We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Cooking Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Laura Day Excursions

Ciao Laura Day Excursions
Italy
01.615.426.1138
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #824 of 1,034 activities in Tuscany
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Provider of culinary tours, cooking lessons, wine, cheese, walking and foodie related tours throughout Italy.
New Rochelle, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Cooking Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had a private cooking class with Veronica in her Tuscan kitchen and my husband and I had a wonderful experience. Veronica was warm and friendly and happy to answer all of our questions. She had printed up recipes but was very flexible and changed one when she found out it was something I didn't particularly like. Everything was hands on, using the freshest ingredients and she was very good at demonstrating a technique and then having us practice. We made tomato sauce, pepperonata, frittata, foccacia, homemade pasta and a chocolate cake with berry sauce. She had a beautiful table set up for the two of us to eat at when the cooking was done, complete with wine. It was one of the most enjoyable things we did on our trip and I would recommend that yousign up to take a class with Veronica as soon as possible.

Visited June 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Family fun, exceptional chef and enjoying fruits of our labour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

A perfect family activity that nicely tied all the enjoyable things we experienced in Italy together. Good food, quality ingredients, scenery, wine, and togetherness. We organized the session 3 days in advance and experienced it the day before we left.

Veronica, our chef had the patience of an angel and really geared the session to the four kids ages 6yrs to 11yrs. She put the whole group to work and everyone was pleased with the end results. Our kids courageously ate dishes they were unwilling to try at the restaurants so as parents, we were extra pleased!

The activity might appear pricey. But it is a 4 hour affair, includes your meal, training/education and time with your loved ones. Kids could freely explore the estate which by the way is lovely. We also picked fresh herbs from the garden for the day's recipes.

I highly suggest this activity and would enjoy doing it again when we return.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Babs was the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our group booked Ciao Laura, and Babs was the chef we were provided with for our group cooking class, and meal that followed.Everyone was completely satisfied and more than happy with the results. Everything we made was prepared from scratch, Bread, pasta even: made by hand from scratch. Babs was also a very friendly person, easy to get along with and very personable. She worked quite well for our group, and she did an excellent job of managing 8 people to ensure everything was getting done, but that we were learning, having fun and getting our questions answered. Our group would highly recommend Ciao Laura based on this experience, and moreso Babs as your chef!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Italy waith Ciao Laura”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Booking our Italian trip with Ciao Laura was an excellent decision. My husband and I travelled with our 22 yr old daughter for 16 days through Venice, Florence, Positano and Rome. Laura Faust was extremely careful in the planning stage to ensure the trip included all aspects that appealed to our travelling tastes and desires. She offerred options within the price range we had stipulated and brought forward many excursions that were new to us. Where possible and necessary, entry tickets were purchased before the trip to avoid long line-ups and sold out venues. The planned connections, drivers, hotels and tour guides were all accurate and on time. We had printed out the full 16 page itinerary at home and used that as our daily guide, right down to how much cash we should be carrying on a particular day. It felt like Laura Faust was holding our hand through the entire trip. It was worry free and extremely enjoyable to simply enjoy and not worry about any arrangements.
I would strongly recommend this to anyone interested in a tailored trip to Italy.
Grazie Ciao Laura!!!
Jacquie and Brian Smith
Ontario, Canada

Visited May 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Meraviglioso! Brava!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Our cooking class has been the talk of our trip to Italy thus far, and booking through Ciao Laura could not have been easier! From our arrival and tour of the property, through the extensive and thoughtful explanations of everything from the gardens to the selection and preparation, to the wine and the personal family stories, our day with Veronica was magical. Our daughters (16 and 11) were mesmerized and my wife and I were astounded at every turn. I could not recommend Veronica or Ciao Laura any more enthusiastically!

Visited June 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Laura Day Excursions also viewed

 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Piano di Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ciao Laura Day Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Laura Day Excursions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ciao Laura Day Excursions to your Saves list