We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to Cortona and stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Chilenne B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cortona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Chilenne B&B
Save
You added Casa Chilenne B&B to your Saves list
Via Nazionale, 65, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 41 Cortona B&B and Inns
louisville, ky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Go to Cortona and stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a terrific place to stay! Jeanette & Luciano welcomed us into their beautiful B&B like we were old friends. Best breakfast EVER! Best shower EVER! Room was perfect, Jeanette is an amazing cook and information guide and the location is ideal. We truly loved Cortona and we loved this little gem of a B&B, too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
112
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

After weeks of searching, we found Casa Chilenne only by happenstance ... and we couldn't believe our luck. Everything about this B&B was perfect. Located on the main street in the lovely and quaint town of Cortona, Casa Chilenne was easy to find and close to everything. The rooms were glorious - a wonderful blend of old charm and modern convenience - and the top terrace was out of this world. We spent many hours relaxing as the Tuscan sun went down. At Casa Chilenne, we had everything we needed and more. Jeanette is truly the hostess with the mostest. She is an amazing cook, informative tour guide and so incredibly helpful. She gave us so many suggestions of what to do to get the most out of our visit to Tuscany - and never hesitated to help us make us with our itinerary. The fact that she speaks both English and Italian was an incredible asset - she acted as our intermediary on more than one occasion. And yes, Daisy and Carlotta are too cute. We loved this B&B and we loved Cortona. Hopefully, we will be able to return again some day - and have the pleasure of staying at Casa Chilenne again.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Casa Chilenne was a delightful place. It's located in the historic center of town, just a short walk from the town square, but peaceful and quiet (as long as you enjoy church bells like we do - they don't ring at night). The B&B is beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. Everything here is first rate quality and it shows. We spent a little extra to get the top floor El Nido which came with a balcony and sitting area (well worth it). The innkeeper Jeanette speaks English and was very accommodating; always offering us something to eat and drink, and offered great advice on what to see and do based on what we said we were looking for. You can have the basic Italian breakfast if you choose, but we were delighted to partake in the full fresh-cooked breakfasts that Jeanette offered every morning at no extra charge. These were more like you might experience in a good American style B&B, and included fresh baked pastries and cakes on the side. These were easily the best breakfasts we had during our two weeks in Italy. In short, if we are lucky enough to return to Cortona we would gladly return to Casa Chilene! Thanks Jeanette!

A few bits of advice for travelling to this part of Italy: Leave the big suitcases at home. Think small and light. Do not expect to ever park within sight of your hotel in Italy. Bring an up to date international GPS to assist in navigating and trust it. Carry your own toilet paper and handywipes while out and about touring (trust me on this).

Room Tip: El Nido was perfect in every way
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Staying at Casa Chilenne wasn’t like staying at a B&B at all; it was like staying at a good friend’s home who happen to live in the beautiful town of Cortona! Jeanette and Luciano are such gracious hosts and Jeanette is an excellent cook. The breakfast was amazing, especially her homemade scones. She gave us really good tips about the restaurants, the town, and Italy itself. I would say one of the best meals we had on our whole two week trip around Italy was the place she recommended. The location is also unmatched. It’s right on the main street and we were treated to an archery competition parade on our first day. The deck upstairs is really nice to have a bottle of wine, relax, and take in the sights and sounds of this cute town. We stayed in the Nido room and if we could, I’d make my bathroom look like this; it was spacious yet functional unlike a lot of the other places we stayed at in Italy. The stairs were a good workout since we were constantly eating. Her toy poodles were really fun to play with and made us miss our own pooch back home. We really enjoyed Cortona, but Jeanette made it even better. If you’re going to stay in this cute town, make sure to stay at Casa Chilenne!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This B&B has it all - great location 200 yards from the central piazza, beautifully-appointed rooms with en suites, a sublime roof terrace, and the perfect hosts in the persons of Jeanette and Luciano.

We planned a three night tour around our favourite Tuscan towns before meeting up with the crowd for a week in a villa. Cortona had always been a favourite of ours, so we looked for a suitable B&B.

Casa Chilenne was top-rated, so that's where we started, and everything from then on confirmed they were the right choice.

We knew our luck was in when we got the last parking spot in Piazza Garibaldi a mere 50 yards from Casa Chllenne. Luciano helped us with the luggage and we then appreciated why they've installed stair-lifts on the two stage of the steep staircase up from the street - it wafts the luggage upwards as easily as it does the infirm or tired guest.

Rooms were beyond our expectations - spacious, cool and beautifully-appointed, and the roof terrace was a delightful surprise - just far enough the Via Nationale to muffle the street noise, and high enough to give great views over Cortona and catch some breezes.

Jeannette enquired about our dinner preferences, and then not only got us a table in a magnificent restaurant, but also had a personal word with the chef to ensure we got want we wanted.

This kind of meticulous attention to detail is what sets Casa Chilenne apart, and was evident again in the morning when we were plied with specially-baked treats for breakfast(a distinct contrast with the token voucher we'd been offered in Arezzo the day before).

In summary, you're probably going to Cortona because you've been there before, and you want a comfortable, well-run B&B close to the centre - look no further than Casa Chilenne.

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is an unbelivable terrific location. You enter the door and see a small, narrow staircase with a small elevator and belive to be sure: this is not what I expected. But...: you enter the rooms (we stayed in two of them and loved them both) and feel like a ancient traveller in the early 17th century. But you have at the same time any kind of luxury of nowadays, a nice bathroom and modern equipment. But not enough with this comfortable environment, your guestkeeper Jeannette is reading every wish from your eyes and the staff is friendly and courteous. the fantastic breakfast including self made cakes (hmmmmmmm Lemoncake, Applepie...) and any style of eggs makes the whole thing an tremendous stay. Lucky who gets a room here! A must!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I love the restaurants and the Enoteca Molesini in Cortona, so when we were planning our latest trip to Tuscany, we decided to choose Cortona as our base. After reading all of the reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to stay at Casa Chilenne. The B & B and its hostess Jeanette lived up to all of the rave reviews. It was great to stay in the center of town. The room at the top of the building sounds nice, but we were perfectly happy to stay on a lower floor (less stairs!) There are chair lifts that come in very handy for the luggage even if you don't use them for yourselves. We stayed in the room directly on top of the breakfast room. It was nice and spacious. The mini-refrigerator, WiFi, and air-conditioning were all good. Breakfast was wonderful with Jeanette making delicious baked goods daily and eggs and waffles to order. I discovered that I love merigues with chocolate. Tip: If you bring Teenie Greenies for Carlotta and Daisy they will love you for your entire stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Chilenne B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Chilenne B&B

Address: Via Nazionale, 65, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Chilenne B&B is located in a newly restored historic building. We offer 5 rooms with private bath, air conditioning, mini bar, Satellite TV, safes, telephone , hair dryers, free WiFi and LAN cable connection to ADSL internet service. Buffet Breakfast is served daily in our private onsite breakfast room- maid service is provided daily. Our rooms are located on 3 floors and we have fit our stairs with 4 chairlifts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Chilenne Bed And Breakfast
Casa Chilenne Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Chilenne B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.