We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Taodomus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Taodomus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Taodomus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Umberto 224, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Stayed two nights here. Location is perfect. Right on the main street. The rooms were just a little noisy but loved the convenience of location. Rooms were simple, pretty and comfortable. Not a super resort hotel but definitely a great value and very nice. The breakfast overlookng Mt. Etna was breathtaking and delicious. We loved Taormina and staying right in the heart of the city was very convenient for our family.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    93
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
56
336
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

We booked Hotel Taodomus on the strength of its consistently favourable reviews. We were not disappointed. To begin with, the location on Corso Umberto is superb and parking no problem thanks to a 40% discount arrangement with a nearby carpark. The hotel is small, our room itself was not particularly large, but everything was immaculately clean and tastefully furnished. Breakfast on the roof terrace was lovely, thanks in part to the lovely spread prepared each day by Giulia , and in part thanks to the drop-dead gorgeous views of a snow-clad Mt Etna. Mention must also be made of the wonderfully friendly and helpful reception staff, Fabio, Maria and Olga. Just 2 niggling negative points: 1. the small, claustrophobic lift (which goes only from the first floor, not the ground floor); 2. cheap plastic hangers in the wardrobe, which bring down the tone of an otherwise exquisite small hotel. I don't know whether we'll return to Taormina - however lovely, it's small and there's not a lot to do apart from enjoying the views -but if we do, we'll certainly stay at the Taodomus again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

All of Sicily is beautiful. Taormina is breathtaking with its incredible views. Staying right on the Corso Umberto was a major plus for my friend and I.
Even more so was the fact that we stayed at the Hotel Taodomus which is right on the Corso Umberto. The convenience was a pleasure. The hotel was wonderful, clean, modern, delightful. The staff is to be complimented for their assistance in anything we asked and for their beautiful personalities and dedication to their business. Julia, our wonderful breakfast chef and caretaker of the rooms was a delight and she made the most awesome breakfasts that you could enjoy on a beautiful rooftop terrace with splendid views. Maria and Olga were sweet wonderful girls who were just a pleasure to deal with. Fabio was a most charming young man. He had a personality that matched that of his brother who worked in a restaurant on the Corso Umberto. The Corso has many wonderful places to shop in, eat at and just marvel at. At the end of the Corso Umberto is the magnificient Greek Theater and there are so many tours you can take with an agent right next door to the hotel, but the hotel staff was very helpful with all their suggestions. Try the "Godfather" tour to Savoca. Interesting! Stay at the Hotel Taodomus and you will be thankful that you did. Say hi to the lovely staff from me when you book your room. They were so sweet and I think of them often, they truly made us feel so much at home.
PS ask Fabbio the name of the restaurant his brother works in because the place is delightful with a singing trio with decent Italian food. The atmosphere is something you shouldnt miss out on. Ask the hotel staff for other recommendations as well...they always put us in the right direction for everything. And dont forget to get to the beaches in Taormina.....the best!!

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Taormina is expensive but this hotel, despite being in the mid to higher bracket, gives value for money. The staff are particularly friendly, helpful and efficient.We had a sea view room with a view of Etna.Even though the balcony was small, the patio windows folded right back and we enjoyed sitting there to watch the sunset over the Ionian.It was very comfortable and beautifully furnished with hand painted furniture giving it a luxurious feel.We really appreciated the tea and coffee making facilities.There was a good range of toiletries in the bathroom including hair conditioner! The shower cubicle was on the small side but the shower itself was efficient.The use of the internet is free and breakfast in bed is served free of charge.The hotel is very secure.
Our room was on the third floor and there were many steps to climb, the little lift being used by the staff to convey luggage.So if steps are a problem this hotel may not be suitable.We had no trouble getting a restful sleep but street noises had a tendancy to carry to the rooms, particularly from the trattoria in the alley behind the hotel.The breakfast served on the terrace on the top floor was excellent .Parking is available 3 minutes away in a public carpark, but at a discount of 40% using a voucher supplied by the hotel.Parking rates were the only reasonable prices in Taormina!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

we stayed at the hotel 2 night and had a great time. the room was clean and nice, the staff was very kind and helped us by finding good resturants and the location of the hotel is superbe, in the main street. if we will come back to Theormina we will undoubted stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn., NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

It's all about the staff. This cute little boutique hotel is located right on the Corso Umberto. From the moment you walk in the door, the staff makes you feel special and welcome. Guilia is a wonderful chef and made every breakfast special with different omelets, vegetables and cakes. She always made sure you tasted everthing. Maria, Olga aand Fabio, our receptionists, were bright and cheery and aided us with our every need from restaurants to tours. They all work very hard. Their employer should be proud.
I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

My partner and I stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Taodomus based on the reviews we read in TA. We are very happy to report the hotel was a great choice. The staff are all excellent making your stay even more special. Note, this is a smaller hotel and may not be for everyone. However, if you enjoy quality, personal service, location and value this is an excellent choice. Would highly recommend and we hope to return again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Taodomus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taodomus

Address: Corso Umberto 224, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Taormina
#13 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Taodomus 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taodomus Hotel is the ideal residence for those seeking relaxation in a refined, cosy and welcoming ambience. Located in the historical centre of Taormina and housed in an elegant refurbished residence, the Taodomus Hotel with its exclusive rooms creates a fine reminder of the warm welcoming tradition, typical of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Taodomus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taodomus Hotel Taormina
Hotel Taodomus Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Taodomus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.