We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Centre of the City of Pienza

Historic Centre of the City of Pienza
near Montepulciano, Italy
Improve this listing
Visit Historic Centre of the City of Pienza like an insider
$150*
and up
Ranked #94 of 2,461 things to do in Tuscany
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Tiny Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you are used to the larger towns there is a hidden secret here. Everything stone you would want in a tiny gem of a town. So not go away without getting some of the delicious Pecorino. Churches, Shops, restaurants, overviews of beautiful landscapes and many wonderful streets to wander down and look up to see wonderful, wonderful picture perfect sights. So close to Montepulciano with more to visit and see. Don't miss a stop to visit this wonderful location in Tuscany South of Siena.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    51
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Preserved Culture in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

What strikes you in Tuscany is the similarity of town structures across the region. Even over 1000 years back, there must have been a Civic Authority which would have planned and kept the towns standardized in some manner. One gets amazed at the way people have preserved the history and culture in tuscany. People are still living in those houses about 1000 years back and have preserved wine making, cheese production, leather arts and olive oil production for centuries. A walk through the historic centre just pulls you back in History and you visualise the life of tuscans with a sense of romanticism.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The Pope Slept Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Pienza is one of Tuscany's Renaissance treasures. Located in the breathtakingly beautiful Val d'Orcia (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Pienza overlooks Monte Amita, the highest mountain in Tuscany with volcanic origins that go back millions of years. Orginally named Corsignano, Pienza was reconstructed and renamed under the Piccolomini Pope Pius II who sought to transform his birthplace into the "ideal" Renaissance city (Italy's 15th century version of Renovation Nation).

It is a wonderful city to visit for the stunning location and causal combination of old and new, Pienza is one of my favorite towns. I spent an afternoon there visting the Piccolomini Palace (Palazzo Piccolomini). The elegant open courtyard, the halls of period furniture and memorabilia and the gardens that overlook the valley below were well worth the cost of admission. Il biglietto d'ingresso interno was 7EU and for that price I got to see where the Pope slept!

Pienza is also know for some of the best pecorino in Italy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The only renaissance town...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have visited this pearl many,many times, and I will return: Pienza, south of Siena in Tuscany, is a small village, but has everything an Italian village should have: History, romantic streets, art, small shops, enotecas, good restaurants.... and a fantastic view over the Val d'Orcia. Both Pienza and Val d'Orcia are on the UNESCO's World Heritage List. Pienza is very small, so you can reach everything without getting tired.
Pope Pio II (Aeneas Silvio Piccolomini) decided to reorganize this village,called Corsignano, in which he had grown up, and engaged the architect Rosselino to construct a town built after the ideal principles of the renaissance. This was in 1449, 9 years before the pope was elected. Today you can visit Palazzo Piccolomini, the Duomo, and other historic buildings. But walking slowly in the narrow streets, where every buildings have flowers outside, and the names of the streets are so romantic and special, is probably the best for me. And buy some of the famous Pienza peccorino cheese, local salumi, wines from the area,- the brunellos, the vino nobiles, the chianti classicos...and just enjoy a nice meal at one of the restaurants, it is the good life!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuid Scharwoude
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Pienza: diamond in the Val d'Orcia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Once we ''discovered'' Pienza more than 10 years ago we were lost. We were overwhelmed by the charm of this tiny little town in the centre of the marvellous Val d'Orcia. The town once was built by pope Piccolomino, under the condition that nothing would be changed ever. Which they respected, as a result of which we are blessed with this magnificent place. For us no discovery trips to Africa or China, no Disney World, no cruises around the world. We stick to Pienza. It feels more like living there than like holiday, and that is exectly what we desire. So we stay 6, 8, 10 weeks per year in Pienza and we love it. The little shops, artists, ristorante, bars, the narrow streets, the views, the people, the old buildings; it's great to stay here. Don't spread the news though: it's full!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Centre of the City of Pienza also viewed

San Quirico d'Orcia, Province of Siena
 
Pienza, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Historic Centre of the City of Pienza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Centre of the City of Pienza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.