We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Angela

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Angela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Angela
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Leonardo Da Vinci 71E, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The place to stay !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We picked this hotel on 3 factors - location and view, the fact that it had a nice pool (rare in Taormina) and the excellent Tripadvisor reviews (ignoring the few reviews that are impossible to believe having stayed there!). It turned out to be a simply stunning hotel, a real gem.

The booking process was very efficient, friendly and helpful and many thanks to the exceptional Katherine for all her help with this and throughout our stay and especially with organising trips to Stromboli and the sunset trip to the top of Etna - neither of these should be missed as they were just amazing, especially being so lucky to have both volcanos erupting !

The hotel has a lovely relaxing, tranquil ambience about it, created largely by the position, the view and the outstanding staff throughout. The pool is great, never a problem with sunbeds, and quiet and peaceful with lovely views. The food and service in the restaurant is great with tables on the veranda enjoying those stunning views.

The shuttle down into Taormina is regular, hassle free and works really well and there is also a really good value shuttle down to the beach at Mazzaro (includes reserved sunbed and bar service), which is well worth going to for a day and to walk along to the pretty Isola Bella.

There are plenty of good restaurants around with our particular favourites El Saracino, very handy as just a short walk up the hill behind the hotel and again with those stunning views, Rosso Peperonato in Taormina, La Taverna Dell Etna in Castelmola and our particular favourite, Il Barcaiolo for lunch down at Mazzaro beach. All are outstanding. Villa Angela opens up its restaurant just twice a week in the evening and is also great so don't miss the opportunity to eat there as well. Shatulle in Taormina is a nice cocktail bar.

Taking the local bus (5 mins), bus stop outside the hotel, to the pretty cliff top town of Castelmola near the hotel is also well worth doing - its a lovely spot with a great cocktail bar in Bar Turrisi as well as the above mentioned restaurant.

The wifi was great and easy throughout the hotel and our room had a lovely, massive balcony with sunbeds and chairs to enjoy those lovely views. All rooms I think have those balconies.

Like all great hotels it is the staff that make it all work and in addition to Katharine many, many thanks must go to Ada, Mario and Charlie on reception, Sam and Clara in the restaurant and James and Walter in the bar. They are an outstanding team.

Sicily is a lovely island, Tarmina a great place to enjoy it from and Villa Angela is definitely the place to stay. Enjoy !!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    70
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
74
333
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have recently returned from a week long stay at Villa Angela and we had an absolutely amazing time. We stayed in room 105 on the first floor which was spotless and well appointed. The view from our balcony ( and from pretty much everywhere else in the hotel) was spectacular. As others have said, it is a bit of a trek down the many steps into the town but the hotel's shuttle bus service is regular and reliable and we made good use of it. We had dinner in the hotel on one of the nights that the restaurant was open and we thought the food was excellent. The bar prices were also quite reasonable. It does have the feel of a family run hotel as all of the staff are so friendly and welcoming. No request is a problem. There is absolutely nothing I would change about this hotel, it was excellent in all respects and we hope to return. Taormina is a busy town with lots of shops and lots of great places to eat. Everything we ate during our holiday was delicious. There is a restaurant just up the hill from the hotel called Al Saraceno, we ate there a couple of times and loved the food and fantastic views. We spent a lot of time relaxing but there is plenty to do in the area. We travelled with Thomson and did their "godfather tour" and a day out to Siracusa, we would highly recommend both. Overall it was a great holiday and we are already missing Sicily and Villa Angela.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were recommended the Villa Angela and it came up to all our expectations. The hotel location is superb on the hillside overlooking Taormina, the sea, and with a terrific view of Mount Etna.
The double room we had was lovely with a great balcony to relax on, the pool area is super with plenty of beds for everyone and the food was very good. Although they only provide dinner twice a week we found that the night we ate in the hotel was one of the best evening meals we had. The lunches offered both snacks and a full lunch and the choice for breakfast was just what we needed.
We found the staff especially Jim Kerr's family excellent, we even met Jim Kerr senior who was great fun and they could not do enough to make our holiday special.They arranged a super trip with Angelo to Mount Etna, we saw parts of the volcano tourists do not normally visit.
We found the shuttle bus service to the town first class, not being in our prime the walk into town, which was very steep, was more than we could mange so the shuttle bus was invaluable.
We liked everything about Taormina, the restaurants, the wine and the beach and we are definitely planning to go back again as there are a number of things we did not have time to see. Overall an excellent weeks holiday we super weather in a superb location.
PeterS Sussex

Room Tip: The weather in July and August gets into the 40's so if you can travel outside of this time the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not going to say a huge amount about this wonderful hotel, largely because it’s all been said before – suffice to say it’s a cracker!

Though we have visited mainland Italy several times (and never been disappointed), this was our first visit to the island of Sicily and Taormina/Hotel Villa Angela in particular – and our stay here only confirms that we just love this part of the world.

Trip Advisor played a huge part in our decision to stay here and it was fully justified. Sure, the hotel is situated towards the top of a hill, but that simply ‘heightens’ your appreciation of the fantastic views that are enjoyed from it! In fact, we understand that it is the only hotel of its type in Taormina where EVERY guest bedroom has a view of Mt Etna – wow!

When we read some of the previous reviews regarding the staff, we kinda thought it was going to be a little bit like a ‘home from home’ - what with names like Charlie, James and Walter – and it was, though not because of the actual names, but because ALL the staff are really genuine, friendly and helpful. Even got the lovely Ada and Walter to appear in a couple of photographs with us!
Possibly a rarity in today’s highly commercialized hotel world, but this specific attention to the guests is exactly what makes the Hotel Villa Angela stand out from other hotels that we have stayed at.

