We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wine, but average dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria La Grotta

Trattoria La Grotta
Piazza Baldelli 3, 52044 Cortona, Italy
+39 0575 630271
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 86 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Good wine, but average dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My wife and I were referred to La Grotta for dinner by our driver, Filippo Martinelli (www.lacarreccia.it). It's located next to the Piazza Cortona and we really enjoyed the outdoor courtyard seating. We enjoyed a bottle of the local Chianti (see pic) and the Insalta Caprese (Tomato and Mozarrello), but the Tortollini pasta was not that great.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    151
    43
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed a week in Cortona and visited this restaurant twice. While most of the seating is inside, you are not really missing much as the outside is simply a courtyard. The owner/head waiter could not be nicer and more helpful. The food is excellent and the prices cannot be beaten. When we arrived, the lady that owned the house we were staying in recommended this restaurant and she was spot on!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosh Pina, Israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Average +”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The food was ok however the tomato sauce of the gnocchi was not fresh and the t-bone was not aging. After reading so many recommendation we had very high expectations unfortunaly the meal didn't cam close to them

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A fine dinner out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Very comfortable restaurant, excellent service and very good food.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“oh my god!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

So good..Oh my god... ummm.. yummm..Ummmmmmmmm
Thats all I said throught the entire dinner.
Looking back, we should have eaten here every night..
I remember spinich ricotta meatballs over pasta that melted in my mouth in the most charming setting, with a great glass of wine and I and I wish I was back there right now!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria La Grotta also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Trattoria La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria La Grotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.