We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, contemporary, classy and wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Taodomus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Taodomus to your Saves list
Hotel Taodomus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Umberto 224, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean, contemporary, classy and wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay for the convenience of being in town where stepping out of door to umberto corso was unbelievable. I was travelling alone and never had a moment of regret of choosing this hotel. Staff - amazing ; breakfast - amazing; location - amazing ! The noise at night does throb in the background at times while you are trying to sleep , but even this did not bother me enough to not return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    102
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
388
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband an I had a lovely 3 day stay in this Hotel. The staff is friendly, the breakfast is out of this world...served on a beautiful roof top terrace. At night, around 18:30, guests can meet on the roof top terrace for drinks. For 5 euros (honor bar), guests can help themselves to the bar and enjoy the view. The rooms are spacious, have a safe and as many guests have reviewed....super clean! The only recommendation I have for guests who are sensitive to noise is to request a room that does not give on the main street as it can be noisy at night until the early morning.

Room Tip: Chose a room that does not give on the main street if you are sensitive to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

At your arrival, the center of Taormina welcomes you with sun, smell of the sea and smiling people everywhere. The Taodomus hotel is on the main street of Taormina, it 's very refreshing in the morning go out from reception and find many people around you, ready to live the day at sea.

The hotel is really a small gem! All the young staff is incredibly kind, smiling and always ready for any request. We had a room overlooking the sea, actually amazing! It's very clean and well furnished.The coffe facilities in the room was very important for us.

The most beautiful feature of the hotel is the terrace on top floor. Have breakfast there in the morning, looking the sea and the Etna vulcan is unforgettable.

We really recommend this place, Taodomus is the gem of Taormina, and Taormina is the jem of Sicily!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor, MI
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I spent one night at this wonderful spot in Taormina. The welcome was wonderful and even though we arrived early, our room was ready. We were in Gooseberry, the only room with a full seaview and also a view from the side of Mt. Etna. It had a nice balcony that overlooked a small alley that had some pretty restaurants at night and, of course, looked on the sea. They had a comfortable king size bed and excellent air conditioning. Toilet though not enormous was more than adequate and worked well. The rooftop terrace has a honor bar at night and serves breakfast in the morning. This is one of the best breakfast's I have had in Europe. Simple, but delicious including freshly made crepes. Since this area is on top of the hotel, the views of Etna, Taormina and the sea are fantastic. Also, the hotel is very close to the CATANIA parking so go there and take elevator to 7th floor. It is about 150 mts, just inside the catania Porte on the right. The only negative I would give is that there are one flight of stairs to get to the elevator (an elevator that is a bit quirky as you must hold the button to call for it and to ride up or down). Thus, maybe not easiest if handicap accessible is required. Other than this, everything about this hotel was great, including the warm hosts. Now I titled this as "Fantastic, even if ill". Well this is true. I became horribly sick at the end of our visit to the greek theater and needed an emergency stop at the toilets at the site. I barely made it back to the hotel, before another round hit me. This went on a few times and I ended up with a 101 F fever to boot. Because we had a pleasant balcony and there was a great pizzeria across the street, when I felt strong enough, I was able to have a slice or two on the balcony. The bed was comfortable, I had everything I need to rest and recuperate. By midnight, I felt well enough to try a glass of wine on the rooftop. I emphasize this because it is very easy to be critical of a property when you feel you are on death's door. Still, I have no complaints. My wife felt the same way. Therefore, given the price compared to other places, this is a magnificent bargain in Taormina. A true boutique hotel. Go there, stay in the Gooseberry and you should not be disappointed. Just don't stay there if we are returning as I would love to spend more time at this nice small hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stated at Hotel Taodomus with my teenage sons in July. The hotel is staffed by friendly and helpful staff and is pristinely clean. Rooms are spacious, well equipped and thanks to large shutters can completely block out noise and light which ensures a great nights sleep in the comfortable beds.
Breakfast is superb. Fresh juices, lovely pastries, a variety of choices and the best made to order creeps and omelette a. All this served in a partly open aired terrace with stunning views of the ocean. I travel extensively and if you are looking for a lovely boutique hotel in a perfect location in Taormina you should book Hotel Taodomus.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Was the most wonderful place. The location was great and the staff were friendly and helpful. They found out it was my birthday and left a bottle of champagne in my room. The rooftop balcony was beautiful and they allowed us to use it even after we'd checked out while we were waiting for our plane. Overall a great place - would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I never had a so special breakfast in Italy; really super. The location is the best; main corso umberto. The staff is very kind. The hotel Taodomus is modern and clean, cosy and elegant.
Taodomus is definitively a great option where to stay in the epensive Taormina.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Taodomus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taodomus

Address: Corso Umberto 224, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taormina
#13 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taodomus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taodomus Hotel is the ideal residence for those seeking relaxation in a refined, cosy and welcoming ambience. Located in the historical centre of Taormina and housed in an elegant refurbished residence, the Taodomus Hotel with its exclusive rooms creates a fine reminder of the warm welcoming tradition, typical of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Taodomus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taodomus Hotel Taormina
Hotel Taodomus Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Taodomus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.