We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Angela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Angela to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Angela
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Leonardo Da Vinci 71E, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
NJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in late October and it didn't disappoint. The view from our room was fantastic, the breakfast was wonderful and the service was excellent. It wasn't very crowded, and that was welcomed after walking through Taormina during the day. Stay here if you have the opportunity.

Room Tip: All rooms face Mt. Etna so there really isn't a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    74
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
83
372
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed for a week in September for our 40th anniversary. We chose the hotel because of the great reviews it got, and we were not disappointed. The staff are marvellous, friendly, helpful, polite and courteous; special mention must go to Charlie, a true gentleman. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well-appointed, the facilities excellent, and the food tasty and well-presented. It's a good way down to the centre, so you need to be able to cope with steps, lots of them, especially if you want to walk back up! But there's no need to worry, because the shuttle bus service is superb, frequent and punctual. Last but not least: the view. Stunning is the word that comes to mind; when you first step onto the balcony, it takes your breath away with its scope and seems to draw you into a wrap-around vista of mountains, sea and sky. A holiday to remember. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here in the off season. The hotel is NOT in walking distance of the town, but the free shuttle is very convenient. Wonderful staff, clean and very adequate room with great view. REALLY great view. We both highly recommend it, a good place to be on rainy days.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for four nights early October for our wedding anniversary, influenced by previous excellent reviews.
Do not be misled. This is a charming traditional hotel, certainly not luxury, boutique nor sophisticated. Staff are pleasant and helpful, and the shuttle bus service is second to none and essential, due to the hotels location.
Rooms are clean with great views but lack basic facilities such as complimentary bottled water and despite having three TVs in our suite, none of the English speaking channels were watchable.
Food was very disappointing, we had dinner one night only which was sent back and breakfast was the worst we have encountered anywhere. Cannot understand reviews that say the breakfast is excellent, far from it. We have stayed in four star hotels, same price, in both Rome and Venice this year, and there is no comparison. Out of date yoghurts, watery juice, make your own tea with hot water and coffee in urns, not expected in a four star hotel. Eggs disgusting, scrambled egg must have sat there all morning, each morning!
We did express our concerns to the management, who have supposedly taken them on board, so hopefully improvements will be seen in the future.
We will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaorminaVillaAngela, Manager at Hotel Villa Angela, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sophisticat

We’d like to thank you for commending our staff, our shuttle bus service, the cleanliness of the hotel and its great views and trust you enjoyed the complimentary prosecco we offered you on the occasion of your wedding anniversary.

We are, of course, grateful that you expressed your concerns with us whilst you were here though, being the night before check-out, we were not given the chance during your stay to rectify the matters which you felt required attention. As we care very much about our guests and their experience at Villa Angela, we did our utmost to please you in the time remaining and so we are saddened to learn that you won’t be back. Happily, we have an ever increasing number of guests who do return year after year after year……!

Charlie Galea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic view with a shuttle service to Taormina. Everyone was nice, the only negative was the beds were hard and the pillows were small.

Also know that the restaurant there is not exactly good. The best thing there is the bottled water.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaorminaVillaAngela, Manager at Hotel Villa Angela, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Michael

Thank you for your contribution and the positive comments regarding the hotel's view, shuttle service and personnel. Our mattresses are top quality and we offer a selection of pillows on request. Your comment on the restaurant is worded in such a way we doubt you ate there personally, however, the statement is too general to be taken seriously.

As we cannot find anyone of similar name and age group, from Denver, registered at the hotel in October 2014......please forgive us if we don't believe you ever stayed at Villa Angela, Taormina.

Charlie Galea
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labrador City, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Comfort & Cleanliness
The rooms and the washrooms were very clean. The air conditioning was perfect, even for the Sicilian heat! We slept very well here! The beds were very comfortable, and the rooms were very quiet! A nice sized balcony is included, with seating and privacy from the other guest’s balcony! Rooms were fairly large also!

There is a nice pool just outside the restaurant area. We did not use it, but a lot of people used it during the day. It looked very clean, and there were always towels available in the room for the pool.

