We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Must Eat Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bucaccia

La Bucaccia
Via Ghibellina , 17, 52044 Cortona, Italy
+39 0575 606039
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 90 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You Must Eat Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you like big flavours and an even bigger personality from the staff then you need to eat here. The food is outstanding with a huge choice. In the end we went for the set menu as we couldn't decide and wow we couldn't have asked for anything more. This food is excellent and we have eaten a lot in the region. If you know your going to be in town then book in advance, you'll unlikely get in without a reservation with such good food its not hard to see why.

The owners are larger than life and even with limited English they make you feel very welcome and manage to share a few jokes with you.

You won't be disappointed if you visit here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,930
    488
    118
    43
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, On
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We came here based on all the favourable reviews.

Every single portion of this meal was outstanding

The 2 owners are so pleasant, and work hard to make this an unforgettable dining experience.

Starting with the cheese and salami appetizers (brought as you sit down), until that final taste of dessert, this was totally something we will remember.

Must do restaurant in Cortona

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“second time: even better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Yesterday was our second visit to La Bucaccia after 4 years. We came all the way from Istanbul and drove all the way to Cortona just for this lunch. We found the cuisine far more advanced than our first time, the atmosphere created by the owners much more enjoyable and entertaining. We even had a nostalgic and touching moment with them because of a most improbable coincidence...
Try to make time to go there to get to know an interesting couple devoted to creating some sophisticated tastes and producing extraordinarily tasty cheeses. I could write more but surprise yourselves by just going there.
It certainly is not cheap but it is reasonable. Especially price/quality ratio is very good. But then you can always go to a pizzeria to have a cheap meal.
Bige and Fazli Kesmir

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We visited La Bucaccia earlier this month, and had the best meal of many great ones to date. Romano, Agostina and Alessandra do an absolutely superb job of service, but it is the food that makes it one of the top two restaurants in Cortona. Go prepared to spend some time, enjoy the joyous interaction between the staff and the clientele, and go very hungry. The wine list is superb - let Romano choose one for you if you're not sure!

A little bit of a downside - they pack people in tight, so it can get a little noisy. If you're looking for a quiet romantic dinner, this will be romantic, but probably not quiet! The food, however, will be amazing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good (but expected more due to its reputation).”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very good menu and choices. Friendly staff serving in a professional and friendly manner.
Nice ambiance, but ....
several of the dishes proved very salty !!!
Certainly a class above a restaurant for tourists.

It might deserve its reputation, but I expected more due to this...
Slightly disappointing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bucaccia also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to La Bucaccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bucaccia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.