We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of life in Sicily” 3 of 5 stars
Review of President Hotel Splendid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added President Hotel Splendid to your Saves list
President Hotel Splendid
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dietro Cappuccini, 10, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Knoxville Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A slice of life in Sicily”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Stayed at the Splendid as part of sightseeing/language study tour of Sicily in October. The accommodations were standard economy rooms for Europe. It is an older hotel located near the center of Taormina. The breakfast was a standard Continental breakfast - breads were delicious and fresh, wonderful salami and cheese. Good coffee. AMAZING view down onto the beaches. Fun to make the 10 minute trek back and forth to the Babilonia School (great school!) and see moms and dads walking their little kids to school in the morning; waving to the proprietor of the Etna restaurant (delicious pizza and prosciutto crudo); and dropping down past Roman ruins into the quaint village of Taormina. The staff and night clerks were very pleasant to my group - even giving me a heartfelt 'Brava' when I asked for my key by room number in newly learned Italian! I know some of the rooms were not great, but this is not a Marriott and given the fairly low cost of our total itinerary - most sophisticated and experienced travelers would describe this as a typical economy room. No way would I stuff 4 people into a room (on 2 single beds).

Loved seeing daily life from this perspective; very easy walking to all the high points of Taormina [granitas at the Bam Bar]. Felt safe. Nice to be remembered and welcomed by the staff. Lots of guests from all over the world to meet in the lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms above the lobby (front of hotel) seem to be able to access the lobby wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    39
    42
    33
    33
See reviews for
14
90
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We were booked here as part of a package to come to Taormina and study. We only needed a clean, safe place to stay, as we were studying and traveling all day. This is that to a T. If you are looking for a luxury vacation, do not stay here, but if you aren't looking to spend €300-100/ night, stay at the Splendid! Breakfast is basic, but included. The staff are all polite, but have varying levels of English-speaking ability, so they may not understand everything. I found that, if you are patient and polite, they will do their best to help you. The night clerk does his best to introduce any guests who hang out in the lobby at night to one another. We've met people from all over the world. Wifi is free in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

This place is a dump. We were placed here by the Babiloina school. It's at the level of a motel 6. I don't know about you, but if I am going to travel 20+ hours to get to a country on vacation, I want to stay some place that doesn't smell and has beds and linens newer than 30 years old. Do not stay here. The staff is very arrogant and unaccommodating. We've stayed in 3 other places in Sicily and this place is HORRIBLE by comparison. AND again, do not stay here.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014 via mobile

Staying here for a full week while my study abroad group has a study tour in Taoromina. In total we have 10 rooms, all very respectful college students. No loud noises, appropriate at all times, and generally friendly. While staying here every person we have come in contact with is over the top rude. First off they have about 400 rules that have no logic behind them. Since there's no WiFi in the rooms we have to come down to the lobby for skyping, internship searches, as well as general correspondence with our employers and college. In doing so a few of this girls sat at the bar in the lobby and the owner shooed them away into a corner of the lobby that has very weak Wi-Fi. Mind you this is 2 in the afternoon so no one is even in the hotel.

Second, there are 4 of us sharing a hotel bathroom how many towels did we receive? 2. When we walked down to the front desk to ask for 2 more they wanted to charge us 6Euro per towel per day.


Third, we asked the front desk what the best way would be to get to the Catania airport. Once again the owner staired blank faced at us and said he has no suggestions.

Forth, the hotel in general is dingy. For a night or two you can deal but definitely not for longer than that.

Personally, I would choose to stay elsewhere. Unless you like the company of crabby hotel owners who just want to make rules up with no basis behind them.

AWEFUL STAY!!!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

it's our second time in this hotel. basic but enough; room was clean, beds were comfortable and a simple breakfast, same as any other hotel in sicily/italy. shower room was clean too and nothing to complain about. staff very helpful. this hotel is just 2 mins walk away from Porta Messina, the entrance to Corso Umberto, so it's very central. from catania airport we got on the bus to Taormina which stops at Luigi Pirandello and then it's only a ten minute walk straight up the road to the hotel, no need to get a taxi. ample restaurants to choose from and it's ideal for a weekend break. hotel also has a pool and a small poolbar. furniture outdated but we did not mind that. we had an airconditioned room on the third floor, same as the pool so it was a bit noisy at times. recommend a different floor for a more quiet room. views overlooking the beaches are really splendid though. hope to return soon.

Room Tip: it's worth paying the supplement for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

After reading all the reviews we were a bit worried that we are going to end up in the hostel type place.
When we got there we were met by Franco (who doesn't leave you alone until you get a drink :)) He was very friendly. Our room was slightly outdated but we weren't hoping to get in to Four Seasons. Rooms was nice and clean. Batroom was suprisingly big. Our rooms was cleaned every day, which was surprising. Staff is very friendly. You get free wi-fi in the lobby and pool area. Lication is amazing! 5 min walk to cable cars to the beach. Taormina town is literally down the road.
If you are planning to go to the beach i recommend to use the offer that they provide in the hotel (sunbed and transportation) - you'll save at least 15 euro.
Breakfast was average but very filling.
All in all, if you are not planning to stay in the hotel at all times - it is the best choice! Views from the balcony are amazing! (That's if you get 3rd floor or up)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is very outdated, it is in very bad need of a re vamp, it is like something from 100years ago. Our view that should have been a sea view was a view looking into the room of the house across from us. The hotel was full of students and it was one of the noisiest hotels I have ever stayed in. The double beds were 2 single travel beds pushed together, there was bug marks and stains on the walls. The shower had dirt engraved in the floor of it. The skirting boards were broken and there was paint chipped off the walls. The hotel in general was grubby and not plesent to be in, the pool outside to be honest didnt look much better. Each time we left the hotel we had to hand our room key back in at reception which I was very uncomfortable with. The hotel bar was very limited and was in the reception area of the hotel so we were having a drink while watching people check in or check out. If you wanted to get air conditioning you had to pay €10 extra a day. There is a city tax that we were never told about and we had to pay it when we checked out €1 per person per night you stayed there. We also had to check out of the hotel by 10 am in the morning which is ridiculous I have never had to check out of a hotel so early in my life.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to President Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel Splendid

Address: Via Dietro Cappuccini, 10, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — President Hotel Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your President Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Splendid Sicily
President Hotel Splendid Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage President Hotel Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.