comfortable rooms, all with the same authentic atmosphere, and everything is kept very clean.

The owners are genuinly friendly people, doing everything they can to make you feel welcome and at home, but not in an intrusive way, respecting everyone's privacy. Breakfast is served on the terras (if weather allows) and is very nice, with fresh and quality products and plenty of variation. We also had lunch on the terras one day, which was just great, and also the dinner we had one evening was very good and enjoyable.

Not much further to add, except that this is one of the few places we've been to, that we would book again for a future visit without any hesitation.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hard to find it, but once you do, you’re held captive by the peace and beauty of Le Terre die Cavalieri, set in a valley ten minutes from Cortona. This was our first Agriturismo* experience and we were goners from the minute we set foot on the property.

I have included photos so you can get an idea of the exquisitely restored buildings and grounds and the majestic fields surrounding them. Le Terre dei Cavalieri is a working farm that also produces its own olive oil, available for sale on the premises. Guests are housed in two buildings, a farmhouse and an 18th century building called a Leopoldina that once belonged to the Order of the Knights of Saint Stephen. This handsome building has the traditional arched stonework, thick walls, and tiled floors that are everywhere in Tuscany.

We stayed in one of the bedrooms located in La Leopoldina. The room was spacious, furnished with antiques in that lovely Tuscan style that manages to be both rustic and sophisticated at the same time. The view from our room, overlooking the long, cypress-lined approach to the inn, is wonderful at all hours of the day, but especially in early morning in summer, when the sun turns everything warm and golden.

Our room opened to a covered balcony, which was both good and bad. The good you can imagine. The bad occurs if there are heavy smokers who use the balcony as their personal smoking space. That horrible cigarette stench squeezes through the sill and seams of the 18th century door that separates the bedroom from the balcony. There are plenty of places to smoke on the property, if smoke you must. It would be better if the proprietors directed smokers to areas away from the bedrooms and dining areas. That is my only criticism of the place.

Breakfast and dinner by reservation are served (in warm weather) on a pretty covered terrace at the rear of the property, overlooking vineyards, fields and hills. The breakfast is fabulous, with local fresh fruit, frittata, cheeses, pastry that fills the air with its tempting fragrance, and all sorts of cured meats. Dinner is lovely... homestyle Tuscan cuisine, fresh and delicious.

As night falls, from the terrace you can see Cortona atop a neighboring hill, lit up like an ocean liner skimming the waves.

Le Terre dei Cavalieri combines traditional Tuscan style with modern conveniences. The bedrooms are air-conditioned, wifi works well, there are televisions, too. Our bathroom was large and the shower had great water flow.

All the staff we encountered were warm and helpful.

Except for the presence of smokers in areas next to our bedroom, our stay at Le Terre dei Cavalieri was absolutely perfect. It was one of our best travel experiences ever!



*Agriturismo is a practice in Italy in which the government subsidizes the use of farmhouses as resorts for visitors, as a way to preserve traditional rural buildings and to encourage a continuation of small scale farming. These farmhouse resorts can range from very homey and simple to quite luxurious.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Leopoldina, choose the suite away from the balcony and a bit separate from the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Le Terre de Cavalieri was one of the best places we stayed at during our three weeks in Italy, providing the perfect Tuscan experience. Housed in beautifully and sympathetically restored buildings, the rooms and communal areas are tastefully furnished with authentic Tuscan antiques. We had a Classic room and it was enormous, comfortable and spotless. The setting is unforgettable - a beautifully landscaped pool area looking out over the surrounding fields of wheat. A great place to come back to after a day exploring the surrounding areas.

What made the experience extra special was the family that runs it, who were always on hand to make sure we had everything we needed. Breakfast was excellent - a large spread of breads, cereal, yoghurt, cold meats, cheeses, cakes and slices. Dinner is very conveniently served on selected nights during the week, with family the present, taking orders and serving the food - which is fresh, local and outstanding value for money.

We would strongly recommend Le Terre de Cavalieri as a base for exploring Tuscany and Umbria, and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Terre dei Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Terre dei Cavalieri

Address: Santa Caterina 46, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Terre dei Cavalieri 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our estate consists of a Farmhouse and a Leopoldina built in the 18th century during the extensive reclamation of the Valdichiana by the Grand Dukes of Tuscan. In times past they belonged to the Order of the Knights of St. Stephen and Malta. The Order used to protect the ancient Grand Ducal Farm of Creti and S. Caterina.The restoration of these buildings required some years of works during which the old “cocciopesto” plaster was restablished, walls with the natural stuccoed pigments were painted and where the structure of the fireplaces wee left unchanged, vaults of the old stable were empty and strengthened, columns which define the countryside were stuccoed.Today we can offer you this unique place to enjoy an intense and unrepeatable experience, making you feel part of an environment where things have remained unchanged and the past seems to be brought back to life everyday in its charm and character.You will be able to dine in a kitchen that used to accommodate over thirty people at a time, sleep in the bedroom converted from the old cattle shed where farmers used to spend sleepless nights watching over their cows delivering their calves, sleep in the “tracantone” bed, sleep in the bedroom located in the Loggia or in the bedroom converted from the old dove-tower, a shelter where doves were bred by farmers. Fireplaces will tell you and remind you of stories that were told gathering around them in the cold winter nights.Walls are decorated with paintings and pictures that will explain you old piece of life and tradition. The best images you will be able to behold will come, as if by magic, from the windows opening onto stunning natural settings such as the dark mountains hanging over Cortona, the sweet and seamless country-side and the noble profile of Cortona.Unique observation, scenes and tastes of true peasant life, a restful and relaxing effect, wealth of details interpreting the sense of place.Looking forward to having you here to discover many more things that words can not describe we would like to make a wish: that knocking on our door you may call beauty by its name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Le Terre dei Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Terre Dei Cavalieri Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Terre dei Cavalieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.