We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Charming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Centre of the City of Pienza

Historic Centre of the City of Pienza
near Montepulciano, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 1,376 Attractions in Tuscany
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This little town is so charming, even thought there is not so much to do there, I'd love to spend a day there. The shops add to the experience, the cheese is fantastic and the views are amazing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    37
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Piegaro, Italy
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Bellina! A beautiful little jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I prefer this little Renaissance jewel above all the other hill towns in the Val d'Orcia and there are many. Pope Pius II, of the powerful Piccolomini family had the dream to turn his home town into a perfect city with funds from the Vatican. I'm glad they stopped building when they did and the result is not a city spreading across the Tuscan hills, but a perfect little jewel. Stand in the main Piazza Pio and admire the perfect symmetry of the Duomo, the Palazzo Piccolomini and the Town Hall. Be sure to walk along the ramparts for the amazing views over the Val d'Orcia and to see the large crack in the Duomo; visit it before it slides downhill, for no one can figure out how to shore it up. I have been here often, but visited the Palazzo Piccolomini for the first time with a friend and took the necessary tour with audio guide. Well worth the price of 7 Euro, walking from room to room with complete description of what amounted to the history of this illustrious family who had two Popes. Wander the small streets and sample the famous Pecorino cheese which wafts out of the little shops. Several outstanding restaurants with the local fare of pici pasta, ribolitta soup, and heavenly crespelle. Even the house red wine is sublime. I prefer this town over the famous Montepulciano by far. It has a special place in my heart in any season! Luckily I live just an hour away and I'll be back in the spring to see the little flower pots stuffed with blooms.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

A must-visit for anyone visiting Tuscany. The little town oozes character and charm. We decided to return to Pienza for dinner after having stopped there briefly earlier in the day. No one should miss this - especially as it's so close to Montepulciano and Montalcino

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“TRAVELING AROUND TUSCANY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

After much research, i decided to stay in pienza, which ended up being a perfect location to explore central tuscany region..i rented a car in chiusi,after taking a train from florence. From our location in pienza ,which was about 45 minutes from chiusi, we took day trips to siena , volterra, monticiello, montopulciano. moltacino,and visited wineries and cheese farms in the pienza area..could have stayed more than 5 days..do yorself a favor , be in shape and wear good shoes!!!!! lots of steps and hills....

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Small Tuscan Town Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Great stop on any Tuscany tour. Small, historic town has a compact and interesting main street with many good sites and shops sampling and selling excellent wines and cheeses. Great views of the surrounding countryside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Centre of the City of Pienza also viewed

Pienza, Province of Siena
Torrita di Siena, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Tuscany, Italy
 

Been to Historic Centre of the City of Pienza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Centre of the City of Pienza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.