We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Taodomus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Taodomus to your Saves list
Hotel Taodomus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Umberto 224, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
uk
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Another excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for the third year running in June, and it didn't disappoint. Lovely boutique hotel with good rooms, free wifi, rooftop terrace with great views of Etna and the coast, friendly staff and perfectly positioned near the gate at one end of the main street - good value, and near some nice places to eat. Deserves its high ratings. The breakfast is included and is a very good buffet as well as omelettes etc cooked to order.

Room Tip: We like the rooms overlooking the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    100
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
376
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel Taodomus was a great find, I'm so glad I stayed there! Here are the highlights:

LOCATION: perfectly situated in a fairly discreet spot (wouldn't have noticed it if I weren't staying there) at the end of the main shopping pedestrian street. Note it's at the opposite end from the Greek Theatre, bus depot, and funicular to the beaches, so if those are your destinations it will be about a 10-15 minute walk. On the plus side, it's only about 1-2 minutes walking to some of the best gelato I've had at O'Sciality, or a fantastic dinner at Trattoria Don Ciccio!

STANDARD & AMENITIES: For the price I paid and the high level of prices that are standard in Taormina, I expected to get a lot less value out of the place but I was very happily surprised! The room was spotless and spacious, air conditioning worked great, bed was comfortable, and I could even see the ocean from my bedroom (and attached terrace). The bathroom had a great rain shower and amazing water pressure.

SERVICE: The staff were all very friendly, VERY friendly and hospitable. They helped me out by researching and printing the bus timetables for my departure from Taormina, and were about 10 times more efficient and accurate than the people at the local tourist office who were annoyed and unhelpful when I asked them! They also supply guests with a great list of local must-try eateries and attractions, I was very satisfied having gotten through even a third of the list. And at breakfast, they didn't make me feel uncomfortable at all when I wanted to take some fruit for my journey out of Taormina, or order 3 crepes in one sitting. Yes three, they're that good!!

DON'T MISS: The breakfast! The buffet spread has a lot of options and they are all fresh and high quality. The fresh squeezed blood orange juice was tops. And do I need to mention the crepes again? I had three!!

WISH I'D KNOWN: They suggest you take a taxi from the bus depot to the hotel, and with a lot of luggage I would probably agree. I only had a backpack though, and would have much rather spent that €10 on more granite or cannoli and walked the 15 minutes!

BOTTOM LINE: No question, I will stay at Hotel Taodomus again any chance I get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This boutique hotel beats many I have stayed in NY. The service was outstanding. I parked outside the walls and the front desk came with me to assist -even at 5:30 a.m.. We were catching a flight and they packed us cakes; biscuits; sandwiches juice etc. Couldn't believe it.
Upstairs view from the terrace beautiful-that's where you eat breakfast. We brought our wine up there to get away from the crowds. Beautiful view at night as well. We stayed 3 nights and had our balcony facing inward where we could observe weddings and people watch. The hotel also provides pick up service to different hotel resorts where you can access the beach. The beaches outside the center were beautiful. I didn't drive at all thankfully-Taormina's streets are very narrow and parking expensive. It was an amazing stay at this hotel-top notch on all accounts.

Room Tip: Each one goes by a different name. The balcony was nice can be a bit noisy late at night but not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Very Nice Nice hotel excellent service, friendly reception staff helpful and spoke perfect English. Room had a beautiful balcony great views, breakfast had a very good choice hot and cold foods, another great view top of the hotel. Would come back and stay here for sure. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just spent the past 2 nights at Hotel Taodomus on a trip through Sicily with my mom and was treated to a beautiful (but small) room, a charming breakfast on the rooftop patio and staff that made us feel like nothing mattered more than us having a superior experience. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and absolutely loved Taormina. Service this good is rare, they did everything from pack us a breakfast to take with us to the airport for the morning we depart, to arrange for our amazing trip to Mt Etna.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunflower State
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The staff couldn't have been nicer. We were without luggage for the first 2 days we were there and they did everything they could to help us including calling the airline on our behalf to track it. The rooms were super clean with very nice bed linens, a modern, if small, bath and just generally very pleasant. Breakfast was fabulous and served on the rooftop terrace looking out to Mt.Etna and the Sea. Breakfast included yummy bread and cheese and fresh squeezed orange juice AND then they took your order for fresh eggs or crepes. The cook and servers were so sweet and helpful. The location on Corso Umberto was perfect. We walked everywhere and there were several excellent restaurants and exclusive shops nearby. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. I did not notice the street noise that some reviewers have referenced. I highly recommend this hotel. (there is no swimming pool which I mistakenly marked so please disregard that rating. I couldn't figure out how to delete it!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great little romantic boutique hotel very clean and very friendly in the middle of Taormina walking distance to everything
The best breakfast on a rooftop terrace with gorgeous views of the coastline and mt Etna.
Very very nice place to stay in Taormina

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Taodomus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taodomus

Address: Corso Umberto 224, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Taormina
#13 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Taodomus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taodomus Hotel is the ideal residence for those seeking relaxation in a refined, cosy and welcoming ambience. Located in the historical centre of Taormina and housed in an elegant refurbished residence, the Taodomus Hotel with its exclusive rooms creates a fine reminder of the warm welcoming tradition, typical of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Taodomus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taodomus Hotel Taormina
Hotel Taodomus Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Taodomus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.