We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hills and Roads

Hills and Roads
Italy
328-837-9272
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 590 Tours & Activities in Tuscany
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Virginia, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We did four days with Hills and Roads in March 2013. Three days of Tuscany region tours based out of Sienna and a fourth day to Assisi. We had Luca, Maria, and Angela as drivers - all great. We were so glad that we decided to use Hills and Roads instead of renting a car and driving ourselves. They were all friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating. Highly recommend them!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    4
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The BEST tour company ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were a group of six that traveled to Italy in November. We had booked very early in the year and were able to get Luca (the owner) as our driver. We hired him for 3 days. The first day he picked us up in Rome and brought us to Tuscany, stopping in Orvieto on the way, which was amazaing. The next day he brought us to Florence and then a beautiful, small vineyard called Pratesi, a wonderful day! The last day we went to Siena, Monteriggioni which was a fortress near Siena and another wonderful vineyard in Tuscany, called Pieve Vecchia. He then brought us to a small seaside village that overlooked the Mediterranean and then on to Civitavecchia where we picked up our cruise. Luca was so personable, so accomodating and made our trip to Italy have some of the best vacation memories you can have. We would highly recommend Hills and Roads and hope to return one day to have Luca drive us through the beautiful "Hills and Roads" of Italy again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumelle, Arkansas
1 review
“Leave the Driving to the Pros!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hills and Roads was a BIG part of our trip to Italy. We spent 3 different days with them. They picked us up in Rome and we took a nice drive with a great stop for lunch to Siena. It was so much better than taking the train. Then they picked us up at our hotel in Siena for a wonderful day in the country side. Small towns, lunch at a wonderful farm/vineyard, and some very special time with a crystal engraver. Finally, we were picked up in Manarola, had lunch in Pisa and a little shopping, then delivered to Verona. We were able to make our travel time tour time! They did a great job! Thanks Maria and Andrea!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful guides and customized tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 3 days with the Hills and Roads team in June 2012 during a family vacation in Italy. Before the trip, Luca was wonderful about accommodating our needs and constructing a trip to perfectly capture the Italy that we wanted to see. On the first day, Angela, one of his guides, spent the day with us, driving us through the Tuscan hillside, and making stops at several towns and cities. We had made a request to visit a specific winery, and they took care of all the arrangements with the owners in advance and helped to set up a wonderful tasting - Angela even drove out the day before to make sure she knew exactly where to go!

For the next 2 days, we were with Luca, who has such a love for Italy and just a vast knowledge of everything we passed by and saw. He gave us so many tidbits of information and really added to our trip in a meaningful way. If we were too tired to go somewhere, he adjusted the schedule. If we wanted to stay somewhere longer, he made the arrangements to make that happen. We finished our time with Luca in Rome, where he dropped us off from our original "home base" of Florence, which was such a great service for us. We all HIGHLY recommend Hills and Roads and, next time we go back to Italy, will definitely be calling them!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“This is how holiday should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The highlight of our holiday in Italy was in the Tuscany region. Much of which was attributed to the top notch services provided by Luca and his team (Maria, Angela and Andrea). We like the customized service where we can decide where we want to go, time of departure and duration of each visit. The hills and roads team also provided valuable insights such as places to shop and eat. My wife and I will definitely return to explore more of the Tuscany region in the future.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hills and Roads also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Loro Ciuffenna, Province of Arezzo
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Hills and Roads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hills and Roads, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.