We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Stars From Me” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Angela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Angela to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Angela
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Leonardo Da Vinci 71E, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brackley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Five Stars From Me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had been wanting to stay at Mr. Kerr's Sicilian retreat for a number of year,. finally got there for a double birthday celebration in early November which was the final week of the season. As with other reviewers, the view of Etna and the coast is worth the stay alone. The service was second to none and to return from a days exploring to chilled Prosecco was a delight. Great breakfast, mini bus to Taormina every hour and individual rooms...cannot wait to return in 2015.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    76
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
83
375
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Been meaning to write this for ages! My husband and I spent two nights here last October to celebrate his birthday. What can I say! Room was huge, sumptuous and beautiful- with awesome bathroom too! Huge private terrace with The View!!! Stunning view of the bay and straight across to Mount Etna! Fabulous breakfast with really massive variety of anything you could want. On top of all the other praise, is- the staff! They are truly superb- so friendly, charming and professional. Walter in particular was so helpful, but they were all outstanding! The definition of welcoming- when we arrived in our room- there was a bottle of Prosecco in an ice bucket, glasses and nibbles- for my husband's birthday! Would recommend without hesitation!Thank you to all for a wonderful stay Dave and Sue Sandwich UK

Room Tip: we had one of the larger rooms- felt so luxurious-but all looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here in April 2014.

It's all about the view, Mt Etna and the sea, it reall does take your breath away. Stunning.

The large balcony was perfect for taking it all in. Stylish and clean room. Luxurious.

Location is good, and would recommend walking to town (ask for the path). It's a good half hour there (1 hour back uphill!) but worth it. There is nothing near the hotel though apart form one overpriced average restaurant.

Staff nice, breakfast ok. Slightly overpriced place though.

Tip: go to the next village up - Castelmola. It is stunningly beautiful.

Taormina itself is a must see, sadly though parts are far too touristic and the restaurants on the main strip are way overpriced with awful food and service. Avoid!

Restaurant tip: Nettuno da Siciliano. The best restaurant in Sicily, hidden away (so good luck finding it) which keeps the coach loads of tourists out! In a lemon tree garden serving such delicious Sicilian food, with a modern twist. We spent hours here eating the afternoon away. But we didn't spend a fortune. You have to go here.

Would stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in late October and it didn't disappoint. The view from our room was fantastic, the breakfast was wonderful and the service was excellent. It wasn't very crowded, and that was welcomed after walking through Taormina during the day. Stay here if you have the opportunity.

Room Tip: All rooms face Mt. Etna so there really isn't a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week in September for our 40th anniversary. We chose the hotel because of the great reviews it got, and we were not disappointed. The staff are marvellous, friendly, helpful, polite and courteous; special mention must go to Charlie, a true gentleman. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well-appointed, the facilities excellent, and the food tasty and well-presented. It's a good way down to the centre, so you need to be able to cope with steps, lots of them, especially if you want to walk back up! But there's no need to worry, because the shuttle bus service is superb, frequent and punctual. Last but not least: the view. Stunning is the word that comes to mind; when you first step onto the balcony, it takes your breath away with its scope and seems to draw you into a wrap-around vista of mountains, sea and sky. A holiday to remember. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

We stayed here in the off season. The hotel is NOT in walking distance of the town, but the free shuttle is very convenient. Wonderful staff, clean and very adequate room with great view. REALLY great view. We both highly recommend it, a good place to be on rainy days.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for four nights early October for our wedding anniversary, influenced by previous excellent reviews.
Do not be misled. This is a charming traditional hotel, certainly not luxury, boutique nor sophisticated. Staff are pleasant and helpful, and the shuttle bus service is second to none and essential, due to the hotels location.
Rooms are clean with great views but lack basic facilities such as complimentary bottled water and despite having three TVs in our suite, none of the English speaking channels were watchable.
Food was very disappointing, we had dinner one night only which was sent back and breakfast was the worst we have encountered anywhere. Cannot understand reviews that say the breakfast is excellent, far from it. We have stayed in four star hotels, same price, in both Rome and Venice this year, and there is no comparison. Out of date yoghurts, watery juice, make your own tea with hot water and coffee in urns, not expected in a four star hotel. Eggs disgusting, scrambled egg must have sat there all morning, each morning!
We did express our concerns to the management, who have supposedly taken them on board, so hopefully improvements will be seen in the future.
We will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaorminaVillaAngela, Manager at Hotel Villa Angela, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Dear Sophisticat

We’d like to thank you for commending our staff, our shuttle bus service, the cleanliness of the hotel and its great views and trust you enjoyed the complimentary prosecco we offered you on the occasion of your wedding anniversary.

We are, of course, grateful that you expressed your concerns with us whilst you were here though, being the night before check-out, we were not given the chance during your stay to rectify the matters which you felt required attention. As we care very much about our guests and their experience at Villa Angela, we did our utmost to please you in the time remaining and so we are saddened to learn that you won’t be back. Happily, we have an ever increasing number of guests who do return year after year after year……!

Charlie Galea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Angela

Address: Via Leonardo Da Vinci 71E, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#9 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Angela 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super-friendly boutique hotel with only 27 rooms and an intimate, informal atmosphere ensuring that every guest feels instantly at home. Set in a tranquil location above Taormina with spectacular views that stretch from the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea all the way to the top of the volcano, magnificent Mount Etna, and up to the picturesque, medieval hilltop village of Castelmola, Villa Angela is a wonderful example of welcoming Sicilian hospitality. Enjoy delicious buffet breakfasts and authentic Sicilian lunches on our panoramic poolside restaurant terrace. With swimming pool and free car park, Villa Angela offers an unforgettable vacation in romantic rooms (all with free wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, furnished balconies and breathtaking views) amidst the warmth and hospitality of a splendid Sicilian residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Angela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Angela Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Angela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.