We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and Tasty Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria La Grotta

Trattoria La Grotta
Piazza Baldelli 3, 52044 Cortona, Italy
+39 0575 630271
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 85 Restaurants in Cortona
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Simple and Tasty Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We ate at this restaurant on our first night in Cortona and it set the bar pretty high. The food is unpretentious, rustic and very tasty. A previous review mentioned that the family atmosphere does not detract from the romantic vibe and I would agree. We had the bruschetta with tomatoes and garlic (who knew tomatoes could be so yummy and fresh), spinach gnocchi and pork chop cooked in a balsamic reduction. All very delicious. And to top it off, the wine list was extensive but inexpensive.
We would definitely recommend this trattoria.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    136
    41
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Charming trattoria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We've been to Cortona three times over the last eight years and each time we've dined here several times. Consistent quality and value. Typical Tuscan menu - simple tasty food made with fresh local produce and oils. Decent wine list including quality wines in half bottles. Friendly service, and they have no problem with sharing plates. Had very tasty noodle pasta with wild boar sauce this time. We have recommended this place to others who have not been disappointed. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“One of Favs in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We returned for lunch yesterday on the way to the (ridiculously expensive Val di Chiana Outlet Village):
Woman had the cheese/spinach gnocchi with truffle sauce and a nice arugula salad. I had the Chiana beef ravioli with truffle sauce and an eggplant in light red sauce side.
The house white wine at Euro 7 a liter was very impressive.
Provecho!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really good food, and excellent inexpensive wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We've had lunch in the courtyard here in summer and dinner indoors in cooler weather, and have found this to be among the best values in Cortona. They choose their wines very carefully, and we've discovered some new favorites here without spending much money. The food is quite good -- simple, honest, tasty, and fresh -- and the family atmosphere doesn't detract from the romantic ambiance. This is a lovely place that deserves more attention -- and though it's lust steps from Cortona's ancient town hall, it's easy to miss in its little alcove off the piazza. If you're picking up the tab for a group, this is definitely your place in Cortona.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coral springs florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is the best. The risotto, the sauce, the gnocchi, all excellent. We had lunch and wish we could have come back for dinner. You can see that the locals come here as we saw a table where as each man came in and sat down, the waiter brought their food, as everyone had a standing order. The is the place where you want to go for some good authentic Tuscan food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria La Grotta also viewed

 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Trattoria La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria La Grotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.