The hotel has a great collection of pictures/paintings and artwork and certainly from what we could see, were all original pieces (as opposed to mass produced copies) which made it feel more individual and personalized – a nice touch.

The town of Taormina is just beautiful, very picturesque and loaded with ristorantes and pizzerias to suit every ‘taste’ – even got an amazing ‘Calzone’ that was shaped like Mount Etna, complete with a great tomato bolognaise sauce (naturally) for lava!

In concluding, would thoroughly recommend this hotel - “Someone (You), Somewhere (Taormina & Hotel Villa Angela) in Summertime!”

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first visit to Taormina and we were not disappointed. We stayed at Villa Angela for 7 days and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. We would particularly like to thank Katharine and Charlie for all their help and advice, particularly organising the trip from Palermo to Villa Angela driven by Salvatore. This car service (Taormina Car Service) was brilliant as were the other trips we did with them to Mount Etna and Ragusa ( the Montalbano experience) by Angelo and Marco ( we have reviewed this fantastic car service elsewhere on Trip Advisor)

All the staff without exception (cleaners, waiters, waitresses and management ) were outstanding. As other reviewers have said, you really are treated as a 'friend' from the moment you arrive. They provided first class service and deserve the highest accolades possible. The reception staff provided unbiased information about restaurants and local attractions and were always ready to help at any time of the day.
The food offered at Villa Angela was excellent. The choice at breakfast was phenomenal. They also offer dinner in the hotel twice a week which was equally impressive. We would also like to thank the management for giving us a bottle of Prosecco and nibbles in our room to celebrate my special birthday(they even told our favourite restaurant ( Al Saraceno) about my birthday who gave us a special cake). Again we have reviewed this superb restaurant which was just a short walk from the Hotel on Trip Advisor.
The rooms and views from the balcony are stunning and all the information provided on the Villa Angela Website was a true reflection of this amazing Hotel. There is an excellent shuttle service but we decided to 'keep fit' and enjoyed the walk up and down the many steps 500+ to the town centre! The hotel also provides a shuttle service to two beaches at a cost of 8 and 10 euros which includes the hiring of two sun loungers and an umbrella for the day.

We will return to Villa Angela as for us, this is the best hotel in Taormina. Thank you again for one of our best holidays.
Tanti Auguri to all staff and hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose to spend our 25th wedding anniversary in Villa Angela based on the superb reviews and were not disappointed! As everyone says the entire staff were brilliant. So friendly and helpful and could not be faulted. A credit to the owner! Our room was a deluxe double room and was very clean, superbly furnished and with a wonderful large terrace with sunbeds and table with chairs. Stunning views of the coast and Etna. We had prosecco in the room on arrival and a bottle provided also for our anniversary. In addition, one of the lovely guests also provided a bottle at one of our evening meals at the villa. Breakfast is wonderful with everything you could want. Just impossible to do it all justice. We had the evening meal also which is available 2 days of the week. Very nice and stunning views from the terrace. Would just have appreciated candles on the table and lower lighting but that is just our romantic preference!
Shuttle bus is excellent and runs very frequently. Well worth the 20 Euro /week charge/person.
Cannot imagine a better place to stay in Taormina and hope to return soon.
Big thank you again to all the staff and for our wonderful stay!

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Villa Angela for one week at the end of May this year. We were very lucky with the weather, it was gorgeous! We stayed in the Etna suite, a beautiful suite with two bedrooms, a jacuzzi bath and a separate shower room. It also had 2 large balconies with quality loungers and table/chairs overlooking mount Etna and the bay. The hotel is very well run by an excellent team of friendly staff , Jim's Son James and nephew Sam were part of the workforce whilst we were there, waiting on tables and serving behind the bar. A real family business! The swimming pool area is lovely and kept immaculate at all times. This too has stunning views of Etna and the bay. The hotel provides a shuttle bus into Taormina every half hour or so ( or you can walk into town via 500? steps starting by the side of the old church just up from the hotel) Breakfasts were plentiful. The hotel restaurant only opens for evening meals one or two evenings a week Monday and Thursday whilst we were there. The food is mainly various fish dishes . We chose to dine for 3 of our nights just up the hill from the hotel at a beautiful restaurant called Saracino , fabulous steaks and traditional Sicilian food with stunning views from the rooftop restaurant .
Villa Angela's guests whilst we were there were mainly very nice middle aged/ elderly people.
one day a family arrived with two young boys who were really enjoying the pool early one morning , laughing and splashing , much to the disgust of one miserable older guest who complained to the staff ,asking them to tell the children to be quiet! ( we later found out she was a School teacher! )
The lovely town of Taormina has a fabulous selection of restaurants and shops along the Corsa Umberto and around the nooks and crannies of the lovely cobbled side streets.
The beaches are lovely and clean, our daughters did a two hour scuba diving course with a very good company booked through the hotel.
Don't just think about it! BOOK IT! ( you won't regret it)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Angela

Address: Via Leonardo Da Vinci 71E, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#8 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Angela 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super-friendly boutique hotel with only 27 rooms and an intimate, informal atmosphere ensuring that every guest feels instantly at home. Set in a tranquil location above Taormina with spectacular views that stretch from the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea all the way to the top of the volcano, magnificent Mount Etna, and up to the picturesque, medieval hilltop village of Castelmola, Villa Angela is a wonderful example of welcoming Sicilian hospitality. Enjoy delicious buffet breakfasts and authentic Sicilian lunches on our panoramic poolside restaurant terrace. With swimming pool and free car park, Villa Angela offers an unforgettable vacation in romantic rooms (all with free wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, furnished balconies and breathtaking views) amidst the warmth and hospitality of a splendid Sicilian residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Villa Angela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Angela Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Angela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.