Location
Getting to Villa Angela can be a bit daunting and even worrisome for the less experienced driver. We drove to the hotel. We also opted for an automatic car, as I remembering reading on Trip Advisor that the drive is a lot of windy uphill driving. Yeah, those people were very correct! It seemed endless to be driving up this mountainside. About 5 or 6 switchbacks before the hotel we pulled over to make sure the hotel was still close by on the GPS. At that moment a sweet older lady had pulled over and asked us where we were heading. Upon hearing “Villa Angela” she told us to follow her. Its only one road that goes up the hill, but she lead us right to our hotel. It really put us at ease, knowing that the locals were this friendly. I wish I knew her name so I could say thank you! We parked the car until we left.

The location is almost on top of the hill. If you wanted to walk down to the amphitheater, it’s a good hike down and up, but the trail is in excellent condition, and makes for some nice views. The walk unto the tourist part of the area is about 30 minutes from this hotel. Add another 45 minutes for climbing back up. The hotel has its own restaurant that is only open on certain nights of the week. Its worth asking the front desk which nights they are open and making reservations.

The breakfast here is superb! A large choice of foods, cold, hot and traditional!

Hotel Staff
The hotel staff at Villa Angela were very professional, polite and very helpful. They helped us with the parking (which is on the roof top), booking a tour to Mt Etna, booking reservations at local restaurants, and how to get around the tourist side of town efficiently. I will always remember drinking glass after glass of white wine on the public terrace, while taking some night photography of the volcano, and sharing travel stories with the local staff and guests. We spent all three night on the terrace enjoying the view and the company.

The staff at the restaurant made every attempt to serve us. It was a pleasure to just relax in the restaurant area, in the shade, drink some wine and work on some pictures.

Hotel Amenities
• Parking (Free)
• Fridge/ Minibar/ Snack bar
• Breakfast included in price of the room
• Free WiFi
• Pool
• Television
• Daily Housekeping
• In-Room Safe
• Desk
• Hair Dryer & Iron
• Bathrobe/ Slippers
• Restaurant & bar in hotel

Summary: I would suggest this place to anyone wishing to spend some time in the Taormina area, that enjoys leaving the hotel are during the day to explore the surrounding areas, and enjoys peaceful relaxing evenings in a very friendly environment! I have already suggested my mother and father in law to stay here if they ever visit Taormina Sicily! Our experience in Taormina was better than expected because we stayed here! I would definitely stay at Villa Angela again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting, with stunning views of the Taormina seaside and the surrounding countryside. The pool is terrific and there are plenty of places on the property to sit and enjoy a quiet drink.

Parking is easily available on site and there's a reasonably priced shuttle into town. The hotel itself has a good location that isn't far from anything.

The guest rooms are very nice: comfortable, bright, and well equipped with beautiful balconies. The family suites are especially nice for those traveling with children.

Wifi is free and fast.

The staff are really wonderful and go out of their way to be helpful, cheerful and friendly. This is a real strength of the property.

What prevents this property from receiving a 5 star rating is the food -- especially dinner. We ate dinner once at the hotel but not again: the food did not meet the otherwise high standards set by this excellent hotel. Breakfast was better but still not great: it goes wrong on the little touches -- juice is watery and reconstituted; eggs are awful.

This minor caveat aside, this is an excellent hotel and I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Angela

Address: Via Leonardo Da Vinci 71E, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#9 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Angela 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super-friendly boutique hotel with only 27 rooms and an intimate, informal atmosphere ensuring that every guest feels instantly at home. Set in a tranquil location above Taormina with spectacular views that stretch from the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea all the way to the top of the volcano, magnificent Mount Etna, and up to the picturesque, medieval hilltop village of Castelmola, Villa Angela is a wonderful example of welcoming Sicilian hospitality. Enjoy delicious buffet breakfasts and authentic Sicilian lunches on our panoramic poolside restaurant terrace. With swimming pool and free car park, Villa Angela offers an unforgettable vacation in romantic rooms (all with free wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, furnished balconies and breathtaking views) amidst the warmth and hospitality of a splendid Sicilian residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Angela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Angela Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Angela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.