We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pope Slept Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Centre of the City of Pienza

Historic Centre of the City of Pienza
near Montepulciano, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 1,347 attractions in Tuscany
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Crown Point, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Pope Slept Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Pienza is one of Tuscany's Renaissance treasures. Located in the breathtakingly beautiful Val d'Orcia (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Pienza overlooks Monte Amita, the highest mountain in Tuscany with volcanic origins that go back millions of years. Orginally named Corsignano, Pienza was reconstructed and renamed under the Piccolomini Pope Pius II who sought to transform his birthplace into the "ideal" Renaissance city (Italy's 15th century version of Renovation Nation).

It is a wonderful city to visit for the stunning location and causal combination of old and new, Pienza is one of my favorite towns. I spent an afternoon there visting the Piccolomini Palace (Palazzo Piccolomini). The elegant open courtyard, the halls of period furniture and memorabilia and the gardens that overlook the valley below were well worth the cost of admission. Il biglietto d'ingresso interno was 7EU and for that price I got to see where the Pope slept!

Pienza is also know for some of the best pecorino in Italy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    33
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The only renaissance town...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have visited this pearl many,many times, and I will return: Pienza, south of Siena in Tuscany, is a small village, but has everything an Italian village should have: History, romantic streets, art, small shops, enotecas, good restaurants.... and a fantastic view over the Val d'Orcia. Both Pienza and Val d'Orcia are on the UNESCO's World Heritage List. Pienza is very small, so you can reach everything without getting tired.
Pope Pio II (Aeneas Silvio Piccolomini) decided to reorganize this village,called Corsignano, in which he had grown up, and engaged the architect Rosselino to construct a town built after the ideal principles of the renaissance. This was in 1449, 9 years before the pope was elected. Today you can visit Palazzo Piccolomini, the Duomo, and other historic buildings. But walking slowly in the narrow streets, where every buildings have flowers outside, and the names of the streets are so romantic and special, is probably the best for me. And buy some of the famous Pienza peccorino cheese, local salumi, wines from the area,- the brunellos, the vino nobiles, the chianti classicos...and just enjoy a nice meal at one of the restaurants, it is the good life!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuid Scharwoude
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Pienza: diamond in the Val d'Orcia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Once we ''discovered'' Pienza more than 10 years ago we were lost. We were overwhelmed by the charm of this tiny little town in the centre of the marvellous Val d'Orcia. The town once was built by pope Piccolomino, under the condition that nothing would be changed ever. Which they respected, as a result of which we are blessed with this magnificent place. For us no discovery trips to Africa or China, no Disney World, no cruises around the world. We stick to Pienza. It feels more like living there than like holiday, and that is exectly what we desire. So we stay 6, 8, 10 weeks per year in Pienza and we love it. The little shops, artists, ristorante, bars, the narrow streets, the views, the people, the old buildings; it's great to stay here. Don't spread the news though: it's full!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This little town is so charming, even thought there is not so much to do there, I'd love to spend a day there. The shops add to the experience, the cheese is fantastic and the views are amazing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piegaro, Italy
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Bellina! A beautiful little jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I prefer this little Renaissance jewel above all the other hill towns in the Val d'Orcia and there are many. Pope Pius II, of the powerful Piccolomini family had the dream to turn his home town into a perfect city with funds from the Vatican. I'm glad they stopped building when they did and the result is not a city spreading across the Tuscan hills, but a perfect little jewel. Stand in the main Piazza Pio and admire the perfect symmetry of the Duomo, the Palazzo Piccolomini and the Town Hall. Be sure to walk along the ramparts for the amazing views over the Val d'Orcia and to see the large crack in the Duomo; visit it before it slides downhill, for no one can figure out how to shore it up. I have been here often, but visited the Palazzo Piccolomini for the first time with a friend and took the necessary tour with audio guide. Well worth the price of 7 Euro, walking from room to room with complete description of what amounted to the history of this illustrious family who had two Popes. Wander the small streets and sample the famous Pecorino cheese which wafts out of the little shops. Several outstanding restaurants with the local fare of pici pasta, ribolitta soup, and heavenly crespelle. Even the house red wine is sublime. I prefer this town over the famous Montepulciano by far. It has a special place in my heart in any season! Luckily I live just an hour away and I'll be back in the spring to see the little flower pots stuffed with blooms.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Centre of the City of Pienza also viewed

Torrita di Siena, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Pienza, Province of Siena
Tuscany, Italy
 

Been to Historic Centre of the City of Pienza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Centre of the City of Pienza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Historic Centre of the City of Pienza to your Saves list