We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every plate is a party!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bucaccia

La Bucaccia
Via Ghibellina , 17, 52044 Cortona, Italy
+39 0575 606039
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 85 Restaurants in Cortona
Price range: $21 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Hoevelaken, The Netherlands
1 review
“Every plate is a party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Without any doubt one of the best restaurants we have been eating. The tastes are amazing! It's not only the quality of the ingredients, but also the passion, love and enthousiasme going into it. Unsurpassed and a recommendation for anyone visiting Cortona of any place within one hours drive from it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,741
    422
    89
    39
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Go to Cortona for La Bucaccia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Absolutely wonderful meal. My son age 7, a picky eater, whispered to me during the meal that he thinks that this is "the best restaurant in the world". My wife, daughter and I believe that it is certainly one of them. The homemade salami was amazing, the pastas out of this world, the meat was wonderful and the desserts (prepared table-side) where a great show and delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

As always trip advisor doesn't let you down. We spent our wedding anniversary here and it was perfect. Such a lovely and lively atmosphere. Food top quality. You must order the meringue desert and see what happens when the owner brings it over and constructs it at your table - it's an experience!!!
All In all great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swidnica, Poland
1 review
“La Bucaccia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were enchanted and delighted with food, atmosphere and service in this place. The owners contribute a lot to our good time with their engagement, interest and friendly approach to clients. You will find there the essence of the Italian cuisine and the extreme joy of a well served dish and drink. Excellent food, excellent wine. We would be happy to return some day.
Iga, Anna, Robert

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to eat here without a reservation at 9.30pm but we only just managed to be squeezed in.

The food was delicious and the prices very reasonable. My husband had chingale pappardelle followed by wild piglet in apples and prunes and I had pasta with the most delicious tomato based sauce followed by sliced pork. We had a bottle of water and a half bottle of red wine and the bill came to 70 euros.

The owner is full of life and very hospitable, so try to eat here if you can.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bucaccia also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to La Bucaccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bucaccia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.