We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes to your Saves list
Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Contrada Bruderi 27/29, 98030 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“What a place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Pros: What a place. It is the hostess’ generational family home and is a virtual 18th-19th century museum, with art and statuary everywhere. Although she spoke little English, she took us on a grand tour and we communicated fairly well. We were on the second floor, in a big suite with sitting area, all antique furniture, and have a large terrace that looks over the garden and on to Mt Etna. Very quiet. We walked to the waterfront and all the restaurants in about 15 minutes. Parking on site inside the wall of their villa. Small refrigerator in room. Excellent breakfast on the terrazzo. Very convenient to drive to Taormina for the day.
Cons: No restaurant close by.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    17
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Villa with wonderful luxury, decorated throughout with art and antique. Garden with beautiful view of the Etna.
The best breakfast we had on Sicily, served on the terrace when the weather is fine.
Most welcoming and friendly hosts.
Very near to the highway entrance of Giardini Naxos, yet quiet. Your car is parked safely inside the premacies.
The only slight drawback we can think off: restaurants at the beachside are a 15 min walk away fram the villa.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Yet again used tripadvisor to source a hotel for a short holiday and we hit on a real gem. Absolutely beautiful surroundings-eating breakfast in idyllic walled gardens, huge rooms furnished with antiques and objets d' art and the most welcoming of hosts. You were made to feel at home yet like a princess! Only a 10minute walk to the beach at Giardini Naxos. Although you will need transport to go to Taormina itself it is well situated if you plan on taking excursions. A most refreshing change from an hotel as the personal touches were second to none.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

This Villa made for a perfect get away holiday. Owned by a Baron it is now 3 centuries old and in excellent condition. Our room and huge private terrace overlooked Mt Etna, an unbelieveable site , and a great view of the seacoast . The home was decorated with art work galore and antiques( so I guess it is not a great place for kids). However , the rooms are large and it was like having a suite private , newly renovated bath with large shower. The owners were attentive , serving a lovely breakfast every am at whatever time we requested. Our choice for taking breakfast was the large dining room fit for a baron or the garden veranda. Though the hosts did not speak English, and we very little Italian all went well. I was able to understand her helpful directions to sites , and excellent dining recommendations. We talked alot and learned about their 6 children in spite of the communication barrier. Location is close to the autostada and you truly needed a car as the beach was a long walk. Parking was inside the gate of their Villa grounds. Just lovely!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

We were made most welcome by our hosts, and the breakfast is one of the best we have experienced in Sicily so far. It changed every day, was all fresh products and we loved the ricotta cheese with honey! We had a big double room with a large terrace overlooking Mount Etna where we could sit out in the evenings and chat with other family members (who were in two other rooms, one being next door with the adjoining terrace).
There are some lovely artistic touches to this B&B - not suprising as our hostess, Agata, is an artist and has a very fine flair for 'setting the scene'. She was lovely, as was her husband Salvatore. We would love to go back sometime and spend a few more nights there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

This was a very elegant old villa with many of the artifacts handed down through the generations to the present owner who still live in the villa. We had a lovely room with a terrace looking out towards Mount Etna.
The lady of the house was most friendly and helpful. The excellent breakfasts were served on hand embroidered table cloths and victorian china.
The ambience of this house is just wonderful and would suit more elderly travellers who want to rest in style.
The only problems we had was the location - somewhere in the back streets of goodness knows where. We had some difficulty finding the place each time we went out. (we had no GPS nor map which didn't help).

  • Liked — the ambience and the historic artifacts
  • Disliked — the location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes

Address: Contrada Bruderi 27/29, 98030 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
#17 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in a typical Sicilian Baroque style, this 18th-century villa has completely been restored, with the greatest care and attention being paid to the finest details. The villa has a spacious garden (2000 square metres), embellished with a large Caltagirone vase collection with several cacti-plants, which the hostess takes care of. There are corners in the shade of pines, eucalypti and citrus-groves in which you can enjoy a relaxing moment and dedicate yourself to reading your favourite books. Furnished with antiques, the villa, formerly the Domenicians' summer residence, is now an elegant and spacious place to spend a relaxing Mediterranean break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chiarenza Maison d`Hotes Hotel Taormina
Villa Chiarenza Maison D'Hotes Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.