We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Taormina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Taormina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Taormina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tommaso Fazzello 39, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the end of 2011. Though it has taken me a little while to write this review, this is no reflection on the hotel which was wonderful. We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel only has a few rooms. The decor is very decadent and elegant but this didn't prevent the room itself from being comfortable. There was a jacuzzi in the garden of the hotel (the hotel is located at one end of the Corso Umberto in a residential area so space is at a premium- no swimming pool). The real highlight was the breakfast- there was a huge amount of choice and the view was simply breathtaking- on one side, Etna, on the other Taormina, and directly in front, a sparkling ocean. The staff were helpful and I would certainly stay again.
I remember that it was quite expensive to stay but this is true of most good hotels in Taormina so that wouldn't put me off staying in future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
54
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

A short train ride from Messina found us in the seaside resort town of Taormina for a conference. We had elected to stay in a small hotel a half kilometer from the grand hotel where the meeting was being held. A short, but sinuous and expensive taxi ride 20 Euro taxi ride (found out later we overpaid by 5 Euros) found us on a narrow street in front of the Villa Taormina.
It is a small hotel with only 8 or 9 rooms just a couple of staircases up from the Duomo Square near the Catania Gate in the southern part of Taormina. A former private home, it was lovingly and beautifully restored beginning around 2002 and started accepting guests three years later. It backs onto a quiet private garden that has a hot tub, although there is no pool. Wireless Internet is included and was very reliable. We stayed in a large room with a small, but usable balcony overlooking the garden. The pictures speak for themselves.
There is no restaurant in the hotel, but a dining room, opening onto a large balcony serves a freshly prepared and sumptuous breakfast buffet each morning from 7AM to 10AM. The view from the breakfast room stretches from Mt. Aetna on the south to the tip of Calabria on the north, framing the Ionian Sea. There is no bar, but liquor is available in the sitting room across from the lobby or in room. The rooms were always made up promptly and nicely while we were out, even though our schedule was very irregular.
The staff, though few in number, were as hospitable as any we have met and made us feel at home immediately and sad to leave.
It is difficult to put a price on passing through the lobby on the way to dinner and being stopped by the lovely lady manning the desk so she could stand up, spread her hands and say “molte bella, you look so beautiful!”
The staff spoke excellent English and gave us good recommendations for dining, also arranging some private tours for us.
Simply, they could not have been nicer and more attentive.
There is no exercise room, so we did aerobics in the garden.
We will perhaps return to Taormina. If we do, the main reason will be the friendly, beautifully decorated hotel Villa Taormina, where we felt more at home than at any hotel we have yet stayed.
Interestingly, some members of our meeting who stayed at the recommended hotel, had tiny rooms, unreliable Internet for 17 Euros/day and a snooty staff who treated guests as an imposition.

Room Tip: A room facing the garden is quiet for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Absolute gem! This small, quiet and friendly hotel with 10 beautifully furnished rooms, mostly with balconies or terraces was absolutely wonderful. The view from the breakfast room over the rooftops to the bay and Mt Etna were panoramic to say the least. The staff were so welcoming and the whole place had a warm and family atmosphere. From the receptionist, maids, breakfast lady(thank you for my vanilla infusion each day!) and night porter, the staff were excellent. I would certainly stay there again and can recommend the hotel for the more mature of us who want a quiet stay or for pure romance. The location is a bit tricky as you need to either access the hotel from the main roads able to take cars by either walking down a few steps or up. For those who are able and active this is no problem. Our taxi driver (in a minibus) did not want to attempt to take us to the door as the road is so narrow. For a small car this is not a problem though. So pleased that we stayed here.

Room Tip: Request a room at the backof the hotel with a private terrace overlooking the garden. There is a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The main problem: Taormina itself is way overvalued, not worth the minimum stay of three nights that most hotels, including Villa Taormina, require. If authentic Italian life is your passion, avoid Taormina or stay one night only. Spend your time in Siracusa or Cefalu instead. If you care about value, don't even THINK of staying in Taormina. Unless you can afford the San Domenico Palace Hotel which is actually WORTH a splurge. The least expensive room at the San Domenico Palace is about the same price as Villa Taormina, so the BIG mistake we made, was not staying at San Dominico Palace. Villa Taormina is intimate, loaded with high quality artworks, offers superb service and serves a beautiful breakfast. Problem: no information in the room about where and when pool can be used (on another property). Problem: the "jacuzzi" has cold water! I splurged to stay at Villa Taormina partly with visions of late night hot tubbing under the starts. Doesn't work if water is cold. Great piazza restaurant right in front of hotel is handy. Rooms are SMALL. This was the most expensive room of our trip and our only regret. I knew immediately upon arrival that I did not want to stay the required the minimum of three nights and they would not let us off the hook. They cared for all of our needs except this most important one. The employees of this hotel deserve better than a manager who makes such unjust regulations,

Room Tip: Our terrace was a joke...walked out to a wall of concrete and had to risk life and limb to climb up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I was not overly wowed by this place. Rooms....even superior ones....are small and food was only OK. It would be a good hotel anywhere else in Sicily but at Taormina's grossly inflated prices the 99 percent in my opinion just don't get enough for their money...but then I think that is the case all over Taormina. Above all I didn't like the 3 night minimum stay...that in and of itself should tell you all you need to know. You are a captive audience from that point on. One postiive is that it is off the main streets and somewhat more quite area but still close to activity. Staff is also helpful and friendly but can be phony at times. Also you may have read in guide books that they have a "hot tub"...NO. They have a Jacuzzi unheated and seemed to be being cleaned a lot of the time. If they have a sister relation with a pool with a hotel they don't advertise it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I haven't written a review for quite a while but, credit where credit's due.... this place deserves a mention.
Location is perfect. The staff were brilliant, Elena & Antonio made us feel so welcome and tried to help with every detail. I must mention the breakfast cook too- Breakfast was delish and some nice varied dishes every day. Also our room was IMMACULATE! The cleaning lady deserves a pay rise!
LOVED IT- we got engaged on this trip and it will always hold a special memory.
Don't hesitate book now!!! :-) Thanks guys we'll return one day

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

After spending two days in Catania we moved to Taormina. And it was the best decision we could ever make! Taormina is just beautiful. An old city with an outstanding panorama - even the parkins spaces have amazing view to the sea!!!
Turning back to Villa Taormina: this is a small 4 stars hotels, with only several rooms, situated 2 minutes or 100 m away from the main street in Taormina. This means 2 things: you are very close to the heart of town and at the same time, you have all the silence and the quietness you need at night.
Nice rooms, not vey large (we stayed in room no 5 - I recommend it for its terrace and easy access to the larger terrace with the jacuzzi), with very strong air conditioning (there is a trick if you want to turn it off - ask at the reception), good bed, nice bathroom but nothing extraordinary about it.
Lovely breakfast served on the top floor of the building in a room with a splendid sea view. From this cosy room you can also see Etna.
People at Villa Taormina are excellent hosts, always ready to help, smiling and very polite & friendly.
I think i was lucky to stay at such a place in Taormina.
Strongly recommend and would go back there whenever possible :))

Room Tip: ask for a room with terrace. there are 3 such rooms from what i saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Taormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Taormina

Address: Via Tommaso Fazzello 39, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Taormina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charm hotel designed with an intimate approach integrating our love for antiques and traditional Sicilian interiors. The villa is an antique residence located in the historic center of Taormina just a staircase above the Piazza Duomo. Breakfast is served on our sun-filled terrace with outstanding views of Mt. Etna, the Mediterranean Sea, and the Old Abbey (Badia Vecchia). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villa Taormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Taormina Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Taormina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.