We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing boutique hotel in a heavenly location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Taodomus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Taodomus to your Saves list
Hotel Taodomus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Umberto 224, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
La Manga Spain
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Amazing boutique hotel in a heavenly location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Taormina will blow you away, and this hotel will make it even more amazing.The staff are the most helpful we have ever come across it all our travels, the hotel is in a prime location, on the main street umberto corso, public parking is on 200m away and costs 18€ for 24hrs. We stayed in the partial sea view room (our preference) and the sea view room (slight downside its below the roof terrace and breakfast room) Rooms are a good size with comfy beds and spotlessly clean, the breakfast was amazing food,service and the view! WOW!! I will never be able to put into words how good the staff are, from the ladies who serve and prepare breakfast with a smile, and all on reception, every recommendation from what to do and where to eat and drink, another big WOW! Thankyou to all for making our stay as close to perfect as possible.

Room Tip: Full seaview for the view of the sea and Etna, or partial seaview to enjoy a peaceful morning ( only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taodomus, The staff of Taodomus Hotel at Hotel Taodomus, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Ant_Spain,

It is now our turn to say: Wow, what a wonderful review! Thank you so much for all the amazing comments on our service, location, rooms and breakfast. Our main aim is the guests' complete satisfaction and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us.


We all hope to welcome you back here in the near future,


Kindest Regards,

The Taodomus' Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    98
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
56
370
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Good value for money as this is an expensive neck of the woods. Excellent location and great rooftop breakfast. They have lovely toiletries - a must at a boutique hotel! The rooftop needs to be a lounge during the day as there is no place to go but your room. We were there in the fall, so pools nearby where closed. Was sunny though, so a rooftop terrace would have made this a 5 star rating.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taodomus, Front Office Manager at Hotel Taodomus, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Kat M,

Thank you for your review and for the nice comments about our terrace, the location and our toiletries. We just would like to underline that our panoramic rooftop terrace is available in any moment of the day for all the guests who want to have a drink or just enjoy the beautiful view while reading a book or surfing on the web. The terrace has chairs, tables and a bench both inside and outside where our guests can seat and spend their time how long they would like.

We hope to host you here at Taodomus Hotel in the near future,

Best Regards

The Hotel Taodomus' Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Everything is done with love - especially the breakfast which exceeds Italian standards by far and is served at the roof terrace. Only view rooms. Free wi-fi + laptop rental + computer/printer available in the lobby. Perfectly situated in the pedestrian zone. Everybody who visits Taormina should calculate 20€ for 24h car park, also prices in restaurants are rather high. So, perfect for a 1 - 2 days excursion. Landscape is lovely!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Hotel Taodomus is a small and very unique hotel. The rooms - we stayed in the Taodomus room which opens towards the Corso Umberto and later in the Gooseberry room which has sea view - are very elegant, esthetical, but also functional and made with love to every detail. We stayed nine days there while staying in Sicily and althou we stayed so long in this very busy and sometimes crowded Taormina the hotel was for us like an oasis of peace and calm. The roof terrace gives a spectacular view over the Etna, Giardini-Naxos and the sea. This is also the place where the tasteful breakfast is offered. There is a good choice of cereals with fresh yoghurt and fruitsalad, but also bread with cheese and prosciutto and sweet little dessert cakes too and many other things. Besides this there is breakfast menu where you can choose between different warm eggdishes, crepes and salads. The breakfast never became boring for us although we stayed so long there. The Taodomus stuff is very sympathical, helpful and competent. The rooms were always very well cleant.
If you like to travel individually and look for special places this is a very charming and unique hotel to stay. We would love to come back soon.

Room Tip: If you want seaview Gooseberry room is probably a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This well-located hotel is good value for expensive Taormina. We booked late but arrived early to check in and had the choice of two (small) rooms--we opted for the one facing away from the street to avoid noise. The room and bathroom were small, but this was more than made up for the amazing roof terrace, which in addition to a good breakfast, features an honor bar (drinks available, just write your room number and what you took) and seats for guests to enjoy the fantastic view at other times of day. The hotel's elevator is slow and smallish and there are still quite a few stairs to navigate regardless. Staff are friendly and available.

Room Tip: Book a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The room was very comfortable, the service was warm and friendly, the views from the balcony were amazing. The hotel is located in a great spot, but be sure to ask where to park well before you get there, as Taormina can be difficult to drive in. Overall a great hotel!

Room Tip: Request a balcony sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I'll start with the good - It's a very friendly place, the view from the rooftop terrace is awesome ( the snowy peaks of mount etna AND the beach in the same frame), The breakfast is to die for, with on demand special crepes and omelletes. Now for the minuses- The rooms facing the street can be noisy, and some of them are quite small (they still feel nice though), the rooms with the view are much better and somewhat bigger. The elevator takes Ages to go, and you might as well use the stairs. Now for the parking - Taormina's center is a pedestrian only street, and you have 2 parking lots - one at each end (near the gates). Taodomus' main minus (if it's a minus) is that there's no hotel-parking (parking at the lot is charged by the hour, up to 15 Euros for 24 hours). Walking from the parking to the hotel is an easy 200 meters, (from the gate it's about 30 meters) and if there's 2 or more of you - you can always stop at the gate - unload your luggage and go park. I personaly would go back. Did I say the breakfast is realy good ?

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with sea view (partial) - less noisy, and bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taodomus, The Staff of Taodomus Hotel at Hotel Taodomus, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear N R,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your review and the very positive comments on our breakfast and view from the rooftop terrace.
What you have defined as “minuses” are, in our opinion, the obvious consequences of being a small hotel located right in the heart of Taormina, the "Corso Umberto", close to everything: as every hotel situated on a pedestrian area, we do not have a private parking, but the public parking is located at a very easy distance walking, as you have underlined (4 minutes).
Regarding the rooms, when you arrived the staff at Reception gave you the possibility to choose between two different classic rooms and you have chosen the smaller one. Also, it has been your choice to use the classic room as double and take the partial sea view for single use.

Thank you once again for your nice comments on the breakfast and we wish to host you here at Taodomus Hotel in the near future.

The Staff of Taodomus Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Taodomus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taodomus

Address: Corso Umberto 224, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Taormina
#13 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Taodomus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taodomus Hotel is the ideal residence for those seeking relaxation in a refined, cosy and welcoming ambience. Located in the historical centre of Taormina and housed in an elegant refurbished residence, the Taodomus Hotel with its exclusive rooms creates a fine reminder of the warm welcoming tradition, typical of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Taodomus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taodomus Hotel Taormina
Hotel Taodomus Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Taodomus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.