We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Tuscan experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Terre dei Cavalieri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Terre dei Cavalieri to your Saves list
Le Terre dei Cavalieri
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Santa Caterina 46, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful Tuscan experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Le Terre de Cavalieri was one of the best places we stayed at during our three weeks in Italy, providing the perfect Tuscan experience. Housed in beautifully and sympathetically restored buildings, the rooms and communal areas are tastefully furnished with authentic Tuscan antiques. We had a Classic room and it was enormous, comfortable and spotless. The setting is unforgettable - a beautifully landscaped pool area looking out over the surrounding fields of wheat. A great place to come back to after a day exploring the surrounding areas.

What made the experience extra special was the family that runs it, who were always on hand to make sure we had everything we needed. Breakfast was excellent - a large spread of breads, cereal, yoghurt, cold meats, cheeses, cakes and slices. Dinner is very conveniently served on selected nights during the week, with family the present, taking orders and serving the food - which is fresh, local and outstanding value for money.

We would strongly recommend Le Terre de Cavalieri as a base for exploring Tuscany and Umbria, and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
85
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Le Terre dei Cavalieri is the most genuinely authentic Tuscan experience possible: gorgeous setting, warm hospitality, delicious food, and an ambiance that is unforgettable. Easily the best part of our vacation to Italy was our stay at this family run hotel, exquisitely decorated with unusual antiques and every detailed looked after by the gracious hosts. A warm sense of calm and quiet fun prevails....infinity pool, bikes to ride, and private shaded porches for writing, painting, and sipping wine. We enjoyed day trips to Cortona, the lake, and the surrounding cities. The home cooked meals in the evening were fantastic. This is the elegant Tuscany we all dream about.....being there convinces us it is true and we look forward to returning often.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland vic
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My sister and our husbands shared the wonderful 2 bedroom villa, we had a wonderful night here, with a very nice meal in the evening. We arrived late at around 8.30 p.m but still welcomed us to dinner. Breakfast was great sitting on the terrace, and a lovely pool area.
We enjoyed very much, and all wish to have stayed longer. Thankyou

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Our stay started with a warm welcome from Serena and ended with her delightful arrivederci. Everything in between was pure joy and contentment. The farmhouse was beautifully restored and our rooms were large and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. All around us was farmland but we were only 10 minutes from Cortona a really neat town. You won't be disappointed at Le Terre dei Cavalieri it was great. We would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was a wonderful find, we had came back to Cortona to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and it was a beautiful place to stay, so relaxing and the staff were so welcoming. Breakfast was varied and a lovely terrace looking out to the view of Cortona up on the hill. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable, we had a fantastic view, the sunsets were breathtaking. This place is excellent value for money with the breakfast included, well done Booking.com. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We just returned from a 12-day wedding/honeymoon trip in Italy. In case you don't want to read my ramblings (and I wouldn't blame you), let's just leave it at this: (1) this was the nicest place we stayed and the one at which we wished we had more time, and (2) the pictures here do not to it justice. Oh, I lied, here's (3): you should book this now before everyone finds out about this young agriturismo and you can't get rooms and/or the price goes up.

The place, originally a mid 1700s structure, has been completely revamped from the ground up. The renovation was perfect: everything is spotless, the grounds immaculate, all details paid careful attention. The result is a warm, comforting and quiet setting that puts you smack dab in the middle of the Tuscan countryside in a way that would make a painter blush. At night, if you go outside with a bottle of wine and just listen, you can hear the wind gently blowing through the nearby fields and trees, rushing from the tops of surrounding hills. Sounds like a cheeseball romance story, but it's something I remember vividly.

The meals are downright under-sold and over-delivered. The food is fantastic, the Tuesday homecooked dinner is NOT to be missed (if you can get the truffle gnocchi, do it -- don't even think for a second of NOT doing it, trust me, or I will be very angry at you here on the Interwebs), and they'll even do a light lunch for you if you ask them. No, they don't have a nightly meal offering (except on Tuesday), but don't be daunted: Cortona is a 12 minute drive away and offers some downright AMAZING trattorias and ristorantes at reasonable prices.

The innkeepers -- Marco, Paolo and Eugenia -- are world-class human beings. While Paolo and Eugenia are learning English daily (and doing a great job, I might add), Marco is quite fluent in English and we had no problem asking him myriad questions. They're insanely nice people, obviously running an agriturismo for the love of it, and it shows. You won't find nicer innkeepers.

So yeah, I'm gushing, but let me put it this way: we had the most awesome trip to Italy we could have ever imagined. Thinking back, I recall our time at Le Terre dei Cavalieri the most -- it's what my brain flashes to when I think of our time in Tuscany. It's that good.

It's truly the best of the best. Get while the gettin's good, though: eventually, this place won't be a secret anymore.

Room Tip: The La Loggia room has access to a commons balcony AND a kitchen. Try to get it if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I have never been to a place with such features before, and the blend of a well-equipped hotel with a farm environment is a charming proposition. The hosts were impecable and the surroundings both within the farm and the adjourning city of Cortonna , made an unquestionable excelent proposition for a very pleasant Tuscany entry. Wine , good food, and comfort. What else does one need ? I can not name any detail that need to be mentioned as to give a more than enthusiastic vote of approval for people of different extraction.
In the summer , you have yet the pool to linger on and the sunflower fields to stroll around
Norberto

Room Tip: All rooms are equally suitable and share a very good sight
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Terre dei Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Terre dei Cavalieri

Address: Santa Caterina 46, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Terre dei Cavalieri 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our estate consists of a Farmhouse and a Leopoldina built in the 18th century during the extensive reclamation of the Valdichiana by the Grand Dukes of Tuscan. In times past they belonged to the Order of the Knights of St. Stephen and Malta. The Order used to protect the ancient Grand Ducal Farm of Creti and S. Caterina.The restoration of these buildings required some years of works during which the old “cocciopesto” plaster was restablished, walls with the natural stuccoed pigments were painted and where the structure of the fireplaces wee left unchanged, vaults of the old stable were empty and strengthened, columns which define the countryside were stuccoed.Today we can offer you this unique place to enjoy an intense and unrepeatable experience, making you feel part of an environment where things have remained unchanged and the past seems to be brought back to life everyday in its charm and character.You will be able to dine in a kitchen that used to accommodate over thirty people at a time, sleep in the bedroom converted from the old cattle shed where farmers used to spend sleepless nights watching over their cows delivering their calves, sleep in the “tracantone” bed, sleep in the bedroom located in the Loggia or in the bedroom converted from the old dove-tower, a shelter where doves were bred by farmers. Fireplaces will tell you and remind you of stories that were told gathering around them in the cold winter nights.Walls are decorated with paintings and pictures that will explain you old piece of life and tradition. The best images you will be able to behold will come, as if by magic, from the windows opening onto stunning natural settings such as the dark mountains hanging over Cortona, the sweet and seamless country-side and the noble profile of Cortona.Unique observation, scenes and tastes of true peasant life, a restful and relaxing effect, wealth of details interpreting the sense of place.Looking forward to having you here to discover many more things that words can not describe we would like to make a wish: that knocking on our door you may call beauty by its name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Terre dei Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Terre Dei Cavalieri Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Terre dei Cavalieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.