We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room and view to die for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Angela

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Angela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Angela
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Leonardo Da Vinci 71E, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Room and view to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I visited this hotel in late October with my fiancé in order to celebrate my birthday and to give him a bit of a surprise, so I apologise for this late review.
Before making my booking I had so many questions and found Katherine so helpful and understanding as she answered all of them and replied to my numerous emails promptly and efficiently.
We had arranged our own private transfer to the hotel and when we arrived we were warmly greeted by the member of staff on reception and throughout our stay found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly.
We stayed in the Etna Suite, which is a bit more expensive, but well worth it. It was to die for. The suite was spacious and clean, all the rooms were nicely furnished and there was plenty of wardrobe/storage space. Both the lounge and the bedroom have views of Mount Etna, which are amazing. I thought Mount Vesuvius was big, but Etna is huge. We loved relaxing in the Jacuzzi bath on an evening with a glass of wine, after a busy day out and before getting ready for dinner and the fact that the bathroom ceiling lights gently changed colour helped with the relaxation even more.
It was my birthday on the Saturday and as well as waking up early in the morning of the 26th to Mount Etna actually erupting, Katherine kindly had a bottle of Prosecco and some nibbles delivered to our room, upon our return to the hotel in the afternoon, which was a lovely gesture. Needless to say we thoroughly enjoyed the wine, whilst sitting on the balcony, looking at Mount Etna and listening to Andrea Bocelli. I was in heaven.
The hotel runs an efficient shuttle bus every half an hour to and from Taormina, but you will need to book if the hotel is busy. We used this service frequently and found it very reliable and comfortable.
We didn’t eat at the hotel in the evenings as the restaurant was closed, so I am unable to review the evening meals, as we ate in Taormina on most nights. However, we did have breakfast and found it a bit disappointing. Sometimes there were staff to show you around, but you were mostly left to your own devices and had to find your own table. Breakfast was completely self-service from making your own tea, to watching the bread go through the toaster. The cold items on offer at breakfast were very good, various cheeses, meats and fruit, however we felt the hot food let it down slightly. When on holiday in a four star hotel, whether in the UK or abroad, we would expect there to be some sort of table service and for the hot food to be of a better quality. This is the only area that I feel the hotel could improve upon as they have everything else more than covered. If this area was improved we would have no hesitation in awarding 5 stars instead of 4.
We had a wonderful few days at Hotel Villa Angela and would like to thank all the staff for making it special. We would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Taormina.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    69
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
79
347
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Villa Angela is located high in the hills above the beautiful little town of Taormina. The rooms are a good size and beautifully furnished. The views of the harbor, town and Mt. Etna are spectacular. Every room has a large terrace overlooking the maze of tiny roads winding back and forth to the top of the hill. But, it is the views that make this tiny hotel what it is. The hotel runs shuttles down to the village every half hour. The food was excellent and it was available at all hours. And, the staff was both friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: Every room has a large balcony overlooking the harbor, town and Mt. Etna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

After reading Jim Kerr's letter on the website, I decided to accept his invitation to spend some time at Villa Angela. And it was a great decision!
From the moment I walked into my room I realised it had been worthwhile to take 2 planes and more than 13 hours of flight! I was enchanted by the view of Mount Etna, and I was involved by a peaceful atmosphere. This is the right place to relax and recharge energy. Very inspiring too! The room is very comfortable with a big terrace, where you can contemplate the extraordinary view or you can do it by the pool, which is nice too! Good breakfast and restauran, nice decoration, and very kind staff! The shuttle bus to the town centre is a great facility. Taormina is very pleasant to visit; it's a very charming city with good food, delicious "gelatos", "granites", "arancinis", pizzas, pasta, and seafood. I will surely come back when I can! It was just a little hard to go back home after spending such a great week here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just returned from a stimulating and highly enjoyable week at Hotel Villa Angela.
A beautiful view of Mt Etna from the hotel, great accommodation, breakfasts and helpful staff, made this a trip that will not be forgotten to Taormina, Sicily. Thank you again

Room Tip: All rooms look to fabulous views as well as Mount Etna
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for six nights in a standard room and if our room was the "worst" category type at this beautiful hotel, the suites must be out of this world as we were thrilled with our room, which was a good size, with wrought iron beds, Sicilian furniture and decor. The bathroom had a wc, bidet and bath with overhead shower and we had a large terrace with table, chairs and sun lounges with stunning views of Mt Etna, the coast and Taormina town below. Our room and all other public/communal areas of Villa Angela were kept spotlessly clean and the attention to detail at this Sicilian gem is outstanding. Breakfasts were very tasty with a wide range of choices and the one lunch we had was superb. The shuttle bus service to and from town was crucial to us and is partly why we chose this hotel as I am disabled and a wheelchair user; although we felt it would be more attractive to potential guests to include this service as complimentary, especially as the charge is so nominal. We found all staff to be extremely kind and accommodating-we did encounter a couple of problems during our stay but rest assured, these were dealt with quickly and professionally and so did not mar our holiday in any way. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would return-we loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

always dream big as they can come true like my dream to visit Jims Hotel Villa Angela. I snuck in a night ahead of a Sicily tour but this night was the highlight of Sicily. From the moment we checked in, to our beautiful room and balcony view we were very impressed. They acknowledged my 50th birthday and even though Jim wasn't on hand to sing to me it was a great memory and dream come true. The buffet breakfast in the morning was excellent and take time to visit the beautiful cave church above the hotel. I think Taormina is the prettiest town and with views of Mt Etna and the Mediterranean it is hard to beat. Only trouble is once you have experienced this hotel you want to go back. Staff are very welcoming and helpful too. Didn't use the pool but it did look very inviting!!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a great view but just ask when making the booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just spent a week at Villa Angela, Beautiful view, excellent food and very friendly and efficient staff. Very helpful with car hire and suggestions of what to see. The shuttle bus into Taormina was very useful, especially as I have difficulty walking and the roads are `a little steep!` As mentioned in other reviews the art displayed is beautiful, distictive and local. Only difficulty was in motivating oneself beyond lazing around on the balcony or beside the pool.

Room Tip: I would think that all rooms are well equipped and have stunning views. As there is a lift they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Angela

Address: Via Leonardo Da Vinci 71E, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#9 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Angela 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super-friendly boutique hotel with only 27 rooms and an intimate, informal atmosphere ensuring that every guest feels instantly at home. Set in a tranquil location above Taormina with spectacular views that stretch from the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea all the way to the top of the volcano, magnificent Mount Etna, and up to the picturesque, medieval hilltop village of Castelmola, Villa Angela is a wonderful example of welcoming Sicilian hospitality. Enjoy delicious buffet breakfasts and authentic Sicilian lunches on our panoramic poolside restaurant terrace. With swimming pool and free car park, Villa Angela offers an unforgettable vacation in romantic rooms (all with free wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, furnished balconies and breathtaking views) amidst the warmth and hospitality of a splendid Sicilian residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villa Angela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Angela Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Angela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.