We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff at the Soleado” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soleado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Soleado to your Saves list
Soleado
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dietro Cappuccini 41/A, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #15 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Mayo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff at the Soleado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our final stop off in late September 2012 on our honeymoon was the wonderful Soleado hotel. We were met at the reception by Roberto one of the best hosts anyone could ask for in a hotel. A true Sicily welcome for us and really helped us out on our stay. He gave us a choice of room and we ended up with a wonderful big balcony with a spectacular sea view. The rooms were basic with great air con but we didn't spend much time in the room, we were busy exploring. The hotel has a small pool which is freezing, however it was nice to go for a quick dip out of the scorching heat.

The breakfast was really nice a wonderful view at the breakfast table looking out to sea. The breakfast was well laid out and everything fresh. The area of Taormina was lovely, it had wonderful streets and fantastic shops and restaurants with some of the best food we ever had. It was our first visit to Sicily and every day we really enjoyed. We done the Lipari, Vulcano tour which we visited 2 islands and was a wonderful full day tour. The beautiful island of Vulcano had a superb beach with the nicest waters I have ever been in.

Taormina had so much to offer, we used the cables cars for going down to the beach, however the beach does be overcrowded most days but had wonderful clear clean water the small fish swimming beside you in the water.

The downside we found on our trip to Sicily and I really hope sometime the government will improve things would be waste management. Bins along the street do be over flowing with rubbish, rubbish thrown everywhere you really notice it along the roads, on the road up to the hotel had a waste bin sideways with all the rubbish on the ground, however this was cleared up, its a crying shame for the island not to manage their rubbish better.

Overall we loved our stay the the Soleado and Taormina and the wonderful host Roberto and his staff made it such a welcome for us we will never forget.

Room Tip: Go for the full sea view balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    116
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
42
198
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located less than 10 min walk from the main street in Taormina.
It's basic, clean with friendly staff. Breakfast is ok, lots of sweet options and freshly made coffee.
The only problem we had was mosquito bites.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Taormina is a very beautiful place and a quite upmarket tourist destination. This hotel gives you an opportunity to visit without breaking the bank. For those of you who relish large corporate 400 bedroom hotels this is not for you. This is a family operation; a small hotel - not luxurious - with a small pool, very cheap food and drink prices, spotlessly clean, well maintained and, most strikingly, offers a warm welcome from Roberto and his family and staff.
The hotel is situated in a quiet street with no through traffic and sits beneath the picturesque village of Castelmola. It is just 5 minutes slow walk from the main drag, Corso Umberto, source of all things Italian.
If you can't enjoy a stay here maybe you should consider the Ibis or the Holiday Inn next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had an excellent 3 night stay here and it was very good indeed. the staff are very freindly and accommodating and the rooms a pleasant. there is a small pool and good breakfast. the hotel is in a quiet area with short walk to town. We loved it. There are a lot of stairs to most rooms. We would thoroughly recommend thid Hotel.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the pool on a level with reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Clean, quiet, friendly staff. Hotel at end of street, small pool. Made us croissant and thermos of tea at night since leaving before breakfast next morning. About 10 minute max slow walk to main street and cable car to beaches, 15 min to bus depot. 2 or 3 sets of 10 stairs to most rooms.

Room Tip: Pool view are fine, not huge ocean view from any rooms that we could see, although top level likely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

After the usual Italian adventurous drive up steep hills and winding roads ( just keep going up)we arrived to a friendly welcome. Apartment style rooms were clean and spacious with a pool and sea view. The pool is small. and gets a little cold with shade and the leaves and pine cones but was welcome after the hot journey. The ten minute walk up and down to the main town is just about do-able even in the heat . Very much a family feel and atmosphere but helpful advice and car parking welcome. There are better hotels in Taormina but they would cost much. Perhaps more suited to a family Holliday than a couple overnight stay but a perfectly acceptable way to experience this press ice and beautiful Sicilian resort

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex, England.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Staying in Taormina for a family wedding we choose the Hotel Soleado for 5 nights in early September 2012. It’s a nice friendly 2*hotel in a quiet location about 10 mins stroll to the main street or the cable car. The hotel is family run with Roberto overseeing operations.
We booked 2 rooms, one a full seaview room which had a really spacious terrace with table, chairs and sunbeds, and one lateral seaview room which was next door.
The rooms are basic but spotless and have good aircon which was neither too hot nor too cold.
Most rooms have a furnished balcony and overlook the pool, and the ones near to one end of the building also have a side seaview. The balcony lights don’t appear to work, so if reading outside at night is your thing then pack some ‘Mighty Bright’ clip on reading lights such as they sell on Amazon and you’ll be fine. Another minor point, but the white plastic sunbeds are a bit hard and could do with a cushion, but I guess only 4* hotels run to that.
There is no fridge or tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, so we took our own supplies and travel kettle and some coffee whitener. Roberto sells very reasonably priced wine / cold beers which you can drink at the bar area or take back to your room. And they sell a few snacks such as toasted sandwiches.
They serve a nice continental breakfast with cereals, yoghurts, cheese, meats, bread rolls, croissants, cakes etc, and Roberto’s signature cappuccino or tea depending on your taste.
We liked it here a lot and thought the family went the extra mile to make their guests welcome and comfortable...
Taormina is lovely although it ain’t cheap! But the Corso Umberto with its many shops and lovely terrace overlooking Mt. Etna and the coast is fabulous. Take a stroll along here in the evening and the place is just magical.
The Greco-Roman theatre with its stunning views of Etna is off the Corso as is the lovely public gardens. Tip...There is a small mini-mart type shop very close to the public gardens entrance with a deli that does very reasonably priced filled rolls, the guy has a small menu and will make them up for you.
Roberto can organise a mini bus from the hotel to a local beach for around 8 Euros each and the price includes sunbeds. We took the cable car down to the beach near the Isola Bella. There are still quite a few steps to negotiate down to sea level after the cable car terminates. The beach is very stony so I would advise you to wear something suitable on your feet...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Soleado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soleado

Address: Via Dietro Cappuccini 41/A, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Taormina
#21 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Soleado 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Soleado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleado Hotel Taormina
Soleado Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soleado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.